We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'
Ranked #6 of 23 Bergerac B&B and Inns
Modesto
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for three days recently and enjoyed the hotel, after the initial shaking start. There was no one around when we arrived, (except a very friendly dog), but Annemarie finally turned up, explaining that a large party had left late and she was behind getting things set up. (This was about 4 p.m.) The hotel is 5-10 minutes by car from downtown, which is fine, so we went downtown for a while and returned. There seemed to be confusion with two other guests that evening as well, but by morning things had been sorted out and the rest of the stay was fine. Our room was large and finished with a mixture of antiques and modern pieces, the shower was one of the best on our trip and our view was of the large meadow behind the chateau where we saw a family of deer feeding each evening and morning. Wifi was available, but had some trouble getting through the thick walls, but worked most of the time! There is no air conditioning, but the owner found a fan to help with a breeze and that made things more comfortable for we Californians who are used to air conditioning everywhere. Breakfast was fresh and wonderful and we met several nice couples at breakfast each day. Our hostess was great about suggesting possible places to go. One note to Americans with credit cards -- if you do not have the pin and chip cards, you need to be prepared to pay cash. None of our cards would work - the chateau does not have "swipe" credit card machine, so we had to come up with cash at checkout. Annemarie was very concerned and tried several methods to help out - even calling Booking.com to see if we could pay through them, but in the end we had enough cash. This happened at several hotels in France this trip, not just here, and it is getting to be a problem for Americans traveling aboard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cquitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We spent three days at the Chateau Les Farcies du Pech' in May and we could not have been more delighted with our stay. The chatelaine came out to greet us as our car pulled in to the entrance courtyard and led us up ancient stairs to our suite on the first floor. Our private foyer was furnished with a massive armoire and lovely bench on which to put our luggage as well as a French window overlooking the garden and courtyard. The bedroom, overlooking a small green meadow, was decorated in an elegant, comfortable style which combined antique furniture, modern painting and soothing, creamy colors for maximum relaxation. The large bathroom was modern and well appointed with lots of natural light from a high window. Wifi was available and there was a pleasant sitting area in the spacious first floor hall. Breakfast was served on Hermes porcelaine (!!) at the large, rustic table in the ancient kitchen of the chateau. Massive fireplace, but of course. Delicious, fresh country breads and pastries, organic yogurt, home-made jams and good strong coffee were provided by la chatelaine, who was also adept at making pleasant conversation amongst strangers at a delicate hour of the morning. Outside the chateau walls there were country lanes and local vineyards to explore on foot or by car and the town of Bergerac is only five minutes away. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Let the chatelaine choose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farstar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here when attending a friends wedding.

- Location: Outskirts of Bergerac and approx. 20 min walk to the centre.

- Atmosphere: Nice, quiet and relaxing

- Room: Beautiful furniture and fantastic view onto the gardens at the back, complete with resident deer.

- Breakfast: Fresh orange, coffees, yoghurt and pastries

Purchase some of the wine to take home with you, it’s a must.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_NW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxmoor
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

John greeted us as we arrived from Bordeaux, he introduced us to Anne Marie, both were absolutely charming, our rooms which were lovely with all amenities, fabulous bedroom and bathroom, the bed was made with wonderful crisp sheets, lovely linen and everyting was spotlessly clean.
We tasted the "Perchamont" wine which was lovely and we purchased a couple of bottles to enjoy later in our trip, onto "Les Milandes".
Anne Marie arranged for a taxi to take us to a favourite restaurant of ours, nearby, nothing was any problem.
We all slept very well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice. We are going to put this place on our stop over list for every time we are in the area and will stay for a couple of nights or more next time.
We would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending "Chateau Les Farcies du Pech"

Room Tip: We saw two rooms and both were lovely, spacious and so clean, lovely owners and great breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhizostoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'

Property: Chateau Les Farcies du Pech'
Address: Lieu Dit les Farcies | Pecharmant, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Les Farcies du Pech' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing