We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel From Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel From Hell”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at this hotel expecting more, as we had viewed the hotel on their website before arriving and were suprised that this hotel was nothing like what was portrayed in these adverts.
The bedroom was tired, grubby and definately not 3*. We would never use this hotel again!!!
The food was of a very low standard...we would recommend that guests give this hotel a wide berth and look for better in this pretty town!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for giving your opinion.

We are sorry to hear that our services did not reach your expectations. Our establishment is a family hotel and we try, every day, as hard as possible to make sure our guests are satisfied.

The rooms are all different. Few rooms are refreshed every year but we know that some of them look more "tired" that others. Maybe you could have asked for an other room.

You are talking about a very low standard of food. You certainly mean breakfast because we do not have a restaurant. We made a lot of changes concerning the breakfast in the last few months, and the majority of our customers are very satisfied by the quantity and quality of the buffet.

Regards

Serge, Cécile and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    61
    30
    31
    27
See reviews for
19
94
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here with a coach trip for 6 nights. The staff were very friendly but very few of them. Food was plentiful but vegetables very over cooked.As there was a lovely fruit and vegetable market outside a few days a week I thought we would have had more variety. Some complained of very small rooms, but to be fair ours was fine and so was the bathroom. We had clean towels every day and the room was lovely and clean. We were there on a very hot week and there was a fan which was never switched off and kept us cool at night as long as the windows weren't opened during the day. Double glazing was of very good quality as we heard no traffic noise.This hotel is ideally situated for the town, which is lovely, and plenty of nice walks. Take a lovely trip on the Dordogne to see the wildlife.

Room Tip: Ours was room 205, on the front and quite large compared to others. Remember this is an old hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for giving your opinion. We are really happy to hear that you had a nice stay with the group and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again.

Please know that we will take good note of your coments.

Kindest regards

Serge, Cécile and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Bergerac has a lot of hotels and there are a couple next door to this one, which means it has to try quite hard to compete. It does that with competitive prices, friendly service and (presumably) the spa. We didn't sample the latter because there appeared to be an extra charge for it, and men are required to wear Speedos (as is usual in France - why oh why?). Our room was one of the cheaper, non air-conditioned ones, but it was a good size and had a view over Place Gambetta which was nice, if a little noisy. There was a kettle and tea/coffee in our room but only a small number of teabags and coffee sachets were provided, one of each per person, and they weren't replenished on the second day, which seemed mean. As other reviewers have said, the lift is ridiculously small and there are still steps to negotiate when you get out - definitely worth asking if they have any easy-access rooms if you have a lot of luggage or struggle with stairs. The reception staff were helpful and friendly, taking time to tell us how to get to places, etc. The wi-fi is free and worked well. Place Gambetta is a good location, a short walk from the old town but easy to reach by car.

Room Tip: Don't take a room overlooking Place Gambetta if you're bothered about noise, especially if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilboburgler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 21 October 2014
Hello,

First of all thank you so much for giving your opinion. We like to know what our guests thought about their stay in order to improve our services.
We are really happy to hear that you had a nice time.

Regarding the welcome amenities you had in the room, we are sorry you had not enough. But it is a shame you did not ask reception for more, they would have been happy to give you some. Sometimes our room maids forget to refill them.

Anyway we would be very happy to welcome you again.

Kindest regards

Serge, Cécile and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very good hotel in the center of Bergerac, close to walk to Old Town with the statue Bergerac. Two days a week, Wednesday and Saturday it is market outside. It´s not far away for a trip at the river Dordogne, to see the nature and birds. You are also in the middle of a winedidtrict around the castle Monbasillac.
But the new Spa in the hotel was not imposing.

Room Tip: Be careful when you order, if you want Twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIBS_FOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 19 October 2014
Hello,

We thank you very much for your coment. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and that you could enjoy Bergerac and surroundings.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kindest regards

Serge, Cécile and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perpignan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hey there ,

Wonderful trip in Bergerac last month with the family . We really appreciate the hotel , the staff was friendly and helpful , the hotel is situated in the heart on of Bergerac which is a really good point . I strongly recommended this place .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jluc66Perpignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Gérant at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Nous vous remercions très sincèrement pour votre gentil message et d'avoir partagé votre expérience avec les utilisateurs de Trip Advisor. Il est très satisfaisant et motivant pour nous de savoir que vous avez passé un moment agréable parmi nous !
Bien cordialement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

had a 6 night stay with a coach party. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Dinners were very good, breakfasts were fine. Conveniently located in this attracative town. Rooms were clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Anne C ,

We are so glad that your hollidays were thoroughly enjoyable, and we thank you very much for your comment , which one make our effort really concrete. Hope that you took in you suitcase a lot of region memories!!

A big thank you

Serge Cécile and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights with a coach party.
Room was clean and tidy with a safe for our valuables, air-conditioning and free Wifi.
Also tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary bottle of wine and water.
Food was good and staff were pleasant and helpful.
Small seating area in reception but used the bar and restaurant area for evening drinks.
Very close to the old part of the town and the local market takes place right outside on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffs-Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serge24100, Propriétaire at Hotel Spa du Commerce, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear Geoffs Angels,

Thank you very much to took the time to share your feelings, and we are so glad to contribute a little to the good progress of your stay. It's an amasing achievement for us.

Friendly,

Serge, Cécile and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
405 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
187 reviews
1.5 mi away
Citotel Verotel
Citotel Verotel
#8 of 13 in Bergerac
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa du Commerce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa du Commerce

Property: Hotel Spa du Commerce
Address: 36 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa du Commerce 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few yards away from the historical town centre, the exhibition centre and the SNCF Train Station Brithotel Spa Restaurant Du Commerce is the ideal place that allows you to discover Bergerac and the Perigord. Its restaurant will awake your culinary senses with its traditional local cuisine and its Spa area is ideal for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spa du Commerce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing