We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Bergerac has a lot of hotels and there are a couple next door to this one, which means it has to try quite hard to compete. It does that with competitive prices, friendly service and (presumably) the spa. We didn't sample the latter because there appeared to be an extra charge for it, and men are required to wear Speedos (as is usual in France - why oh why?). Our room was one of the cheaper, non air-conditioned ones, but it was a good size and had a view over Place Gambetta which was nice, if a little noisy. There was a kettle and tea/coffee in our room but only a small number of teabags and coffee sachets were provided, one of each per person, and they weren't replenished on the second day, which seemed mean. As other reviewers have said, the lift is ridiculously small and there are still steps to negotiate when you get out - definitely worth asking if they have any easy-access rooms if you have a lot of luggage or struggle with stairs. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, taking time to tell us how to get to places, etc. The wi-fi is free and worked well. Place Gambetta is a good location, a short walk from the old town but easy to reach by car.

Room Tip: Don't take a room overlooking Place Gambetta if you're bothered about noise, especially if t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bilboburgler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2014

Hello,

First of all thank you so much for giving your opinion. We like to know what our guests thought about their stay in order to improve our services.
We are really happy to hear that you had a nice time.

Regarding the welcome amenities you had in the room, we are sorry you had not enough. But it is a shame you did not ask reception for more, they would have been happy to give you some. Sometimes our room maids forget to refill them.

Anyway we would be very happy to welcome you again.

Kindest regards

Serge, Cécile and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spa du Commerce
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very good hotel in the center of Bergerac, close to walk to Old Town with the statue Bergerac. Two days a week, Wednesday and Saturday it is market outside. It´s not far away for a trip at the river Dordogne, to see the nature and birds. You are also in the middle of a winedidtrict around the castle Monbasillac.
But the new Spa in the hotel was not imposing.

Room Tip: Be careful when you order, if you want Twin beds.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIBS_FOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Hello,

We thank you very much for your coment. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and that you could enjoy Bergerac and surroundings.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest regards

Serge, Cécile and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hey there ,

Wonderful trip in Bergerac last month with the family . We really appreciate the hotel , the staff was friendly and helpful , the hotel is situated in the heart on of Bergerac which is a really good point . I strongly recommended this place .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jluc66Perpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Nous vous remercions très sincèrement pour votre gentil message et d'avoir partagé votre expérience avec les utilisateurs de Trip Advisor. Il est très satisfaisant et motivant pour nous de savoir que vous avez passé un moment agréable parmi nous !
Bien cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

had a 6 night stay with a coach party. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Dinners were very good, breakfasts were fine. Conveniently located in this attracative town. Rooms were clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Anne C ,

We are so glad that your hollidays were thoroughly enjoyable, and we thank you very much for your comment , which one make our effort really concrete. Hope that you took in you suitcase a lot of region memories!!

A big thank you

Serge Cécile and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights with a coach party.
Room was clean and tidy with a safe for our valuables, air-conditioning and free Wifi.
Also tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bottle of wine and water.
Food was good and staff were pleasant and helpful.
Small seating area in reception but used the bar and restaurant area for evening drinks.
Very close to the old part of the town and the local market takes place right outside on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffs-Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Geoffs Angels,

Thank you very much to took the time to share your feelings, and we are so glad to contribute a little to the good progress of your stay. It's an amasing achievement for us.

Friendly,

Serge, Cécile and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

On our way to Alicante we decided to stop off at Bergerac and having not booked anywhere went straight to the Tourism office who were really helpful and surprisingly still open at 18.45 in the evening and I have to say that all the Tourism offices we used in France were just excellent and very helpful. They offered us a number of options in our price bracket and we agreed on the Hotel Du Commerce and they phoned through and booked the room for us.
On arrival at the hotel, they offer us an option of two rooms with or without air conditioning and we took the one with Aircon.
The room was very clean and the bathroom ok with shower gels etc. The lift was not large if you were staying for a number of days and had a lot of luggage but this was not a problem for us as we did not have much and there is parking outside the hotel.
The only downside for us, was that we were asked to pay for our room and breakfast in advance but the receptionist could not explain why!
Breakfast was a buffet and ok. The selection was not great, the usual cold meat, cheese, bread, yogurt, fruit and drinks but no restriction on how much you had.
Bergerac itself is a nice town and on the river and worth more then just a one night stop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Paul R ,
Many thanks to took the time to share your feelings about your stay.
Concerning the only drawback that you quote, it's really important for us to explain our functioning:
when you book a room in our hotel, we need to have a guarantee, that is to say a credit card number, in this way you can pay your room at your check-out.
Yet, if you wouldn't like to pass on your number (what is really understandable), or if you don't own one, we ask you a payment at the check-in, in cash.
This functioning is useful in a lot of hotels ,( airport,train station...) we are sorry that was not clear for you, and we will make sure this kind of situation doesn't happened again.

Many thanks,

Sege Cécile and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel, as it was late on the day and the hotel was recommended by the tourist information office. It was okay but we were pressurised by the receptionist to pay for our room. No real information was given as to why but we were okay with paying ahead of leaving. The room was clean and standard. A flamenco festival was being held on the square outside so there was some noise. Thankfully my husband and I were too tired to care and fell asleep straight away. Breakfast was a buffet and good. A bit expensive for what if offers but suitable for what we needed.

Room Tip: If you have special needs,lease tell on booking. Lift is very small and stops half way between floo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aroperofmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
417 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citotel Verotel
Citotel Verotel
#7 of 13 in Bergerac
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa du Commerce

Address: 36 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range: £48 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few yards away from the historical town centre, the exhibition centre and the SNCF Train Station Brithotel Spa Restaurant Du Commerce is the ideal place that allows you to discover Bergerac and the Perigord. Its restaurant will awake your culinary senses with its traditional local cuisine and its Spa area is ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Spa du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing