We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 3 Star Hotel-Incredible Service”
Review of Hotel Alcyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alcyon
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is a great hotel in an awesome little beach town. The location and proximity to the city center were incredible and the service couldn't have been any better. If we ever make it back to Biarritz, we will surely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I think there are 3 rooms with balconies. We were in room 303 and it was the top floor room with a...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rvsidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alcyon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Spent three days in Biarritz at the start of our honeymoon. Great location, pleasant helpful staff and a well appointed room with modern facilities. I am not a lover of hotels as a rule but wish they could all be like this. If you are visiting Biarritz, don't consider anywhere else if there are rooms available here.

Room Tip: Worth the slight upgrade to get a small balcony if during the summer months, central locations can b...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyL39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Stayed four days. Ideal location near transport links, beach and town centre, all just a couple of minutes away. Quiet street. Charming and helpful owners Christine and Eric. Excellent value breakfast. Clean comfortable room with amazingly QUIET air conditioning; in fact, the quietest ever experienced even in 5 star hotels, Small bathroom but excellent shower. Good value for money. Will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffhodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

very well located only 5 minutes from the main beach
welcoming patrons, small family hotel with design decoration
very good breakfast with nespresso cofee and fresh products
very quiet hotel , nice decoration , for these small rooms
definetly a place to stay when in Biarritz

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodloverdenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great hotel, very professional, perfect rooms and decoration, good bed, decent breakfast. The hotel is very central, yet on a quiet street; it is perfectly located, at a walking distance from the beach, shopping and restaurant areas. It is very clean. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Alcyon

Just one point that did not made me feel very comfortable was that the keys of the bedrooms stay in a key-shelf available to all guests, for which it seems to me that any other guest could pick one and do a "visit". It did not happen to my bedroom, but it seems to me it would be possible. Well, all guests seem very reliable, but we never know...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonioBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Just 2 blocks away from all shops and restaurants, very clean and modern hotel. Perfect place to stay if visiting Biarritz for the beaches and nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenS_12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We enjoyed 10 nights in the Alcyon recently. After booking , I was a little concerned that the room would be too small but it was actually ok, even for this length of stay and we managed to fully unpack. The bathroom was compact but there was enough room under the basin to store toiletries etc and a decent hairdryer - this is always a major plus point with me! The reception area/salon were beautifully decorated and one rainy afternoon we sat there reading our books. Seeing us there, the owner Eric asked if we'd like the TV switched to an English channel and offered coffee. As others have mentioned, the owners were very helpful when it came to enquiries such as bus times and sorted out a diving session for us. They also kindly offered us a complimentary breakfast which we were delighted to take on our last morning.

One of the best things about this hotel is its proximity to everything - city centre shops, beach, great restaurants are all within minutes walk. We had breakfast at a cafe round the corner, LaCoupole (I think!) where we would decide the day's activities. This was largely dependent on the weather which was changeable to say the least, I don't think we had two days the same. As a sun-starved, rain-soaked Scot, grey skies on holiday don't fill me with cheer but we used them to explore the surrounding area and I can't recommend this enough. For a couple of Euros we took the bus to Bayonne but it was St Jean de Luz that I really loved. It had everything; views of the mountains, a gorgeous little harbour, wide sweeping beach, green parkland by the lighthouse and houses to die for. On top of that - cobbled streets, chic shops and plenty of bars and restaurants. When I win the lottery..... Back in Biarritz it's also worth taking a stroll round Lac Marion, a cool, green oasis. Next door is the trot-racing. It's no Ascot but a fun way to spend the evening, even if we did only back 1 winner out of 8.

Biarritz is like Nice in many ways but much quieter, which has + /-. You don't have the constant roar of traffic, particularly next to the beach, and it's a very safe place to wander about. It's not really a negative but we found the city quite 'sedate' at night, with many places closing c11pm. There's not a lot of 'buzz' (possibly a different story in August) or maybe we didn't go to the right places.

Eating is big part of life in Biarritz with a huge variety of restaurants from tourist-reasonable to fine dining; spoiled for choice is an understatement. We interspersed pizza/pasta nights with a variety of restaurants - Baleak, La Table Basque, Le Clos Basque to name a few. Our favourite meal however was the picnic we put together from produce bought at the market and which we enjoyed on our train journey up to Paris.

Final word on Biarritz, take plenty of money - you'll need it ! Final word on the Alcyon - as long as you know what to expect from a small French hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendsPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.1 mi away
Mercure Le President Biarritz Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#28 of 64 in Biarritz
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcyon

Address: 8, rue Maison Suisse | angle rue du Helder, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#9 Family Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £73 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcyon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christine & Eric welcome you in Biarritz at Hotel Alcyon.If you are looking for a quiet, comfort and warming place, you have chosen the best place in the centre of the Basque city, Biarritz !Designed by local architect Raymond Larrebat Tudor, this building dates back from the 19th century.A complete non smoking establishment, our charming hotel and its 15 rooms has been completely renovated and modernized, well equiped with quilt on comfort bed,air-conditionning, flat screen, mini fridge, making tea & coffee facilities, safety box, phone, hair-drying, double glazing and black-out blinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcyon Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing