We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in perfect area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Gothenburg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in perfect area”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is one of the neatest hotels I've ever visited. It's noce situated in the centre of Biarritz and very close to the ocean.
It's clean, lovely furnished. The staff is constantly smiling and very helpful.
The rooms feels trendy and luxurious and the beds are very comfortable.
Breakfast is perfect and served in the breakfastroom on the first floor or can be ordered to the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    289
    130
    30
    12
See reviews for
87
302
45
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The desk staff were most helpful and courteous. The room was comfortable. But best of all was the reasonably priced in room breakfast service, which arrived spot on time. The location was 3 minutes from the sea front. Good location also for local shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank BurmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Good Hotel, very central, staff ok, no complaints. I will probably come again sometime. I liked the fact that it was near to the sea and also near to the shops and bars etc. There was also a car park near but maybe you could offer a car parking discount to hotel guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank lattdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Had a short overnight in Biarritz in Feb.
Was not expecting much for a mid price hotel..
The Le President was excellent, in a great location, with a small but spotless room.
Very comfortable bed, with all the facilities needed for a weary traveler.
The staff were exceptional, very polite, and extremely helpful.
A little gem of a place....

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MkMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Fantastic location in the center of Biarritz, close to everything you want to see and do in Biarritz.  Rooms were clean and quiet. Mine faced the parking lot but still offered decent views of the town.  Beds are very comfortable despite unusually thin mattress compared to what I am used to at home. Rooms are decorated in bright colors and maximize space.  My rate included breakfast which was in a nice bright room. All breakfast items were fresh and nicely presented with a decent variety. Service was very good and helpful despite appearing to be thinly staffed especially during the evenings. Marc who was at the front desk was always asking if he could be of help with suggestions etc. 

The hotel is easily reached by bus from the train station. Just take any bus going to centre ville. The hotel is across the street from the galaries Lafayette department store (around the corner from the casino) which is a good marker for finding the hotel once you arrive.  From the hotel it's a quick walk to the port, the market and all the main attractions within Biarritz. I would definitely return to the Mercure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlysway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

With an 'ocean view' room we could take in the ambience of Biarritz - city and waves. Marc on reception was really helpful. Car park convenient. Great policy for over-60s - ask about it! We would not hesitate to come here again.

Room Tip: Floor 6 and above to get good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0n49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This hotel is centrally located in Biarritz just a short walking distance from the shore. It is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. They all spoke more than enough English to compensate for our limited French.

Rooms (ours was decorated in an art deco style reminiscent of the seventies) are not large by U.S. standards and lack some amenities, in particular a decent mattress on the bed. Perhaps younger backs and spines can handle their mattresses, but my wife and I had a hard time adjusting. Also missing was an iron and ironing board, which my wife would have liked.

Breakfast (located on the first floor) is not fancy but will get you started for the day. There is no onsite workout center, restaurant, bar, etc. The big plus is the location; if you want to eat or drink, there are many, many options close by.

The WiFi is free and excellent, and in fact is superior to the service you'll get at most U.S. hotels. I had no problem running VNC sessions into my network back home. If you need top-notch Internet, you'll appreciate what you get here.

There is a very convenient laundromat behind the hotel. If you need to wash some clothes, you'll find that much cheaper than having the hotel clean them for you. There is also a grocery store within walking distance, which is good for picking up a few items without paying the higher prices near the shore.

Two other drawbacks: we were on the first floor facing the main street (and shore). At night, someone walking down the street could see right into our room. Also, there was a very popular bar right next to the hotel, and the crowd noise (in particular someone honking a noisemaker over and over) kept us awake one nights. Asking for a room on a higher floor facing away from the street might be a good idea.

All in all a decent place to stay, but be aware of the issues with the mattresses and crowd noise. I would rate it 3 1/2 stars out of 5. Just getting better mattresses would probably increase the ratings of this hotel by half a star.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieBerger2, Assistant Manager at Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Mister,

Thank you for having taken time to express us your opinion on your stay. It represente a precieuse help to improve us.
Thank you for noting for your next stay that we have irons as well as ironing boards at arrangement in reception.
In the pleasure to welcome you has new in Mercure Président
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#6 of 64 in Biarritz
617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre

Property: Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Address: 18 Place Georges Clemenceau, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Biarritz
Best Western Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing