We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home alone”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We came to the hotel, around eight at night. And the receptionist was waiting for us. When we came she gave us a pincode and told us that we would be staying alone in the hotel for the night. The pincode was for the front door. She asked if we would like to have breakfast in the morning, and we accepted. Then she was gone. Everything was nice and ok, and we had a very good night, and a nice breakfast in the morning. But this is the only time we have been all by ourselve in a Hotel. Beds were ok, rooms rather small but clean.All four of us were happy with the stay.

Room Tip: Good location, near the main Casino. Very homely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristjanandYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

i don't know what these others are talking about! this place is a total dump. Dirty, old carpet, smelly bathroom, old bedding with a sagging mattress. The location is just steps from the beach, but not worth it for such a dirty room. I'm not expecting anythjng fancy. I stay in 2 star hotels in Europe all the time, but this place is really gross, especially for 93 Euro/night. Do Not stay here. Pay a little more and get a clean room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller77_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We have just come back from a week long stay at Le Petit. We chose the hotel because of its central location to the main beach. It is about a 3 minute walk down to the main beach and therefore makes it very convenient hotel.

The room was nice and bright and just what you would expect from a 2 star place. The towels probably could do with updating as some did have stains but otherwise the place was relatively clean and comfortable. We had room 2 which has the balcony- no sea views but nice to be able to step out and see the weather.

The central location does make the place a noisy one to stay in. During summer the music can be heard from the local disco plus peole out and about during the night can get very loud. We were woken each morning at about 6am by the street cleaners and garbage trucks.

I would recommend the hotel if you can sleep through noise or if you want to be right in the centre of action.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daggy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

My wife, our 18-month-old daughter, and I stayed at Le Petit Hotel for three nights in August 2007. We paid EUR81 for a double room with private bathroom - this high season rate included a travel crib for our daughter but did not include breakfast. On two of our three mornings there, we decided to pay the EUR5.50 each for breakfast, which consisted of yogurt, juice, coffee/tea, bread, croissant, and jams. We compared this to what was available within walking distance, and for what they offered, the price wasn't really so bad.

The best thing about Le Petit is its location -- you simply can't beat being right around the corner from the beachside promenade of the La Grand Plage in Biarritz. It's a 1- or 2-minute walk from hotel door to sand. The worst thing about Le Petit is its location - it fronts a small square of sorts where there are some cafes and bars, and the activity there goes on late into the night. We had a room that had a window off to the side of the building (and hence not facing the square out front), but the noise traveled easily up the side lane to our window. Luckily for us, the nights were quite cool, so we could get away with closing the window - nonetheless, as revelers made their way down to the bars/cafes along the lane, it still made for a noisy night.

The staff at Le Petit was exceptionally friendly and polite - they routinely offered to help us carry our stroller in, they didn't charge us for the extra croissant and milk we asked for during breakfast for our daughter, and a cleaning lady put off vacuuming the hallway outside our room while our daughter napped in the room one afternoon. The room itself was of average size for a European double, but it was dimly lit and the bedding seemed quite old.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2007

This place is a scam ! They threatened to debit my credit card even after I had cancelled our reservations with them (even after giving them 4 months notice !) ! Definitely NOT professionals !

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank bibiParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Noisy room during the night, right at the corner of a big square with lots of shouting, I suppose there were pubs or discos nearby and it was a transit zone, it happened Friday and Saturday. Also the room was a bit too warmed up for sleeping and the lights were unsuitable for reading. Need more security if I have to leave the room key at the desk and there is nobody around to check, the front door has a code after 7pm, one needs to know all free emergency phone numbers just in case!.
Positives: good location, few rooms, nice attendants, clean and with a good bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

We stayed in Le Petit Hotel for 7 nights & loved it.
The hotel is small with about 12 rooms but the owners are really lovely, very friendly & helpful.
We asked for room no. 2 as suggested by other reviewers to this site & were delighted with it. Just across the landing from our room was a water cooler which was also very handy.
The bed was a bit low down on the ground, but apart from that the room was fine, clean & adequate, the towels were changed every day.
One tip though- we were supplied with plastic cups for the complimentary coffee in the room, so you may want to bring your own mug/cup from home!
The hotel is so central you can step out onto the little balcony & check the time on the town hall! (this is were most of the buses depart) You can also hear the waves crashing on the rocks & the beach which is just around the corner. A great location as you were never far from any part of the town.
There are so many cafes & resturants to chose from, we only went into the one next door "The Player" the night before we left, but it was so good we went the next day also for lunch, just before we got the bus to the airport. We had some time to spare between checking out of our rooms & departing for the airport & we were able to leave our cases in the hotel lobby which was very handy.
If you are looking for a budget hotel, I would definitly recommend Le Petit Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley Valentine2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cafe de Paris
Hotel Cafe de Paris
#10 of 64 in Biarritz
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 11 rue Garderes, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#10 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#18 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £70 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Petit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing