We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant”
Review of Haragia

Haragia
Ranked #10 of 349 Restaurants in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$39
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This small place tucked away from the main Rue Gambetta although ordinary looking offers execelent no non sense BBQ style cooking. I had the Veal chop slowly cooked on the bbq. fire. First the guy cooked the meat on the higher level for about 15 -20 mins. then on to the lower level and to char it to perfection. Mine was well cooked and it was yummy juicy serve with their own mango cause, salad and wonderful chips that I love. Carmague salt on the table if you want it. My better half had the duck medium again it was done the same way as my meat and serve with the same accompaniments. It is quite a popular place so book in advance. all tables were full by end of our meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yolamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    101
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK but overrated”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We ordered a steak of the menu consisting of 4 items. The steak was grilled on order and tasted just fine. But i find the place More expensive than it was worth. If you like blend stakes with fries and a side sallad this is the place for you. Really nice owner though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pointe Noire, Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great simple fun night out - recommended!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have no doubts, this is nothing more than a glorified bar...but what a glorified bar! OK, you're perched on bar stools, its "cosy", its tucked down a slightly pre-possessing alley, and there's barely enough room to swing a cat, but this all adds to its charm and what makes this one stand out from the normal bistro / resto run of the mill you get everywhere else in France. Its got a fantastic fun vibe (and this was on a wet weekday in May) and the staff are a huge amount of fun and very accommodating with our pidgin French meeting their pidgin English happily somewhere in the middle. Cote de boeuf is really the main reason for coming (they do do other dishes, chicken etc) and it came wickedly juicy and very satisfying, escorted by a simple green salad and sweet potato frites and washed down with some simple red. Couldn't ask for more - and they were kind enough to think of our British sensibilities and ask if we wanted the meat cooked more which we happily refused. Overall, a great and fun night out - highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDLuanda_Angola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly recommend! do book in advance it fills up quickly!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What an excellent find! Went there yesterday eve with my partner, both real meat lovers. Right next to the Halles, off the main street. Food, wine, atmosphere and service... superb! At very reasonable price. Do book in advance, it is small and very popular with locals as well as visitors.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had an amazing meal down a little street off the main drag. The owners/cook/waitress were absolutely lovely. The food was superb, and when we asked for some more cooking of our typically french bloody cote de beouf it wasnt a problem at all. Its quirky and very french and very lovely and I hope it has all the success it deserves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haragia also viewed

Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Haragia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing