We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Chateau du Clair de Lune
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Skokie, Illinois
1 review
“Wonderful Memories”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Mr. Dabadie, I stayed at your home, before it was a hotel, when I was an exchange student in 1982. What a pleasant surprise to see that it has become a beautiful hotel. I have wonderful memories of staying in your home with your family. You were such generous hosts. I have often wondered how Virginie is an how she is doing. It would great to hear from you. Perhaps, someday, I can stay at the hotel. The pictures look lovely. I hope you and your family are well.
Eve

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    74
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
35
134
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in mid-March 2012. This hotel was a real find and a bargain at the price, much, much more than we expected of its 3 star rating. The chateau is a beautiful building, very grand, set in extensive landscaped grounds. It is very nicely furnished with lots of antique furniture, particularly in the public rooms. We had a large ground floor room which was well lit, with large windows overlooking the grounds. There were shutters to keep out the light at night. The windows are double glazed and even the door was doubled. We had a huge bed which was wonderfully comfortable, and there was a flat screen TV and wifi. The shower was in the bath. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanauclairdelune, Manager at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you very much for this very good and detail feedback. We hope to see you soon and hope you will stay with us longer. Best Regards, Jean Dabadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We spent two nights at the Chateau and thought it a most beautiful and quiet retreat on our trip through the Pays Basque. Large room, lovely bathroom, helpful reception staff and exceptional value for the money. The only thing keeping it from a five star recommendation was the limited breakfast options. Offering a buffet including cereals, breads, eggs and cold meats etc with unlimited tea and coffee would be preferable to the pre-order service they currently have. A small niggle, but one nevertheless!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angetom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanauclairdelune, General Manager at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We have recently changed our breakfast offer from a pre order to a continental buffet. We will be very glad to share this new offer with you in a near future. Thank again. Best Regards, Jean Dabadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We spend a night at the Chateau and it was simply wonderful: beautiful location, lovely and peaceful room, a warme reception and the perfect service... No doubt we will repeat if any time we happen to be nearby again... Highly recommended !!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura-Laura-2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanauclairdelune, General Manager at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Fantastic feedback, thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write about us. Jean Dabadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We keep coming back to this hotel year after year and we always like it. It's definitely a best buy in the Biarritz area.
Pros:
- located in a quiet area, 2 mn from A63 motorway (Biarritz-Negresse exit), 7 mn from St Jean de Luz, 5 mn from downtown Biarritz and beaches, 25 mn from San Sebastian (Spain). Location is ideal for touring Pays Basque.
- Rooms: most of them, in the main building are roomy, very attractively decorated (We have never stayed in the "Pavillon de Chasse"). Bedding is good, with king sized beds, LCD TV, safe and minibar. Breakfast is served after 8 a.m in the main dining room
- The hotel is surrounded by a large and nice park, with many camelia trees, blooming in March.
- Staff (including Jean, the owner) is very friendly and helpful. They gave us many tips for the choice of restaurants in the area.

Cons: Internet coverage is poor in rooms, and is not password protected. However a better coverage is obtained in the living room, downstairs, although still very slow.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanauclairdelune, Owner at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you so much for this excellent and detailed feedback. We have recently worked on our WIFI coverage and we hope now it is easier to access from all our rooms. Thanks again and see you soon. Jean Dabadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Absolutely charming. Peaceful, decor great. Clean and friendly service. We used the family room as we were 3 adults. The rooms were massive, as were the beds. Very good value. So much better than the sterile, cramped Kyriad range of hotels. We plan on booking for other family members in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeccieBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanauclairdelune, Owner at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
This is a great feedback about Hotel Chateau du Clair de Lune, thank you very much for taking the time to share your impression with all! Jean Dabadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hay on wye uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

A delightful chateau in its own beautiful grounds, a pleasure to stay in in mid winter, and inviting to have us back in more seasonal and warmer times. The young receptionist was excellent in her english and even more excellent in her helpful advice for us to go the the Starred Restaurant next door for one of those memorable meals one can have in France!
The hotel is well furnished in contemporary taste and this fitted our bill beautifully. the breakfast was excellent and well presented. What a treat it all was. Well recommended.
Due to the very good insulation (it was freezing cold and raining outside) of the rooms and windows we had no difficulty with the nearby motorway. Maybe in summer it would be even better to stay in the pavillion of the hotel which was being refurbished and looks absolutely enchanting in it's "colonial" architecture. The park around the hotel has beautiful old trees. A must for all visitors wishing for high quality, good food and tasteful interior and a relaxed warm atmosphere. Do visit the restaurant in the grounds when you have a chance, food and atmosphere are memorable. Two recommendations in one.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linacornelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanauclairdelune, Owner at Le Chateau du Clair de Lune, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you so much for this detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed both the restaurant and hotel. We hope to see you again in a near future. Jean Dabadie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Beaumanoir
Beaumanoir
#30 of 64 in Biarritz
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
2.2 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
305 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel de Silhouette
Hotel de Silhouette
#20 of 64 in Biarritz
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau du Clair de Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau du Clair de Lune

Property: Le Chateau du Clair de Lune
Address: 48, avenue Alan Seeger | Route d'Arbonne, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#11 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau du Clair de Lune 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Chateau du Clair de Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau Du Clair De Lune Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing