We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Hotel”
Review of Beaumanoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaumanoir
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We recently stayed for three nights at the Beaumanoir Hotel and really enjoyed our stay. I booked this hotel at the last minute based on its excellent reviews and we were not disappointed. The rooms are extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a lovely rest, early to bed and late to rise! We did not have breakfast at all as we do not normally eat much in the morning and the main purpose of our short break was to rest. The owner of the hotel picked us up from the airport in his Rolls Royce and dropped us at the train station for our onward trip and both this gentleman and the only two butlers were most helpful and charming. I would recommend this hotel for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank IrelandMollymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

Beaumanoir is a lovely hotel. A real find and we were so glad we did not stay in one of the more central chain type hotels.

It's walking distance from the airport (20 minutes walk if you are so inclined) but the air traffic is not intrusive at the hotel. It's about 20 minutes brisk walk into town. When we were there, the owner was unofficially offering a once a day trip into the centre in his Rolls Royce, which was a real treat. Usually he dropped us off at a restaurant in the evening and then we cabbed or walked back. Cabs are quite random in their pricing but it seems to be around 8 or 9 Euros from the centre back to the hotel.

The hotel itself is expensively and beautifully furnished. No corner cutting anywhere here. Our room was very nicely furnished, large, comfortable bed and a bathroom with top quality fittings.

Everything at the hotel is done with understated style. We sat outside on the patio in their modern outside seats for drinks late in the evening, served by the white jacketed butler. When we requested a separate glass of ice, it was brought in a small cut glass ice glass with a silver ice spoon.

Breakfast is not in the room price and seems expensive at Euro 24 per person. However we discovered that for example the Radisson in town charged Euro 23 per person, and (although we did not try the Radisson breakfast) we would bet it was nothing like Beaumanoir which serves a very nice breakfast.

There is no evening or lunch restaurant at Beaumanoir though I believe you can order cold seafood in advance if you wish. The butlers (as they are called) are on hand to give recommendations and make bookings for dinner. Their choices were excellent, and made our stay in Biarritz. We wanted relaxed places where locals would go, no jackets but relatively simple - and the recommendations hit the nail on the head exactly.

I cannot really fault the hotel on the basis of our 4 night stay. The sterling/euro rate made the drinks seem expensive but they were no more than other hotels in town in the height of summer, and certainly served with much more style.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bilbo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We have just returned from our holiday In France during which time we were lucky enough to stay for 5 nights at the wonderful Beaumanoir hotel.We being myself,husband and two boys aged 15 and 12.I was a bit apprehensive as to what it would be like as I have not stayed at such a small hotel before.We were welcomed straight away and from the first step into the hotel untill the day we left nothing was too much trouble.The hotel itself is beautifully furnished and has a real feel of luxury but still manages to promote a friendly and relaxing enviroment.Breakfast was delicious,very fresh and filling and a real bonus with it being served untill midday.The staff at the hotel were very friendly and attentative and by the time we left I felt that Ihad been well and truly spoilt!
It is probably worth noting that It is a 5 minute drive into Biarritz centre but it is a 25 minute walk.I liked this as I like to be in a quiet position away from the hustle and bustle but some people may prefer to be in the town.
Overall the hotel was everything and more i hoped it would be.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Canarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dan64310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Senne_huygen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Armelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
1 mi away
Hotel Cafe de Paris
Hotel Cafe de Paris
#6 of 64 in Biarritz
296 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Chateau du Clair de Lune
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#14 of 64 in Biarritz
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaumanoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaumanoir

Address: 10 Avenue de Tamames, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#15 Luxury Hotel in Biarritz
Hotel Class:5 star — Beaumanoir 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the last most exclusive hotel of the coast Basque. In a park of a hectare, close to the big beach of Biarritz, this manor of 1885 in protected architecture, is entirely renovated and re decorated! Only 4 rooms, 2 suites and 2 apartements shelter some favouring in search of calmness. Unique the Bar> regroups more than 50 marks of Champagne region! Small card of snaking chic served in the bar or brings to room with local specialities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beaumanoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Beaumanoir Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing