We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, clean, friendly hotel with good food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Efficient, clean, friendly hotel with good food.”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed at Hotel du Commerce for a week with a group of 19 people for wine tasting holiday. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. My room was cleaned thoroughly every day. My room decor was contemporary and good. The bed had a new mattress and was firm but very good. Only neg was no air con (but had a fan). Many other rooms had air con. With temps around 23-26 deg it was fine. Garden at the back with seats and tables. Recommend rooms at the back as more sunny that side. I kept thinking that this hotel was much better quality than it appeared at first sight. The food was very good. I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a clean, reliable, comfortable hotel in the centre of Bergerac. They provided English newspapers all the week we were there. I would go there again.

Room Tip: Specify if you need air conditioner. Back of hotel quiet and sunny. Not overlooked at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodview43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    61
    30
    30
    25
See reviews for
19
92
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Quite dated, but clean, with a comfortable bed and a good shower. Free wi-fi. The tiny lift is weird because it stops on the half landings so not good for anyone with heavy bags or who has trouble with stairs. Breakfast at €8.50 was limited and overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FliesM20P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is a pleasant place to stay for a day or two on a charming square. The rooms are a bit dated, nothing fancy, but clean, welcoming and conveniently close walking distance to the old city. We were there in November so it was very quiet. I would recommend asking for a room in the back during the season because the square might get a bit noisy. The town of Bergerac is wonderful, not as large and touristy as Perigreux, beautiful old buildings. And oh la la the food!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back away from the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We were part of a large coach party of 50. The staff were under a lot of pressure but they were lovely. They were always smiling and cheerful and worked unbelievably hard to ensure that we were happy. It is an old hotel with charecter and all that that entails. It was clean and friendly if a little chaotic at times.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for one week with my elderly mother and my daughter. This hotel offers basic acommodation, similar to that of a Campanile. We had a room for three people which was a bit cramped and needed updating but it was clean and clean towels were provided daily.
There was a good selection for breakfast, which was an optional extra. The staff were polite and helpful.
Car parking is available in front of the hotel, free overnight and weekends, however you are not able to park Tuesday or Friday evenings prior to markets on the following days.
There are several good restuarants within easy walking distance as is the city centre. Also the railway station is nearby. The airport is about 10 - 15 minutes by car.
All in all a good base to visit the Dordogne area and the pretty city of Bergerac.

Room Tip: Park in the street behind the hotel, it's quiet and free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendij76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed here for one night after travelling up from Spain with my friends, by car. Unfortunately, my booking had been mucked up but, the receptionist sorted things out, found me another room and gave me a discount. Price for the hotel is pretty reasonable and the rooms were nicer than you would get in an equivalently priced Travelodge in the U.K. On street parking in the Place Gambetta is extremely limited but, the hotel does offer the use of a secure private garage, a few blocks away, which was perfect for us because we had a load of stuff in our car and a motorbike to park. For a short visit this place was perfectly good and I would book the same place again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel is very central, and the location is remarkably quiet. The decor is dated but fairly clean. There is a lift, but, bizarrely, it stops at landings between the floors, so you always have to go up or down a half-flight of stairs with baggage.

The real problem is that the hotel is understaffed. The reception is helpful and pleasant - but is not always manned (sometimes the receptionist helps with meals service when the hotel is full). Service in the restaurant was dreadful - so slow and inattentive that diners were sticking their heads into the kitchen to see if anyone was alive in there. This was a shame, because the food was pretty good.

There is free parking in the square overnight, and daytime pay-parking: or you can rent a garage 5 mins walk away for €5 per day.

There is a spa, but the hotel charges €20 per day for its use. We didn't see anyone use it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursosarctos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
397 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#8 of 13 in Bergerac
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
186 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citotel Verotel
Citotel Verotel
#7 of 13 in Bergerac
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa du Commerce

Property: Hotel Spa du Commerce
Address: 36 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few yards away from the historical town centre, the exhibition centre and the SNCF Train Station Brithotel Spa Restaurant Du Commerce is the ideal place that allows you to discover Bergerac and the Perigord. Its restaurant will awake your culinary senses with its traditional local cuisine and its Spa area is ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spa du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing