We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, grungy bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good location, grungy bathrooms”
Reviewed 12 August 2008

The hotel was on the very lively Plaza, a short walk from the beach. A public parking garage was next door so that was very convenient as well. The staff were cheerful, friendly, and patient with our execrable French. All in all it would have been very nice if the shower had not been covered with layers of black mold. Our son had the room next door, which had a much cleaner bathing facility but the toilet was literally in the closet. He said the door could not be closed so I suspect neither place would be optimal for honeymooners. Internet was available but very pricey.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — imunguous fungus
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NorthSylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    282
    127
    29
    12
See reviews for
84
295
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

The location was simply outstanding as it was a few minutes walk to the beach and to multiple restuarants and shops. The rooms were comfortable. Internet access required that you buy a one-hour card at the front desk which was inconvenient for those that spend a lot of time online.

If I am not traveling for business, I was most assuredly stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Business Accomodations
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Preston_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Great location, clean rooms, good lift, no problems with the staff. Paid €115 per night for a double room, not exactly value for money.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank thebigfella2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

I have been meaning to write a review on this hotel for 2 summers. I have found myself often refering people here. I attended a work event outside of Perpignan and being the traveling type that I am, I rented a car and drove from there to Biarritz for 4 days. I was a single woman traveling alone and found the hotel staff very accomodating. The location was perfect to go to the beach, casino and walk into the city to eat at any of the great seafood restaurants. I am picky and especially when traveling alone, but I found this hotel clean, comfortable, safe and well located.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Front desk closes during the late night hours
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Intnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2007

Stayed here with a group of friends when Carlina Lodge had no availability. We stayed in two different rooms but each was identical. The rooms we stayed in had a main room with a bathroom and then a slightly smaller second bedroom with two beds...also had a fridge and tv. It was perfect for our group. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping did a nice job cleaning up each morning. The hotel is a very short walk from the Grande Plage and is located on one of the main streets featuring many restaurants, bars and shops. This is not a luxury hotel but if you do not plan on spending all you time in the hotel, this is a great centralized hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank tac1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

The rooms at the hotel Le President are quite nice and clean, the location is great, right in the center of town. The breakfast was not all that good, very little choice. Do not buy a 24 hour wi-fi card as the hotel only provides 12 hours of wi-fi service per day which I found out by experience. All in all you're probably better off at the Plaza hotel down the road as the breakfast there was great and the internet connection was free. The rooms there were also significantly better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast, Internet Connection
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sb5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
1,137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Biarritz Centre Plaza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre

Property: Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
Address: 18 Place Georges Clemenceau, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Biarritz
Best Western Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing