We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Value”
Review of Hotel Alcyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alcyon
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Value”
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and were completely satisfied with this Hotel. We stayed in a Superior Room (Room 1 on the first floor,) and we enjoyed a comfortable Queen size bed and a well equipped modern bathroom with shower. The fully tiled bathroom was small but adequate, was very clean, with lots of storage space and a towel warmer. Yes the towels are a bit thin but there was 4 of them, so no complaints. The room was as pictured on the website - modern and simple with 2 armchairs, a desk and a large mirrored sliding door wardrobe. There were several English speaking channels on the flat screen TV. Room 1 has a large window facing the street that gave great lighting, opened for fresh air and was not noisy at night.There is a 5 minute carpark outside the hotel for easy drop offs and in May we found no problem finding payed parking on the street. As indicated by others, there are 2 parking stations within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. which cost the same as street parking (9 Euros per day). The breakfast room and lounge on the ground floor are a bit dated, and we were glad that we did not use either. We had breakfast at cafes on the beach each morning, and in the afternoon we found many great bars and cafes for a drink and a rest in the sunshine. The Hotel is really well located, with the town, the beach and good restaurants less than 5 minutes away. No it doesn't have a view or a swimming pool, but for 115 Euros per night it was great value. The Owners don't speak much English, but as nothing was an issue this was not a problem. The room was serviced daily and there is a lift for luggage, although we used the stairs most of the time. My only "complaints" were that the owners cooked their dinner in the breakfast/lounge area at night, so the cooking smells permiated the reception area, and the toiletries could have been replenished more often, but you could ask for extras. In summing up, we were very satisfied as there were no surprises - the website is accurate. As for complaints from other reviewers about room size, if you are not happy with the size of one room ask for another, as the shape of the hotel dictates that some rooms will be larger than others (and you get what you pay for)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    110
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
253
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This hotel is in a great location and only a couple of minutes walk to the beach and all the restaurants and bars. It is very clean and well maintained. Good value for money. The rooms are small but adequate and the bathroom was ok. Our shower was broken (swung from side to side and you had to follow it!!) but was powerful and there was always hot water. Towels are dire. You can see though them they are so old. Overall a pleasant experience but this hotel does nothing to stand out from the crowd.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma6814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

My wife and I were so looking forward to a long weekend at this hotel in Biarritz; however, we were sorely disappointed. Although a superior room, our bedroom was cramped and extremely draughty, such that we both repeatedly woke up cold in the night. The bath was frankly ridiculous and barely large enough to wash a small dog, let alone a person! One of the attractions of the hotel was the "salon" downstairs as a place to read and relax: however, the TV seemed to be always tuned into MTV on volume and guarded by a couple of the owners' (?) daughters. Breakfast was really nothing more than a cold stodgy croissant, which was rather a let down. Although the owners were pleasant enough, a hotel best to avoid.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonChieftain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We booked a shower room with large bed, assuming that that would mean a decent sized bedroom. However, even for just 2 nights the room itself was too small to be comfortable - although it was stylish and clean. The big downside was the ensuite shower room, which was "cloakroom sized" and the space in front of the basin and loo was very tight. Had we have booked into a cheaper room, such as 204 - the ensuite and bedroom was of a completely different size - which seemed completely contradictory to get a better sized room for a cheaper rate. We can recommend the hotel but not that room range - which will also apply to 105 and 205 - I guess

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandIWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2008

I can't recommend this hotel enough. We stayed there in September for about 5 days and the visit was flawless. I learned of the hotel from the reviews on TripAdvisor and we weren't disappointed. This is a small hotel run by a small but very helpful staff. They provide a simple breakfast each morning that in our opinion was perfect. The staff helped us figure out where to park our rental car (there is a free parking lot about a 5 min. walk from the hotel). The room had everything we needed including free wireless. A lot of the other hotels in and around Biarritz were pricey and crowded. If you're looking for a big hotel with lots of amenities then this is probably not the place for you. However if you're looking for a little oasis in what can be a very crowded and busy place then you will love this hotel. They even have sound proof windows and black out shades that slide down on the outside of the windows. This hotel is a gem. I highly recommend it!!

  • Liked — Small, personalized, very well run hotel
  • Disliked — The night manager was a bit strange
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hd3530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2008

The hotel Alcyon is gorgeous me and my friend spent a lovely stay in Biarritz as it was the 1st time for us...the staff was really helpful they gave us such good advices ( where to go and eat.....) and the room we had was great with 3 big windows and little balcony......
I would come back for sure and recommend it to all my friends !

  • Liked — decoration and staff
  • Disliked — car parking
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jeankikiParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Unfortunately I had my wallet stolen from the safe in my room. Apparently whilst the maid was cleaning our room someone walked in, opened the safe and took out my wallet. I was disappointed with the staff's reaction to this, essentially accusing me of telling lies. Apart from this incident (spending most of the afternoon at the police station), its a lovely little hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcyon

Property: Hotel Alcyon
Address: 8, rue Maison Suisse | angle rue du Helder, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#6 Business Hotel in Biarritz
#9 Family Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcyon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christine & Eric welcome you in Biarritz at Hotel Alcyon.If you are looking for a quiet, comfort and warming place, you have chosen the best place in the centre of the Basque city, Biarritz !Designed by local architect Raymond Larrebat Tudor, this building dates back from the 19th century.A complete non smoking establishment, our charming hotel and its 15 rooms has been completely renovated and modernized, well equiped with quilt on comfort bed,air-conditionning, flat screen, mini fridge, making tea & coffee facilities, safety box, phone, hair-drying, double glazing and black-out blinds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Alcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcyon Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing