We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Saint Charles
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$245
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz(Biarritz)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Best Western Plus Karitza(Biarritz)(Great Value!)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anjou Hotel(Biarritz)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel du Palais(Biarritz)
US$488
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
10
12
10
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
12
10
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I'd actually rate Le St. Charles somewhere between "moyen" and "tres bien." From the exterior, this small, homey hotel exudes beaucoup de charme, and inside--with the help of well-worn antiques and a giant ginger cat in the common areas--add a dose of warmth, too. Our room was nothing special, but it was comfortable, clean, and quiet. The proprietor was friendly and informative, offering sightseeing suggestions and restaurant recommendations, though we could have done without the empty offer of a ride to the train station on our final day. (At the appointed hour, he was nowhere to be seen and we were barely able to hail a taxi in time.) Generally, we appreciated the proximity (walking distance) to the town center and its beaches, and the fact that the hotel allows dogs. We'll likely return during the warmer months and give it another try--and plan to take the bus to and from the gare, as we should have to being with.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFBAYBETTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Priced well, room clean, owner beyond helpful. Location four blocks from beach and center. Management speaks English better than I do, as well as French. Planning to stay their again next May.

Room Tip: Phil is of British decent, thus making it incredibly easy to communicate.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjim1159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for one night during the shoulder season. The hotel is well located and free parking was readily available. There are a handful of stores a short walk from the hotel (bakery, bar, casino etc). While the furniture and decor is a little faded as others have noted, we slept well and the room (including bathroom) was clean. The owner invited my husband to watch the rugby final with him in the guest lounge. Free wifi available.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Lou25London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is a must for those that love places and environments that has a soul, that is full of feelings and personality. The building is an old charming house with a cosy garden were you can relax surrounded of flowers and greenery. The interior is in charming old french/english style with inspireing, personal details. The owner is a really gentel and caring man who gives the best service. When I go back to Biarritz I will definitely visit Hotel Saint Charles again. A memory for life.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinBille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

When we arrived at this little hotel with high expectations because of a lot of good reviews that we read.... we were in for a surprise !

From outside everything looked great ! Luckily we found parking in the street for the hotel has none... Upon entering it was impossible to find someone to help us. Finally we were received by the owner I suppose...

The room was spacious....and that sums up its positive side ! It was dark, it was dirty ! The carpet was really old with stains and did not seem to be vacuumed very often... They're was pubic hair in the bathtub and dead insects all over ! I must admit that after complaining the owner cleaned the bathroom right away...

We also used a pullout bed that almost collapsed on itself with our 3 year old son in it. The thing should thrown away before The St. Charles gets sued....

All of this for the small sum of 100 euros a night !!

What a deal... We wish we had stayed at a cheap motel for better accommodation's.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ginjinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charly64200, Owner at Hotel Saint Charles, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2008

For me all criticisme is usefull as it helps to upgrade the Hotel's quality and service. This customer is however over exagerating, due to fatigue, tiredness. It is possible that the cleaning ladies overlooked some minor details, in the bathroom. Unfortunately, due to the garden and the structures age, there are some fissures in the outside stonemasonery, which allows the ants to continue their work of colonization and territorial conquest. It so happens that the ant colony in the floorboards, by the bathroom was of the critical mass to 'explode' towards further colonization.... Just at the moment the customer arrived. Hence the 'swarm' of insects... A little insecticide spray and a vacuum, was all that was necessary... The 'lethal' beds describes the pull out bed for children, which is very stable, but a fold away structure, nonetheless... It is not 'lethel' by any means...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews