We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a stopover”
Review of Hotel de Bordeaux

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Bordeaux
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were slightly concerned when we arrived at the hotel, some of the letters were missing from the sign outside followed by a notice on the reception desk stating payment in cash only. However, things started to look up, a friendly receptionist and a nice room at the back of the hotel avoiding any street noise. Hotel is conveniently located near the centre of Bergerac with street parking available in addition to the hotel's secure car park. Bergerac is a lovely town with a variety of restaurants and bars. We enjoyed our short stay and the Hotel Bordeaux was a good choice despite our initial misgivings.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to avoid any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilMunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbordeaux, Propriétaire at Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are pleased that our guests leave comments about hotel, many thanks!
As you wrote, the sign outside is broken because of a storm 2 months ago, the new one will finally arrive at the end of September!
The credit card terminal was out of order during the week end, unlikely for us and our guests and so we had to wait until tuesday to get it fixed. As we explained on check in and on the note at the reception, the only way to pay for french was cash or cheque, and english or other countries by cash.

We are very sorry for all the inconvenients but sometimes we can't find better solutions!

We hope you had a nice stay with us!

Best regards,

Alexandra Manant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Bergerac, France. Initially we were not impressed with the hotel due to first impressions. Some of the neon lettering of the hotel name on the front of the building were not lit up but found out that they were hit by a storm and are waiting for their insurance claim to be sorted. Also our room was not very clean. We were told that it was due to a new cleaner not doing her job properley and it was sorted within around 5 minutes. They were our only gripes. The service we received was very good. The staff and owners of the hotel were very friendly and could not do enough for us. It is a very nice hotel with nice pleasant rooms and public areas. Not noisy and in a good location to pop down to the shops and the old part of Bergerac.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavaflow1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

We are very pleased you enjoy your stay with us, we are looking forward to meet you another Time!

Best regards,

Alexandra Manant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spent 6 nights at the Hotel du Bordeaux and really enjoyed our stay. Good location only 10 minutes walk from the train station and into the old town. Despite central location was very quiet so no problem from traffic noise. Rooms very clean if a little basic. Great to have a pool which would have liked to have made more use of with better weather.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petera169462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavaflow1, Propriétaire at Hotel de Bordeaux, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are so happy when our guests enjoy their stay!
WE hope to see you again,

Best regards,

Alexandra Manant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was a good value but there were some problems -- poor WiFi in the rooms; rooms are small and the bed was a smaller ( and kept getting smaller as the night went on ); and the elevator would only work with one person and some luggage. With a second person it refused to budge but thankfully we were only on the 2nd floor. Some good things though - the reception clerk was friendly and very helpful; the swimming pool was an unexpected bonus; the private parking lot was convenient.

Room Tip: the lower floors are better -- see comment on elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel was in a reasonably good location around 10 minutes walk to the centre. Room was not overly big but clean as was the shower room. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was a good selection of foods for breakfast. However, the bar had a very restricted selection. But overall thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a lovely little hotel minutes walk away from the old town and with good access to the town centre and a short drive/taxi to Bergerac Airport (10-15 euros) and train station (less, can't remember how much). We got caught up in train problems due the recent Paris derailment and the storms in the Southwest which prevented us getting back to Paris as planned. Fortunately we came across this little hotel. The breakfast buffet offered very good coffee, boiled eggs, yogurt, cold meat and cheeses, bread and pastries, juices and cereals and was included in the room rate. We ate outside on the terrace near the swimming pool. There are loads of good cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance of this hotel so the fact that it did not have a restaurant was not an issue at all. We didn't use the swimming pool so can't comment on that but it was a lovely setting for it. We sat out on the terrace to use the free wifi after check-out (which was a very generous 12 p.m.) until we needed to leave to catch our flight. The staff were very helpful and there was lift access to higher floors. Our room was basic but clean and comfortable with private shower room and air conditioning (it was 40-45C outside!). The beds were low to the ground and a tad on the firm side though comfortable enough. There was a bit of road noise and you can clearly hear the comings and goings within the town centre late at night and in the early morning so if you're a light sleeper, maybe not for you. We slept great though. There is a small bar for drinks which was handy for taking things back to your room for overnight but again there is so much nearby you don't spend much time in the hotel anyway! Very reasonable price for a night's stay and breakfast but totally depends on what you're looking for, no complaints from us (Mom and two daughters 10 and 14 in triple room).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YankeeMama_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

First the positives. Staff were very helpful, rate was reasonable I guess for Bergerac which is a bit if a tourist trap ( 75 euro not including breakfast for one person in double room at last minute) Car parking on the street was pretty easy, less than 10 mins from old town. Stayed on Friday so on Saturday morning the market was right outside which was excellent. Negatives - outside looks a bit depressed ( some of the neon lettering is not working so its a bit of a puzzle to spot) , the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied from the previous guest, toilet needed a bit of DIY maintenance to stop continuous flushing. I would give it 3.5 if I could and would stay again as the alternatives in Bergerac at that price look a bit limited.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank MikeR852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
218 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
285 reviews
5.8 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
194 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Bordeaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Bordeaux

Address: 38 Place Gambetta | Centre Ville, 24100, Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range: £60 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Bordeaux 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de Bordeaux in Bergerac in Dordogne offers you 40 redecorated rooms, all with air conditionning.Free Wifi access is available from your room and in all the public areas.Our professionnal and dynamic team will be happy to help you and advise you to make your stay easier. In the summer our guest will enjoy a relaxing moment in our back garden, and in the warm days you be able to make a swim in our outside swimming pool. We are only a few steps from the historical city center and all the local restaurants. Please ask reception for any advise. We're in the city center of bergerac, so you will have eveything near the hotel. (shopping, museum, wine shops and restaurants) At night reception close at 10pm and after that you will have to use the digicode to get in the hotel. So please for any late ckeck in, call the hotel before to get the access code. For car parking, you have a paying public car park just in front of the hotel or if you prefer, we have a privat car park with limited spaces, it's better to book it with your room and it will cost per night. Please note the car park is closed during night time, so no access to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Bordeaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Bordeaux Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing