We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Carol C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Once again we had a lovely stay at the Campagnac villa. Immaculate as always, comfortable and an eye to detail, Paul ensured that our stay could only be the best. The pool was a big attraction, but the rural beauty of the place just made it. We took it easy and only visited a couple of child friendly chateaux which were superb. Our thanks to Paul and his partner - much appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Paul is very personable and really made sure we were comfortable. And the pool of course . .
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“isolated villa”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The villa is certainly in beautiful, rolling countryside but far more isolated than the overview or previous reviewers would indicate. Bergerac is a 40 min drive away and Villenblard, the nearest village, has only a baker and butcher and is a good ten minute drive. Villenblard's only cafe ( a takeaway Pizza ), was closed throughout our two week stay. We arrived on a Monday evening in August, expecting to eat locally, but shops, supermarkets and cafes were all closed. First impressions of the villa were generally pleasing and it is spacious and well set out, but it is undoubtedly in need of an upgrade. Indeed we had to purchase throws to be able to sit on the grubby settee. It just needed recovering. The villa does have all facilities described, albeit well worn and we welcomed left over condiments and sundry items in the kitchen as well as the welcome bottle of wine from Paul. The pool is lovely and well cared for on a daily basis, but we were disappointed that the circumference lights were not working. Patio seating was also well worn although there were two nice recliners. The grounds are lovely within a woodland setting but I would not describe the access approach as a small lane winding up through the valley. It is a 600m, steep, dirt track, hardly bigger than the width of my car and unpleasant to negotiate. Paul's directions to the property were essential because the location neither appears on a map or sat nav. We ( six adults), took a taxi to the acclaimed Le Lion Dor restaurant in Manzac-Sur-Vern to enjoy a lovely set meal at only 20 euros per head. The taxi cost 130 euros and was 45 mins late arriving because he too, could not find the villa.
If you want a holiday away from everyone, barbecuing and swimming with the children , this villa may be for you once it has been upgraded. If like us, you enjoy pottering in small towns, watching the world go by from little French cafes, then it perhaps is not. This said, it was always nice to return to at the end of a hot day visiting the wonderful Dordogne region. Finally, we ordered bicycles from a super company in Bergerac but they are totally unsuitable for the very busy main road at the base of the wooded track and for the track itself. We cancelled them. Disappointing and I regret we cannot recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool and patio
Liked least: isolation
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
We take account of all our guests comments and I regret that you found the location of the villa was too isolated for your holiday, it is in the countryside and very peaceful but not as remote as you describe.

The local village of Villamblard is 2km away (a 5 minute drive) and has a grocery store, baker, butcher, post office and bank, plus small market on Monday morning. The cafe restaurant there serves meals as does another restaurant in the next village of Issac, 5 minutes in the opposite direction. A lot of restaurants are closed on Monday and as you arrived late in the evening the shops and supermarkets were closed (8PM closing).

The lane to the villa is a single track tarmac road, not a dirt track, and the market town of Mussidan with supermarkets, shops and tourist office is 13km away along the main road, which I would not describe as busy. Bergerac is a maximum 30 minute drive (20km). The property appears on some sat nav systems, but not all, it is also on Google maps with street view.

The Lion d'Or restaurant is a 15 minute drive, but taking a taxi after 7PM (when night tariffs apply) can be expensive and especially so if you asked the taxi to wait.

The villa is continually being improved (example: new large flat screen television in 2015, new double bed for next season, etc.) and the kitchen is purposely left with tea, coffee, sugar, milk and condiments for cooking, these are not 'left over'.

I feel that you chose an out of town countryside property when you would have preferred somewhere within walking distance to bars, restaurants and cafes, perhaps this tainted your view of the villa. In any event as I have said we do take onboard your comments, the poolside lighting has been repaired and the patio chairs replaced.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol C
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, tastefully furnished, stunning surrounds with an inviting swimming pool!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We could not fault this cottage. Everything had been thought of and provided, and the comfort of the cottage only contributed to what proved to be a wonderful holiday. We are deeply grateful to Paul who was so welcoming and could not do enough to make our stay a pleasurable one. If i have anything to do with it, we WILL be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cottage - and the children LOVED the pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2013
It is always very nice to have returning guests who have enjoyed their stay at the villa and their visit to the Dordogne. It is proof enough that we must being doing something right!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Somerset
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belgium
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing