We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience!”
Review of Hotel Saint-Julien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint-Julien
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

We really loved our stay at Saint Julien. The room was very clean and comfortable with lovely decor and an excellent ensuite bathroom that was very new, location was great and was very good value in a town that is quite expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Saint-Julien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed for a weekend in September and thoroughly enjoyed both the hotel and Biarritz. The property is very stylish, matching traditional features and elegant, contemporary design. All the furnishings, linen, decoration are luxurious and very comfortable. Our standard room was relatively spacious with a wonderful wetroom and huge shower.

The hotel is in a convenient location, in easy walking distance to the town centre, restaurants and the beaches. There is parking at the hotel which can be reserved in advance for 10euro/day. Another point worth mentioning is that there is a lift, which is slightly unusual in smaller French hotels.

The receptionist was very welcoming, speaking fairly good English (and fluent Spanish), and helpful in recommendations and booking restaurants. The rest of the staff were also friendly and seemed to take a real pride in caring for their guests.

Breakfast was available either in the bright dining room or on the pleasant garden terrace. This made for a relaxing and convenient start to the day. Alternatively there was a great bakery and a cafe within 2 minutes walk on Rue Gambetta.

This was a great choice of hotel (found through Tripadvisor recommendations) and I would be happy to return for another visit.

Room Tip: Even the standard double rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmsc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

If you like boutique old school hotels with great service and lovely staff then then this is the hotel for you. The building is well restored and modern with a 5 minute stroll from the beach and the town centre. I never want to feel as though I am being treated like a tourist and this Hotel feels like home

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlAH172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kajsa K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

'Quiet and charming' are not words you'd associate with busy, touristy, packed Biarritz but the St Julien is just that. The small private and secure parking areas around the hotel are a real bonus. The whole place just makes you feel relaxed. Very walkable to all parts of the town. Nice breakfast. Cute little sun patio where they will serve you very nice cold white wine after a hot day round the town or on the beach. It even has a spacious modern lift which is not so common in small hotels in France.

Definitely one to go in our book of 'will go out of way to stay again if ever in Biarritz'.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this Hotel. From the allocation of a private parking place (a huge bonus in Biarritz) to the range of food on offer at breakfast, this lovely old house - beautifully modernised throughout - and its owners made us very welcome.
The big wet room shower and bathroom fittings were superb and we enjoyed the ambiance of the Hotel, dawdling over our breakfast, inside or out in a nice garden courtyard, before going downtown to the shops and beaches. Our 5 nights were too few and we plan to return in the future. Unreservedly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobtravelDauntsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

First impression can make a difference. We met Julien in Reception, he was very welcoming and drew up a great itinerary for our stay in Biarritz. We found the Hotel to be excellent, beautiful rooms decorated to an exceptional standard. The owners have invested significantly in the hotel and it can be seen throughout. Well done, and I look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DPGMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
1.0 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Koegui Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#6 of 64 in Biarritz
628 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint-Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint-Julien

Address: 20 Avenue Carnot, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
#4 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#12 Business Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range: £105 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint-Julien 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint-Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Julien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing