We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous luxury and very attentive staff”
Review of Hotel du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Palais
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sumptuous luxury and very attentive staff”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We were travelling through France on our honeymoon, firstly beginning of course in Paris via 1st Class Eurostar, then to Annecy - Clos des Sens, then Nice - Boscola Exedra and finally Biarritz. Upon arrival to Biarritz the coast was clouded in mist and scattering of showers. Not a great start. The very warm welcome from the staff at Du Pallais made up for the gloom outside and they were delightful and proceeded to give us a short tour before taking us to our room. My heart sank. Although the room was well appointed it overlooked the entrance car park and lacked atmosphere. It was a room, an expensive room nonetheless, but just a room. Perhaps when we mentioned to Jessica the receptionist that this was our honeymoon she returned to her post and promptly enquired with her manager and then called us in our chamber to offer us another room, which after viewing, we accepted and moved. Although the size was similar it had a side view of Biarritz and the nearby beach. It was light and airy and was very agreeable. Jessica was a star.
Despite being five star there were no simple facilities to make tea or coffee, these had to be ordered via room service and unlike equivalent hotels in the UK all room service requests were charged. €8 for a coffee seems a little on the steep side. Equally it seems that the mini bar sports very expensive water and beers.
All of the staff at the hotel of this nature were outstandingly helpful and efficient. The breakfast was utterly superb, very well staffed and beautifully presented. Breathtakingly sumptuous.
Thankfully the doom and gloom from our arrival the previous evening was rewarded the following day with warmth and sunshine as we relaxed beside the pool reading the newspapers of the day and books. The staff never once pestered for us to purchase drinks or food. This is a five star hotel and the staff have a good sense to know who the five star customers are so that the rest of us can watch our budgets accordingly. :-)
The outside pool and bathing area was superb with the heated (24 deg) 33m american style salt water pool a true gem. Once again a large array of staff were always nearby to assist and provide clean fresh towels and cushions for the loungers. A small stroll onto the nearby beach is a must as is a dip in the rolling waves that crash in from the Atlantic. Truly refreshing and a breathtaking experience.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    171
    84
    34
    12
See reviews for
176
565
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

The Hotel du Palais built for Napoleons overlooking Le Grande plage is truly magnificent 5 star hotel that fully lives up to the Orient Express brand. Beautiful interiors and wonderful views of the beach. The spa we had to ourselves was really nice. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The bar is a really nice setting for a nightcap and the Rottunda restaurant a great place for breakfast which is excellent. I would definitely stay here again if returning to Biarritz.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ianoona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york ny
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

An old-fashioned seaside hotel. Our room had a magnificent sea view, really first rate. The room was fine, a bit tired looking. The location is central. The restaurant, la rotunde, was disgusting and an enormous disappointment. Perhaps the best of the lot in Biarritz. The location is what sets is above all others....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
362 reviews
290 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

A fascinating old pile of fin de siècle excess, reminiscent of some of the great Canadian railway hotels in the west. Sadly, the overall grandeur of the premises has been cheapened by the many vitrines and display cases hawking 'brand name' merchandise - these are spaced every 2 meters apart throughout all the public areas of the property. Heck, there's even a display cabinet hawking Hennessy cognac given pride of place in the middle of the dining room. I'm sure this impresses nouveau riche Russians, but it does make a mockery of the hotel atmosphere for everyone else.

Service is obsequious, at times almost over the top.

Outrageously expensive - this hotel truly belongs in the "if you have to ask, you can't afford it" category, it offers no value for money spent, but it was fun to spend a night and see what life was like in the heydey of this hotel, back between the wars.

Worth a look if you are curious about history, otherwise, I'm sure that the same level of luxury and service can be found at other hotels elsewhere in the town for half the price.

Room Tip: Fall asleep to the sound of the ocean from the ocean-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Loved this hotel; authentic old-school elegance. Great location. We had a sea view. These older hotels are solid, and it was wonderfully quiet. Great linens, bed, excellent sleep quality. The bathroom, while it hadn't been updated recently, was still excellent. Loved the formal dining room. Dinner was very good, and the breakfast buffet was lavish. Service was above reproach. I didn't have any services in the spa, but did make use of the swimming pool, which was very nice and of sea water. If you love grand old hotels like I do, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoisonPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The best hotel of Biarritz for sure. Michelin starred restaurant is perfect. View of the Ocean and the city is beautiful. You feel yourself living in history, Napoleon the 3rd era. You feel completely relaxed staying here specially if you have a chance to use the spa.Of course the service is Royal too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altanbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This wonderful grand hotel on a clifftop in Biarritz overlooking the Bay of Biscay is the most opulent I have ever stayed in. It has a splendid semi-circular 'La Rotonde' restaurant overlooking the sea and in which gentlemen are required to dress for dinner (which means at least a jacket and no shorts, please). Dessert was an astonishingly delicious rhubarb and strawberry soup with a quenelle of ice cream and what the Brits call a 'brandy snap'. Breakfast, with sun streaming in through the windows, was very pleasant too. A worthwhile experience, if you can afford it (I wasn't paying).

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais

Property: Hotel du Palais
Address: 1 Avenue de L'Imperatrice, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
#1 Spa Hotel in Biarritz
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
#2 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#13 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Palais 5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Palais Hotel
Du Palais Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing