We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Lavande”
Review of Les Chardonnerets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dordogne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chardonnerets
Ranked #160 of 380 Speciality Lodging in Dordogne
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“La Lavande”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This is our 2nd time in La Lavande but our 5th visit to Les Chardonnerets; we love the area, especially Brantome. But most of all we just have time to relax and unwind which is always aided by our special hosts Nick and Lisa who’s warm welcome is like meeting old friends again. Great time we will be back!
Janet and John. Kent, August 2013

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjakajmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I visited Les chardonnerettes in January with my daughters to recoup from illness.I wanted a peaceful,comfortable,retreat with all the facilities of a home. The site was fabulous wood burning stove,fully equipped kitchen,comfortable warm bedrooms and spotlessly clean shower and toilet.
Tv /sky and dvd,radios etcher all provided along with board games.
Whilst there one of my daughters were ill. The owners Lisa and Nick arranged Dr appointments and Chemist runs and even bought me in shopping.All above the call of duty. Overall i think that this place is a perfect holiday in low or high season,I plan to return in the summer to enjoy the pool and the sun loungers!

Room Tip: all have country views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrinne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

As a family we have stayed here a few times during the Easter holidays and Autumn half term. We all had a lovely break, enjoying the surrounding areas. The British owners are charming and helpful without being intrusive. It was very apparent that any assistance we wanted on places to visit or eat that they knew the area well. Whilst we did not have any issues I also felt that they would have been very responsive as it was clear they cared about their guests and genuinely wanted them to have a good holiday. The Gites were really nice, every home comfort you needed was there and we found them very clean and well serviced. I enjoyed my stay so much I have had 3 out of season long weekends with friends. A great little escape and easy to get to from Limoges airport or drive from Dieppe. Already booked for Easter 2014!

Room Tip: Stayed in Poppy & Sunflower (sorry cannot remember the French name!) as a family. Rose was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice in 2013 in different gites. Both were excellent, being fully equipped, clean, and comfortable. The location is rural, quiet and quite delightful. Great facilities for the kids with a super pool and various games in a secure area. The hosts were on site and always willing to offer advice and recommendations about places of interest and eateries in the area. There was a slight problem with low water pressure on first visit, which we were told about, but this had been sorted by time of our second visit. Have already booked for this year

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I cannot agree with the previous review. The place was filthy. The rule was that the accommodation is cleaned by the previous guests so it is never properly cleaned. I would say it has not been thoroughly cleaned from top to bottom for years. We found dust and cobwebs everywhere. The tv did not work properly, neither did the plumbing. The pool was nice, but the trampoline needed some tlc, with dangerous holes in the sides. For the price and the fact that it is labelled luxury, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonshire21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leschardonnerets2014, Owner at Les Chardonnerets, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are so sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us and take all our clients comments very seriously. The issues with the plumbing and the trampoline have been resolved. The water pressure problem was a generic one affecting the local area and could only be resolved by the local water company. This has been duly done.. With regards to the trampoline a new jump base was ordered and has now been installed.. All our TVs are working properly and we were unaware of any TV not working..
We are a little unsure of how to respond to the comments of "Dirty" and "Filthy" as they bear no parity to any other guests comments relating to the cleanliness of our gites. We take great pride in maintaining all our gites and strive to ensure an excellent standard of cleanliness throughout. We have had many verbal and written comments from past guests complimenting our standards of cleanliness and feel sure that our many repeat customers would not return each year if this was not the case.
We do ask departing guests to leave their gites clean and tidy, but each gite is then thoroughly cleaned by us before new guests arrive.
As we live on site it is a great shame that these guests did not come and see us at the time as this would have given us the opportunity to resolve any issues that they may have had.
Once again we apologise for not meeting these customers expectations and we assure them that we will endeavour to ensure that ALL our guests have a fabulous stay with us in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from an amazing stay at les chardonnerets. We travelled with three children age 10, 7 and 4 who utterly loved every minute. If you are looking for great accommodation in a beautiful setting, great pool and safe large garden with activities (football, table tennis, trampoline) then this is for you. The hosts are the best we have ever had and they helped put together a very memorable special family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJW0035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford, uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

could not recommend this place highly enough, the setting is amazing, the gites clean and very nicely furnished. The swimming pool is wonderful and the gardens beautiful. The owners couldnt have been more friendly and helpful. Cannot find one fault with any of it.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mandyg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dordogne hotels
28.9 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
211 reviews
20.7 mi away
Premiere Classe Perigueux - Boulazac
49.2 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
O Bois Dormant
O Bois Dormant
#1 of 1 in Lempzours
20 reviews
55.6 mi away
Chateau des Vigiers
Chateau des Vigiers
#1 of 1 in Monestier
523 reviews
42.5 mi away
Hotel Altica Sarlat
Hotel Altica Sarlat
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chardonnerets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chardonnerets

Property: Les Chardonnerets
Address: Lieu Dit Callandrie | Thiviers, 24800, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 380 Speciality Lodging in Dordogne
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing