We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL EVER IN BIARRTIZ. A MUST IF YOU LOVE QUALITY!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Alcyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alcyon
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL EVER IN BIARRTIZ. A MUST IF YOU LOVE QUALITY!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I'm from California and travel all over the world and stay in the best hotel.
I can say that hotel Alcyon is one of the best hotel I ever stay. The service is amazing, really close from the beach, it is really really clean. The shower is FANTASTIC, it is a really cosy place and so warm. I love it and will be back. I know now that when I go to Biarritz this is the place to stay. Eric the owner of the Hotel is so friendly and always there if you need anything. a +++++

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    109
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
249
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in September whilst attending a rugby match in Biarritz
We found this hotel to be excellent - our room and bathroom were spacious, clean and well appointed.
The breakfast was also very good
The helpful gentleman on reception gave us great advice on places to eat and we were not dissapointed
Overall would recommend this hotel

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jackal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice clean, friendly and funky boutique hotel. Small room but well porportioned with a nice big bathroom, which is not so common in France. The staff were very helpful. The only complaint is the lack of parking which is a common problem in a good location anyway so can't really complain..

Centrally located with only a short walk to the beach and all the action of the restaurants.

Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from a 3 night stay in beautiful Biarritz. Our stay in Hotel Alcyon was perfect. There's a relaxed charm about the hotel. It is ideally located, and the rooms and breakfasts are lovely. I won't hesitate to recommend and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reefsharkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I carefully researched our stay in Biarritz before we travelled and I am glad to say that we made tge right choice in staying here during our stay. The hotel is very well located, 5 mins to the centre cafes and shops, 10 mins to the beach.
Just around the corner there are two fabulous restaurants.
We didnt need to get a taxi at all only for our trip to the Golf Club and our departure to the station.
The staff had fantastic English And were very helpful and enthusiastic.
Hotel is a little tight on space but it wasnt a problem.
Room was compact but clean and well appointed. Bathroom was exceptionally clean.
I would be glad to stay here again! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorriMcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Well situated in Biarritz. Parked on the outskirts initially as there was no availability on the streets or the parking lots. On the evening spots became available on the streets for 12euros for a week.The hotel is modern and our room was very nice, comfortable and very clean, and included a courtesy tray. The ensuite was small but very well fitted and equipped with a forceful shower. Reception welcome excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b93reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We love Biarritz and have been coming here every summer for at least a long weekend for 6 years now. For the last 4 years we stayed at Alcyon, a charming family run boutique hotel. Our stay here is excellent every time. We like everything about this place: 
- Stylish clean rooms: they are of different shapes and sizes depending on the price category, and even if less expensive rooms might be quite small they are practical and comfortable (that includes good shower and bed, air-conditioning, fast wi-fi and even the availability of ironing equipment in every room), very clean and well maintained over the years and also really good looking. 
- Location: is excellent! Alcyon is basically located in the center of the town just 2 minutes off the crowded streets. The central beach, shopping (local souvenires, Lafayette etc. and luxury boutiques) and tens of great restaurants are just within 2-10 min walk. 
- Service: great owners Christina and Eric! Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable! (and a great looking couple too :)) if you ask them for recommendation, they would not tell you something just to send you off to some place, they would recommend some truely good stuff, make some reservations if you ask, give some practical advices that could save you time. To summarise, they are exactly the opposite to the impersonal commercial approach of the big hotels. 
This summer we organised a 45 people party in Biarritz and many of our guests stayed at Alcyon, all of them thanked for the great hotel choice! 

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
BEST WESTERN PLUS Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#15 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcyon

Property: Hotel Alcyon
Address: 8, rue Maison Suisse | angle rue du Helder, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#9 Family Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcyon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christine & Eric welcome you in Biarritz at Hotel Alcyon.If you are looking for a quiet, comfort and warming place, you have chosen the best place in the centre of the Basque city, Biarritz !Designed by local architect Raymond Larrebat Tudor, this building dates back from the 19th century.A complete non smoking establishment, our charming hotel and its 15 rooms has been completely renovated and modernized, well equiped with quilt on comfort bed,air-conditionning, flat screen, mini fridge, making tea & coffee facilities, safety box, phone, hair-drying, double glazing and black-out blinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcyon Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing