We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Grand Large - Residence
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
new york
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hotel is well situated. It is walking distance from Port Viux, the Cote de Basque and the Grand Plage. Also walking distance from the Halles market.
Rooms are average to good. A little dated, but excellent for the price. We had a family room, not easy to come by in Biarritz.
Lobby staff is unbelievably helpful.
Most of the crowd is families or retired couples, mostly French of Spanish.
Excellent Value

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank khanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    172
    40
    15
    4
See reviews for
137
108
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarrazac, France
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is really well located for the old port in Biarritz, 5 minutes walk away and only 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. There is a bit of a climb back up the hill so may not be suitable for everyone. The room was spacious and clean and well equiped. Having a fridge and cooking facilities was really handy as we did our own breakfast in the morning and it was great to be able to make a cup of tea when we came back in the afternoon. There wasn't a kettle but we just boiled a small pan of water. The fridge was great for keeping the wine chilled which we enjoyed on the balcony in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with an extractor fan not turning itself off. I told reception in the morning before going out and it was fixed when we returned. The parking was cheap, 5 euros a day for the secure garage or 3 euros a day for outside. I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane4973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We chose Le Grand Large as we wanted reasonably priced accomodation for a 3 night break to Biarritz. The hotel was fairly easy to find when we got off the bus from the airport (probably a 20 minute walk away). It was very convenient to the shopping area and there is a Carrefour supermarket nearby. Having a small kitchen area was very convenient as we had breakfast and sometimes lunch in the studio. There was a lovely large balcony and it was a particularly nice place to sit in early evening as the weather was very good. The sunsets were spectacular later in the evening. We had requested a room on a high floor as suggested by other reviewers. The pool area was clean and basic but had lovely comfortable chairs and we had it to ourselves most of the time. There were plenty of scenic walks to go on in the evenings and the shops in Biarritz are lovely - even if you are only window-shopping. We ate every evening in restaurants with spectacular sea views- all within 20 minutes walk from the hotel. We would definitely return as a short break there was very reasonable. Biarritz airport is close to Biarritz and well served by cheap public transport (we arrived on Sunday and buses are not so frequent then). Everything was in walking distance and our accommodation was clean and comfortable. There were two bunk beds in a little alcove in the room so a small family could stay in this studio very comfortably (take care with younger children on the balcony though!)

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

called in here on the off chance if they had any avaiable rooms and surprise surprise we got an apartment facing out to the ocean and it was perfect.
apartment was spacious and very clean, towels and toiletries where included!
parking area underneath the apartments and large spaces!!!
ideal walking distance to the beach and the town. there was even fireworks the night we landed!!
would recommend le Grand Large to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieGamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I booked this hotel mainly because a 4 person studio was cheaper than 2 rooms at other hotels. So I was not expecting much and was wonderfully surprised. It was not a dingy cramped room, but a decent sized studio with amazing views and a balcony. Complete with 4 chair to watch the sunset from.

The room was itself simple, but a decent size, and clean and neat, and very well laid out. It had two twin beds pushed together in an area that you could close off with curtains. The rest of the main area contained a comfy couch and a small table. The kitchen was furnished with the basics. (A corkscrew was all we needed, but the fridge was great for chilling our wine!) The bunks were large enough to sleep adults. (My 6 foot tall brother was only a tiny bit cramped...)

The front desk was helpful, and happily spoke to us in English.

The toilet was in a separate room from the shower and sink, which was actually useful in saving time with 4 people sharing. Not sure what the previous reviewer was talking about with no toilet paper included - our room had toilet paper.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent 4 nights in a studio apartment at Le Grand Large, 2 adults and 2 children aged 7 and 10. I initially had reservations about this property (I was concerned that a studio would be small) but went ahead with the booking because it seemed like good value - and I am so glad that we stayed here.

The apartment, whilst only a studio, was big enough to comfortably accommodate our family of 4 and was in my view much better value than a hotel room, both in terms of cost and space. It was tastefully decorated and had everything needed for a comfortable stay.

Le Grand Large is in an excellent location - our apartment had a view over the ocean from La Rocher de la Vierge to La Cote des Basques. The property is within very easy walking distance of the Grand Plage, Vieux Port, Musee de la Mer and Biarritz town centre, with many good restaurants, cafes and creperies nearby.

The swimming pool was large and clean, and was heated to 26 degrees celcius.

The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, and always helpful.

Our youngest daughter (aged 7) thought that this was the best place she had ever stayed!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed for 9 nights in July 2011. The room was clean and well sized for 2 adults.The balcony was quite big, a bit more comfortable furniture (2 plastic chairs) and somekind of a light source in the balcony would be a plus but still ok. The room looked like the decorator had gone crazy with blue and yellow and pictures of lighthouses but I'm sure there are people who like that decorating style too :) The little kitchenette was well equipped (refridgerator,microwave owen, coffee maker, stove, dishes, cutlery). Well working safe in the room. Enough wardrobe space and coat hangers. The shower was good with enough water pressure (we did stay in the 2nd floor, so the water pressure situation can be something else in the upper floors). No hairdryer.

As stated, some minor faults do exist. The price does not include for example toilet paper so prepare to buy some from the supermarket. Also the cleaners don't do your dishes so while in supermarket, buy some washing liquid, too. The hotel advertises they have wifi.. yes they do but it does not work in the rooms. So you have to go the lobby (or in some floors it might be enough if you go to you own floor's lobby next to the elevator). The staff did not speak that well English but enough to get by. They were not unfriendly nor specially friendly. There are some noise from the street in the night (and it echoes in between the houses) plus the lighthouse flashes (this depends on what side of the hotel your room is, the main entrance side is most likely not as affected by the noise and lighthouse) but not too disturbing unless you are a really light sleeper. Then I would suggest to ask the room from the main entrance side. And now your'e wondering if there were no curtains since the lighthouse flashes in.. yes there were but they were just a tiny bit too small for the window length so no matter what you did, you had to let the light in from some corner. But again, not too disturbing.

The location is very good and compared to the overall price level in Biarritz I think The Grand Large is good value for money. Our friends paid the same in a smaller hotel at the same time and they had a tiny hotel room with no balcony or fridge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Ocean
Hotel de l'Ocean
#26 of 64 in Biarritz
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#17 of 64 in Biarritz
1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Biarritz Ocean
Residence Biarritz Ocean
#29 of 64 in Biarritz
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Windsor Grande Plage Biarritz
0.1 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#39 of 64 in Biarritz
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Large - Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Large - Residence

Property: Le Grand Large - Residence
Address: 1, rue Dalbarade, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Large - Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grand Large - Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Large résidence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing