We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for young children / toddlers”
other travellers have booked this property
Heated Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated Swimming Pool
Kitchen and dining room View of house towards gardens and Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Heated Swimming Pool
Kitchen and dining room
View of house towards gardens and Terrace
Children's play area and picnic bench in shade.
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Large open gallery, with reading area, tv area and play area for the children.
11 metre Kitchen and dining Room
Beautiful scenary, one of the many famous Bergerac vineyards in the area.
Double upstairs bedroom with ensuite
Double downstairs bedroom with ensuite
Upstairs reading space overlooking gardens
Space upstairs for relaxing, with Tv/DVD playar
Double upstairs bedroom with ensuite
Outside dining, with gas BBQ
Outside longe area,
Dimitri the chefs. Fantastic food that is an option for a special occasion
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
renford
Winchester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for young children / toddlers”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed with 4 toddlers and one baby for a week here, and it's clear Brian & Tracy have put a lot of thoughts into keeping toddlers safe in this gite. The garden is brilliant for little ones, plenty of shade, lots to do - trampoline (a favourite), sand pit, swing, slides, tractors to ride on, seesaw... especially loved the tree house. The pool is completely gated so children can't just fall in. All the toys and books in the world you would need for the week all there! Some children's plates / cutlery / cups & 3 high chairs. On site cots & child's bed all came in handy.

Drove to nearby St Emilion for the day (35 mins) which was lovely - great views, cobbled streets, lots of browsing. Fitted in a vineyard tour with a fluent English speaking guide, rosé chilled to perfection, quite a memorable drink! Worth the drive (1 hour 20 mins) to Brantome - very beautiful, and lunch at the Abbey De Moulin a highlight. If we had more time would have loved a canoe ride there but could not fit it in around child's routine. Likewise enjoyed a day out in Perigueax (if you like historical buildings and long lunches in pretty squares). The local lake was a little disappointing - only because they were doing lots of renovation work and hence not very relaxing but once they have finished it will be a nice little morning or afternoon out.

Dinner on the terrace back at the gite was a nightly treat. We had catering for one night - would recommend it if just for the no cooking no washing up option as dining out was not an option for us with the kids tucked up in bed.

There is also a resident pony who loves company, our children loved feeding him carrots. The WIFI is a little intermittent, so casual use is adequate, not really reliable enough for business use. The rooms can get very hot but there are fans, it might also be worth considering installing air conditioning as we were not there during the hottest months and it was hard to get to sleep at times. Leaving windows open was an option but the smell of the septic tank was strong at times.

Overall the positives far out weigh the few niggly negatives for us here. A great time was had by all. Tracy & Brian are very welcoming hosts who do their utmost to make sure your stay is as lovely as possible. Thank you for a wonderful time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kid's facilities
Liked least: Smell of the septic tank
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you all enjoyed your stay here at Le Peyrat. So sorry you had a problem with the internet, but thank you for your advice while you was here, a technician has been and rectified the problem on the lline.It is very important to us our guests enjoy every aspect of their holiday and encourage guests to advice us of any problems during their stay. I'm sorry you had unpleasant odours from the septic tank, this could have easily been rectified if we had been told. Thanks once again for your comments they are appreciated and help us make future guests stay with us more enjoyable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranIRL
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A gem in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Recently returned from a one week stay in Le Peyrat with extended family. 8 adults and 6 small kids! We all wish we had a 2nd week. A fantastic property. Especially the gardens and pool. Tracy and Brian are great hosts. We had very nice weather all week so were outside throughout. So much for our kids to do between treehouse, trampoline, sandpit, pool, toys and games. Less minding for the grown ups! All the mod cons you need in the house and its in excellent condition throughout. Walking distance to a small village and short drive to a larger town. Its also in an ideal location to explore the region. This property has only 5 star reviews for a reason. Book with confidence.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gardens
Liked least: Creaky floors upstairs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you for writing your kind review, I'm pleased to read Le Peyrat was enjoyed so much by you all. We love to hear our guests enjoyed their stay, thank you for choosing our holiday home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eeyore77B...
bristol
1 review
“Fabulous family property in Glorious surroundings”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a fantastic holiday at this lovely villa. There were 3 generations of us celebrating a very special, landmark year for the family. Le Peyrat was delightful. It had everything we needed for each of us - from our little grandchildren to our 20 & 30 + year old's, to our 60 + selves. The garden was perfect - lots of room and equipment to play on, relaxing and eating spaces and a beautiful pool. We took advantage of the offer to have our celebration meals cooked at the villa by local chef D'mitri and it was a good decision as the food was delicious and met our complex needs. It was no more expensive than taking us all to a restaurant and much more fun. Round about there was lots to do and see and great walks from the door. Tracy and Brian our hosts were really warm welcoming and friendly and very helpful. Though totally discreet. Many thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and Pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam H
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful tranquility”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in August 2013

My extended family and I spent a week at Le Peyrat and what a fantastic experience! Such a peaceful place, large garden for our children to run around, great pool for everyone to have fun in, wonderful converted barn with all the amenities that a family needs to enjoy a break from it all. Tracy was a fantastic host and organised a wonderful meal with a local chef (well worth it). Le Peyrat is just far enough from anything to enjoy the peace and quiet but a 5 minute drive or even a two minute walk into the village will provide you with your daily croissants and bread! Thank you Tracy and thank you Le Peyrat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: We didn't book for longer
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your celebratory holiday here at Le Peyrat with your family. It was important to us you enjoyed your time here. It's good to know we got it right.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just returned from a one week stay at Le Peyrat and all of the positive comments that I read beforehand were true.

We arrived at the end of March / first week of April and whilst we did not expect to have nice weather we were pleasantly surprised. Most of the time the temperature hovered around the 20c mark and we only had one day of rain. The pool is heated so we were very happy that we had the opportunity to use it. There is also a swimming lake 5mins drive away that has a lovely sandy beach. Because we were travelling out of the high season we had the beach to ourselves which was great. We also made the most of travelling throughout the Dordogne region going to all of the various sites which were not yet overrun with tourists.

Le Peyrat is very spacious and is set in lovely quiet grounds with lots of fun activities for kids and adults alike. There are many toys, board games and various games equipment are provided (badminton rackets, footballs..etc) We made great use out of the Boule court and we were getting quite competitive at the end. My 3 year old daughter loved the treehouse and I’m now working out how I can build something similar in my own garden.

I echo what others have said on here, Tracy and Brian are very warm and friendly and on-hand to assist with anything that you need.

I absolutely recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside Space
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2014
Thank you for your great review, it was lovely to see you enjoyed the house and area in early spring as much you did.. Your suggestion for lights at the boules court was a good idea and we will be adding them in 2015. All ideas to make our future guests holiday experience more enjoyable are greatly appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannahban...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our stay at Le Peyrat was so lovely that we stayed on for an extra week. Tracy and Brian are friendly and welcoming and the house is beautiful. It has everything that is needed, we have 2 young children and the toys and child's bedroom made our 3 year old very happy. All the baby equipment provided made packing so much easier. We have stayed in several properties in this region of France and this was by far the best for being child friendly. The pool is lovely and warm even our 6 month old enjoyed it! The garden is so nice with plenty of seating areas for dining outside. We had one rainy but warm week and one sunny and hot week, the property was perfect whatever the weather as there is so much space inside for relaxing and the separate kids play area is great. We are definitely planning to return to Le Peyrat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How child friendly the property is.
Liked least: There wasn't anything to dislike.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you for your positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed the house and area so much you chose to stay another week. Look forward to your next visit !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pupumann0
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location for touring Dordogne/Aquitaine”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A convenient place to tour the Dordogne, St Emillion, Bergerac, Bordeaux and environs yet in a quiet country location AND easily accessible from the motorway. Has all the mod cons a modern Gite should offer including free wifi, heated swimming pool (lit at night), washing facilities, TV/DVD/Satellite/ CD player, well fitted kitchen, 6 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms /downstairs loo under the stairs ! Separate BBQing etc (we didnt have children in our group but there was facilities such as with trampolining, boules area, pool toys, and ample garden space) also good outside dining spaces – Tracey and Bryan are at hand to welcome you (with welcome basket of essentials) and are on site next door to sort out any issues if they arise – they have done a good job! Tastefully decorated throughout ! Nearby supermarkets in Monpon ten mins by car!

From here tour the middle and upper reaches of the Dordorgne, south and east to Bergerac to eat and rink ! South to Eymet and Issigeac with their medieval houses and as far east as the caves at Lascaux (don’t forget to buy tickets in the village of Montignac), the Napolean Museum, Rouffignac caves, the Dunes at Arachon/Bordeaux – Vieux/old Bordeaux, gardens at Velines, amazing Roman ruins at Moncarnet, and endless opportunites for wine tasting and Chateaux ! My personal favourite is the wine by a local small farmer at Plaisance (Patrick Mazamet) between Issigeac and Eymet (first right in Plaisance after cross roads coming from Issigeac – if you get lost ask at the cross roads Brocant). Also recommended are the paper mills of Couze et St Front and the church of St Front high on the river bank above Couze near La Lindes for lovely Dordogne views – also the Abbey and Cloisters in Cadouin. We also walked several times at the Lake near St Martin du Gurson ! Enjoy :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great self catering experience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a in depth review I'm sure our future guests will find it very informative. It was great to meet you all and I appreciate your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing