We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Marine
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Biarritz, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed here for four nights, Great rooms really cheap (40 euros per night) and great staff, Yeah it may be a bit noisy at night but for the price who cares!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    20
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I found this hotel while looking on Trip Advisor for a place stay for a few nights in Biarritz.
What a fantastic little hotel in a super location on a busy little street with lots of great restaurants and bars. Just a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach and the superb views of the Atlantic coast.
The hotel staff were excellent and gave us a very fast check in upon our arrival. Very clean rooms at a great price. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel while visiting Biarritz.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancindan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

Arrived in Biarritz, unfortunately rained for most of the 2 days we were there !!
The hotel was very central, brilliant for young people, but for us it was a disaster. The room was very small, the en-suite smaller, could hardly get my legs in front of me when sitting on the toilet. The shower curtain was dirty, the whole place needs decorating in fact :(
The bed was awful, we rolled into each during the night, there was no air-conditioning, the double glazed windows were new and kept out a little of the noise, but it was necessary to leave them open so that we could breathe and then, the noise was unbearable. It was almost impossible to sleep. We put on the little, old fashioned tv to try and find some music, but the walls are so thin, we had a young couple with two small children next door and they started banging the wall. To us, this was so funny, because the noise from outside nearly drowned the noise of the tv.
We were also on the second floor and our room was directly opposite another hotel, so our window was around 5 metres away from our "neighbours", so no privacy - curtains or shutters had to be closed all the time.
Only plus point I think is that is was cheap 55 euros a night, so I suppose we shouldn't have expected more. But we just wanted a cheap and cheerful hotel so that we could spend our money on eating out. Please visit Chez Albert, fantastic food (you will need to book in high season, we watched queues of people turned away all evening) and also there are four little restaurants on the old harbour where they serve fresh fish - magnificent. The staff leave a little to be desired, not even a "thank you for your stay" when we were leaving.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Hotel la Marine is located right in the central street of Biarritz, which makes it an excellent location for eating and night life. You'd struggle to find a hotel much cheaper, considering it's location.

Location aside, however, this was hands down the noisiest room I've ever tried to sleep in. We stayed here for 2 weeks, and every single night without fail, people in the street scream and yell at each other until 5 or 6am. The hotel is situated on a corner, so all noise from the busiest parts of Biarrtiz echoes off the buildings and is funnelled into the room. It sounds like everyone is standing in the room with you. Combined with the ear splitting motorbike and scooter exhausts ricocheting in the window, we found it very difficult to sleep, even with ear plugs and noise cancelling headphones.

The windows are double glazed, which cut out a lot of noise, but because they're sealed, no air gets into the room. You have the choice of quiet or oxygen.

The bed was pretty reasonable, but the pillows were absolutely terrible. We had one long double bed bolster which was totally dead, and two dead 1m-square cushions which were terrible as well. I've never slept so poorly.

We were surprised to note that our room was not swept or vacuumed at all during our stay. After 2 weeks the floor crunched when you walked on it. Towels were arbitrarily changed, sometimes they were folded up WET and put on the bench. We had to ask for toilet paper, because it was never checked.

We were not charged for Internet, and it was very fast, so that was a bonus. I believe breakfast in bed is available, but no one mentioned that to us on check in, so we had no idea.

The staff tried their best to be helpful, and were indeed a huge help. They are all very friendly and welcoming.

Basically, the terrible sleeping situation would put me off ever returning. If you're planning on surfing every day, get a place up at Anglet instead. It's only 5 minutes away, has MUCH better beaches, and is very quiet. You can just bus it into Biarritz for the night life.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStarskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed there last year, and I highly recommend this hotel for people who want to stay in the city center for very cheap... This place is so nice, walking distance for everything. It's the cheapest place you can find in the city center of biarritz, and the family who run the hotel are very nice, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nathbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed here in the peak of summer. The hotel is in a great location- fantastic bars, restaurants and ice cream bars on the doorstep. The downside to that is the noise that travels up from these establishments. If you are a light to medium sleeper then ear-plus would be a must. Also see if you can request a room that does not look out onto the main street. The rooms themselves were basic but comfortable and clean. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daggy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

My wife and I went to Biarritz in July 2009 for three days and stayed at the Hotel La Marine. It is a small family-run hotel (9 rooms) located in the centre of the Biarritz. While its location is excellent, it is quite noisy outside. You can also hear everything that happens in the neighbouring rooms... The room itself was relatively large and clean, but the bathroom was very, very small. Overall, good value for money and would recommend it if noise is not a problem for you.
About Biarritz - it makes an excellent (and relatively cheap) short break from the UK, especially if you fly with Ryanair.
The largest beach 'Grande Plage' is in front of the Casino and Hotel du Palais and is popular for surfing or enjoying the strong waves of the Atlantic. Another nice, but much smaller beach, is 'Plage Port Vieux' (very close to the hotel), which is sheltered by rocks and excellent for swimming. We enjoyed the old 'Port des Pecheurs' with great restaurants like 'Casa Juan Pedro', where I stopped at least once a day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_r_szabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacito
Hotel Palacito
#49 of 64 in Biarritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
Hotel Les Alizes Biarritz
#48 of 64 in Biarritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#12 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Florida Biarritz
Hotel Florida Biarritz
#61 of 64 in Biarritz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Gamaritz
Le Gamaritz
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argi Eder
Argi Eder
#42 of 64 in Biarritz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Marine

Property: Hotel de la Marine
Address: 1, rue des Goelands, 64200 Biarritz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Marine Biarritz
De La Marine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing