We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in Biarritz”
Review of Mirano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mirano Hotel
Ranked #17 of 64 Hotels in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in Biarritz”
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed at the Mirano last weekend and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were travelling with 3 young children and the whole family thoroughly enjoyed the stay at this cool hotel. The 70s decor is so well done, capturing the best points of that quirky decade and nothing has been overlooked - we even had 70s music playing (softly!) during breakfast. The rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious, and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Breakfast is excellent and good value too

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing in particular - all a good experience
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank declan.kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    71
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
131
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

i was pleasantly surprised on first arrival about how well decorated this hotel was, clean but colourful and fun. the hoteliers were extremely friendly. the room was well layed out and decorated. all together it made for a great stay

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancasterlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Stayed here only for one night but really loved it. Rooms are well decorated (funky retro 70's style) and very clean. Breakfast was good and the owner really friendly. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the centre.

  • Liked — the style
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2008

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Mirano en route from Spain and thought it was great.

The hotel and rooms are very tastefully decorated with attention to every detail and everywhere is spotlessly clean. The owners/staff were very polite and helpful. Breakfast, although simple, was great, with fresh warm rolls and freshly squeezed juice.

The hotel is a little out of town, but we chose that deliberately as we had a car and didn't want the hassle and cost of parking centrally. We had no problems parking in the street and indeed the walk to the centre was only 10 minutes away and was no big deal. However, for less able-bodied guests the uphill walk on the way back might pose a problem.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2008

What a great place this is! We had a three night stay and, although a slight walk from the town and beaches (10 minutes town, 15 minutes beach, but all uphill on the way back!), the hotel was perfect.

The room and everything else in the hotel was spotless and exactly as it looked on the hotel website. Our room (a larger one with 'a bathroom with a window') opened onto the front with large windows and trees to create some privacy. The styling is faultless - it looks like the owner has taken pride in every single fixture and fitting.

The owner(s) were extremely friendly - they also made the effort to speak in French and explain if needed rather than speaking English for us, which I actually quite liked. He also explained, in French, very clearly about the hotel access code that we would need to get into the building after midnight - I'm not sure if he forget to give this to the other reviewer below or whether this was simply missed. Someone had difficulty getting in after midnight when we were there so I would simply recommend making sure you have that code!

Only downsides about the place are parking (it's on the street, and there's not a lot of it, but we were lucky enough to find one, it was free and we had no trouble despite the car being fully loaded with camping gear and bikes) and a lack of a kettle/glasses in the room (would have been nice to have a brew or not drink water from a bottle) but that's all I can find. it really is a lovely local hotel, very different experience to what you'd get a a travel-inn/radison/whatever but for us that was all part of it and just perfect.

Thanks again for a lovely holiday!

  • Liked — Style, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No kettle and no glasses! Minor...
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank super-flan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Myself and 3 friends stayed one night at this hotel very recently as we were exploring the Basque country and our flight took us to Biarritz. It was fairly inexpensive in what seemed to be an expensive resort so we were hopeful for a relaxing and welcoming experience in a small hotel.

Unfortunately, we did not even get the opportunity to spend our one night in the room we had booked as it seems that the proprietor had a different set of rules to those of any other hotel I had ever visited.

To cut a long story short, when my friends and I were heading out into town for a meal and a few drinks at about 8.30 and we bid the owner good evening and he cordially asked us if we wanted breakfast in the morning. We politely declined and went out for the night.

We returned to the hotel at about 1.30 am (not an unreasonable hour surely) only, to our horror, to find it completely closed. The front gate was locked and all lights were out. We had been given only one key for our quadruple room and this did not work on the gate lock. At no stage did the owner ever see fit to mention to us that the hotel closes for the night at a particular time so, as you can imagine, we were pretty taken aback to find that this had happened.

I know you could say that maybe we could have asked on our way out if the hotel closed and at what time but honestly it did not even occur to us to query this. Every single hotel any of our group had ever stayed in, had either a 24-hour service or front door key.

With absolutely no means of accessing the room we had paid for, my friends and I were forced to spend the night trying to sleep on some plastic benches, freezing cold (it got pretty chilly in the early hours) and feeling pretty despondent.

We finally managed to get into our room when the hotel opened up about 7.30 am. Needless to say, we were rather cranky by this stage so thought it best not to query the events of the previous night with the owner on our way in, as we did not want to run the risk of creating a scene, thus potentially making a bad situation even worse. A typically English response to dreadful service, I suppose you could say!

Even checking-out was a dispiriting experience. We asked the owner if he would be kind enough to let us know how to get to the bus station in more than reasonable enough French, but he simply chose to ignore us. It was left to a fellow customer, to whom the owner was chatting, to kindly privide us with the information.

All in all, this was, by a ridiculously long way, the worst hotel experience I have ever had. I would certainly never recommend it to anyone. Quite the opposite in fact. If you can get a room anywhere else, and I do mean anywhere else, my view is that you should do so.

(As a postscript, just to make it clear that I am not by nature a whinger, the hotels in which we stayed in Bilbao and San Sebastian were exemplary. But that's for other reviews).

  • Disliked — Not actually being able to sleep in our room!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElNarigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Roc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Great retro style, Every part of the hotel was spotless and the room was warm and comfortable,
Stayed over on the way to southern Spain and would certainly recommend this hotel to any traveller or holiday maker,
Very friendly,
Just felt sorry for the Goldfish who seemed very lonely,
Could do with a mate.
10/10

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank BarabasLeRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biarritz hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Karitza
Best Western Plus Karitza
#5 of 64 in Biarritz
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amarys Inter Hotel Biarritz
0.8 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania Biarritz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Parc Mazon
Hotel Parc Mazon
#37 of 64 in Biarritz
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel  Saint-Julien
Hotel Saint-Julien
#1 of 64 in Biarritz
311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anjou Hotel
Anjou Hotel
#39 of 64 in Biarritz
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirano Hotel

Property: Mirano Hotel
Address: 11 avenue Pasteur, 64200 Biarritz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Biarritz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Biarritz
#3 Family Hotel in Biarritz
#10 Romantic Hotel in Biarritz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mirano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirano Hotel Biarritz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing