We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“comfortable basic hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed at the Oceania Biarritz in early June. Its in a good position within a short walking distance to the beach. The staff were very helpful with directions and information. However if your room is overlooking the street then it can get quite noisy due to traffic during the rush hour. Ask for a room overlooking the garden. The room was a bit hot at night, not sure whether the air conditioner was working properly. The windows open wide (unlike some hotels where you can only open them a crack) so we were able to let some air into the room.
The beds are very comfortable. Wifi is free, ask for the password at reception.
Breakfast is the usual continental style so don't expect a full fry up! The small restaurant is not open any other times, but there are numerous restaurants within walking distance. No kettle in room, so we took our own.There is a small local shopping centre near the hotel. Turn left then first left and its 100 yards away. Good range of shops including a patisserie.
A nice budget hotel in an expensive town, recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quieter room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    257
    44
    22
    12
See reviews for
54
316
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights at the end of January. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly,we had a room overlooking the street on the fourth floor. The building works commented on previously have finished externally so we had no problem with noise. The room was very spacious and modern and had one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. Flat screen TV which does have BBC channels should you so wish.Shower room excellent,separate toilet. The hotel is less than ten minutes walk to the Grand Plage and town centre.We did not take breakfast in the hotel(11euros) if you turn first left out of the hotel there is a parade of shops where coffee and croissants can be had for half the price. We found a restaurant in the evening called the Majestic just two minutes walk from the hotel heading into town which had excellent food,a good atmosphere,and was well patronised with the locals which a lot of the restaurants in town were not. From the airport bus 14 will take you to St Charles,cross the road turn down by the side of a church,turn left and the hotel is on the right hand side.This costs 1 euro as it does any where on the local Chronobus system.We went to Bayonne(which is well worth a visit) for 1 euro each for a 20 minute bus ride. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Try a room at the rear of the hotel,the view may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeh080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz as a bit of a break in a self drive tour from Bordeaux. We had no trouble finding the hotel and we were able to park for free right out front. We had a very nice room overlooking the street with a bit of a view to the ocean. The room was quite spacious, the bathroom was big and there was a flat screen TV. It was an easy walk to the centre of town, to the casino or to the beachfront.

We enjoyed our time in Biaritz and would go back again and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel only one night but hotel is ideally located for exploring Biarritz and close towns. It has underground parking for 10euro for a night. You can park on the street which is free of charge but first you have to find a space. So I recommend to spend these 10 euro and forgetting about parking problems. Hotel is very modern. Room is spacious with a flat TV, big bathroom and free of charge Internet. Also breakfast is included in price which is great for the beginning of the day. There is ham, cheese, eggs, jams, etc. available. Very tasty and fresh. We have visited different places around Biarritz and we recommend visit: Saint Jean de Luz and Espelette. Great places with wonderful atmosphere not far from Biarritz. It is nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Very pleasant hotel in a residential street. Good location with an easy walk to the beach and restaurants.
Room was comfortable and clean. No frills but adequate for short stays.
Staff pleasant and helpful. Secure parking for a small charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a wonderful time, early August- 4 nights, at Oceania Biarritz. Great location, easily within walking distance to shopping, the beach (wow!), a multitude of restaurants and the A-1 bus drops you (from Gare de Biarritz) a block away for only 1 Euro. (Leaving tip: Take the A-1 in the other direction - to Bayonne station - 20 minutes - to catch the same train, but you get yourself a surface tour for 1 euro.)
The hotel staff were simply the very best, every wish attended to promptly and with a courteous attitude at all times. A leisurely 10 minute walk takes you to Grand Plage and slightly to the left and behind (5 more minutes) to this neighborhood's shopping/restaurant district.
Breakfast tip: Skip the overpriced hotel breakfast, turn left out the front door , then another left 1 block up to a very nice neighborhood shop's/cafe's/ bakery's area and have a nice, outdoor croissant etc for 1/3 the $.
We had such a beautiful time and we will be returning to Oceania Biarritz!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Very pleasant Hotel, excellent , helpful and friendly staff. Conviently located about 15 minutes walk to the centre of Biarritz and just up the road from Le grand plage.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#16 of 64 in Biarritz
1,160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz

Property: Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Address: 19 ave de la Reine Victoria, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Escale Oceania*** Biarritz is ideally located 328 yards from the main beach and a few minutes on foot from the Casino, the Palais des Congrès, the thalassotherapy centre and the Phare Golf course. You'll want to experience as soon as you can our warm and professional welcome and 43 rooms completely renovated in 2008 offering modern conveniences and quality services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing