We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, characterful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Edouard VII

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Edouard VII
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming, characterful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

Visited this hotel for two nights in October 09. The purpose of trip was to watch rugby and sightsee.
The lovely old hotel was located just off the centre with other hotels in a residential area. It took 5/10 minutes to walk to the sea front and to bar/shops/restaurants. There is a fabulous food market about 5 minutes away which is worth seeing (not sure what days of the week it's open - we went on a Saturday morning).
First impressions when we arrived at the hotel, was how calm and quiet it seemed, also it smelt beautifully clean and fresh. The furnishings were tasteful and it felt uncluttered. We stayed in a superior room which was spacious, with a king size bed and also had a good sized bathroom with hairdryer. We paid an extra 10 euros per person for breakfast, which consisted of bread, pastries, two cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, toast, jam, coffee, tea, orange juice.
I booked the hotel by phone with an extremely helpful lady called Daisy, who was just lovely. Other staff at the hotel were pleasant.
No traffice noise or indeed any noise during the night.
On the negative side, parking was a slight problem, once we knew where to go it was fine.
I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerkinsGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    139
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
209
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We had a very nice stay at the hotel. Near beach shops restaurants a very pleasent stay .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julieLoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

We stayed in Room 101 and it was nice, they must have resolved any issues that someone mentioned in another post. We found the location good, its a short walk to one of the beaches, a little further to the main beach (grand plage), people with mobility problems mind not find suitable as its on a steep hill, there are steps and no elevator. The staff were good and informative. The breakfast was nice but overpriced. The price was ok, I think there is plenty of similar accommodation in the area for better value as its really more like a nice guest house rather than a hotel, that is the reason I only awarded three marks instead of four.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aylevarroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2009

Charming hotel which tries to maintain the style of a turn of the century French country house. Attentive, attractive staff operate in a peaceful and relaxed setting with an air of quiet refinement. Rooms were immaculately clean; breakfast on the terrace a delight. I wish I could've stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike2vc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

A nice hotel with a atmosphere and character.

Staff were very friendly and always willing to help.

Seemed a perhaps a little expensive for what was available.

No parking with the hotel and parking in the surrounding area was sometimes difficult to find.

No lift but only 2 or 3 floors so not a big problem.

No pool but close enough to the beach that it didn't matter.

Within easy walking distance of several pleasant bars, cafes and restaurants.

  • Liked — character
  • Disliked — difficulty parking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank spodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and adored it. The staff were incredibly helpful; my husband needed to see a doctor and they helped us navigate the process. The rooms are spacious and the building is charming. It's a great deal for the money and I couldn't recommend this hotel more highly. Excellent!

  • Liked — Staff was really friendly
  • Disliked — Not on beach, but still centrally located
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harborne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

Great building in good location.
Staff were efficient, without caring.
Rooms were adequate.
Would not recommend.
Biarritz is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2lostsouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#13 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edouard VII? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edouard VII

Property: Hotel Edouard VII
Address: 21, rue Carnot, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edouard VII 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within a 5 minutes walk from the beach, this hotel is one of the few place whitch has kept its charm of the past.Our 18 rooms are equipped with baths, toilets, direct phone, free access wifi, TV, individual safe, mini-bar and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Edouard VII reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edouard Vii Hotel
Edouard Vii Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing