We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, cheap, good location”

Hotel Le Saint Louis
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bergerac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Le Saint Louis
Ranked #18 of 23 Bergerac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a typical small town hotel, above a bar tabac. The room was very clean, light, and, well, felt quite cosy. Not large, but had character enough. Similarly with the bathroom. I share other reviewers ambivalence about this hotel - it's cute and for the price a good option. Much better feel and character than a standard chain hotel, but could do with some pretty basic maintenance. Keys are fiddly and get stuck in the lock, bed light and bathroom lights didn't work, excellent shower head but it's hook was missing. WiFi was excellent, once it worked. The owners maintained it worked even though I demonstrated to them there was an internet connection issue - and suggested it was a modem problem. I used the cafe up the road's the first day, and only when they saw me the next day (late) did they bother to tell me that 'ahem, yes, wifi was now fixed'. In keeping with French service, they hadn't bothered to let me know earlier.
It's noisy first thing in the morning, as the bar is set up, but quiet at night. Great location - 2 mins walk to old town, and with patisserie, coffee shop and little supermarket (Casino) within 100 metres. As such I didn't bother about having breakfast on site. Be warned that it isn't offered anyway on a Sunday, but one of the patisseries is open then and Le Bureau brasserie is open for coffees, etc.
Not too far from the train station - walking distance about 5-10 mins maximum. And yes, the hotel kept my bags after I checked out- which was good - but they were put down in the basement, so when I wanted to collect them, the big man pointed down some steep steps to where my heavy bags were. No offer to help me, a woman already carrying 2 bags! I'd stay again, however, and put up with the nuisance value if only for a couple of days. But really, why the owners/managers don't invest some time and a little money and make this place very good, I don't know. Oh, and change the attitude and think about SERVICE!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gypsychristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in Bergerac because we couldn't find accommodation in Bordeaux. We had to get the train there but they were frequent and quick considering and there was a great stop off at St Emilion on the way!

The hotel itself is great. It does not boast lots of facilities but it is clean, comfortable and the owners are fab! They don't speak much English but they try hard and they were really helpful with providing us with information about the area, organising bikes for us and getting us to try the local wine. Overall it was great value for money and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Ok, this is going to be a hard review to get right. The hotel is not swanky, there's no swimming pool or room service, and if you had a cat to swing in the room it would have to be a very small cat indeed. The pillows are awfull and theres no aircon. But......we loved it. There are a lot more better looking hotels in Bergerac but there is something about this one that just makes you love it. Its above a typical french bar for starters. Go in anytime and you are surrounded by locals who greet you with a nonplussed smile.
Its simply a slice of french life. The owners don't speak any english whatsoever....which I know might sound bad but it was just...refreshing. They were both really welcoming and made you smile everytime you met them. Its not for everyone, if you like a posh place don't go. If you want pampering dont go. But if you really want to be in France....give it a try. It won't kill you and its got great showers. Never had the breakfast so can't comment on that. We paid 45 euros a night which was steep for what we normally pay on our travells but quite cheap for Bergerac. We would stay there again....and probably will.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrischardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: On a eu une chambre qui donne sur la rue, avec deux types de volets plus le double vitrage, le chauf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MsSmith201108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
2.6 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#8 of 13 in Bergerac
208 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
287 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Domaine de Bellevue Cottage - chambre d'hotes bnb, cabane dans les arbres, gite a Bergerac
2.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Saint Louis

Address: 31 rue Sainte Catherine, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bergerac
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing