We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“David in France” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“David in France”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This was a pleasant little Hotel. Like most french holels in this price range the furnishings were a bit on the dark side but it was clean. We arrived on a sunny day in the afternoon and were able to use the small pool. The hotel is right in the middle of the city, so close to shops, places of interest and restaurants. The staff were very helpful. The hotel can provide secure parking which is about 12 euros. However, we parked right outside for a couple of euros. If the spaces right outside are taken there is a large car park 5 metres away - yes 5 metres. So no problem parking. Bergarac is a beautyful city and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    70
    26
    4
    9
See reviews for
20
87
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hotel was fine. Nice lobby. Breakfast not as varied as some, but adequate to start the day, fresh orange juice included.
Hotel had a good variety of customers. There was a group of tandem cyclists from the USA staying when we were there. Good atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff.
We had room at front of hotel.Found not a problem sleeping as double glazing and also steel roller shutter stopped any noise.Our balacony where you could sit out, faced the tree lined road and the open air market, which provided some interest, and a bit of fresh air
The toilet was separated from the bathroom.Seemed a bit old fashioned not to have them combined.
The hotel was convenient both for the old town which had plenty of restaurants and also the railway station (about 10 minutes walk).
We went to Au Bureau a brasserie on Rue de La Resistance. Open air seating here if youe wished, or a good restaurant and bar inside.Good hot food and beers.We went twice.
I can also recommend Le Comptoir Brasserie in the old town (rue du Colonel de Chadois). Nicely presented and tasty food here.

We did not have a car so used the train to go to Sarlat (a must) and Bordeaux, the main city of the area. Nice to see all those vineyards from the train windows.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElderleyMalePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

The lobby was the best part of the place. Stair climbing practice with bags before you leave home is a must. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The rooms are small and you need a sense of humor in the morning when you find you can't close the toilet door because there isn't enough room for your feet. The staff are quite pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed here for three nights to visit Bergerac and the region. The hotel is clean, bright, nicely decorated, the service is excellent and the breakfast is a perfect french breakfast -with freshly squeezed orange juice (with no extra charge - watch out for a suppliment in some french hotels for fresh orange juice). We felt really looked after and welcome.
Parking - usually easy in place gambetta but may be more tricky in high season - parking is free on sundays and after 5 on other days - but the parking is restricted on market days - parking in the hotel garage is limited and more expensive
you are a two minute stroll from the centre of town
the photo of this hotel on trip advisor is wrong - it is much nicer looking!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

I spent a night here on the first day of my holiday to the Dordogne.

The hotel is clean and has the facilities needed for a leisure or business stay.

The pool area is attractive.

Parking should be straightforwards using the Place de Gambetta carpark or on road spaces opposite the hotel.
Place de Gambetta parking should not be used on a Weds/Sat because of the market
Covered parking may be available too at the hotel

Didn't take breakfast, but there was the usual continental buffet type selection available - seemed quite pricey for what it was though and you may prefer to buy from local cafes or boulangeries

Bergerac is an interesting town, contrasting the touristy old town area with the more modern commercial local centre. Market days (Weds & Sat) are worth visiting for, when the town is much busier.

In summary, if you want to spend a night or two in a town centre location, then this is a good choice to make.
Service was friendly and helpful


(One point to note, the picture of the hotel exterior currently attached to Tripadvisor for this hotel is not for Hotel de France, Bergerac - however the pictures of the pool are correct)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinkyPoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

I'd endorse everything written by the last reviewer entitled 'Tries very hard'. The room I had at the back overlooking the pool was very clean and comfortable, although quite small. The lack of air-con in the back rooms (the quiet rooms) might be a problem in high summer but it was fine on the night I stayed. When next in Bergerac I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonshireantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

First the bad news. This hotel has no lift, no bar to speak of and no mirror in the bedroom.
However, the manager will carry your bags up for you to the room and there is a great bar-Le Tampico- nearby.
Breakfast is basic continental
The front rooms have air-con and a balcony, but overlook the car park which can make it nouisy, especially on the two xdays that a market is held on the car park
We were in a rear room overlooking the swimming pool(no air-con). It was bright, airy, clean and had a shower, but no bath. We were woken by the chimes of the church clock at 0700 hours. There are worse ways to be woken up!
The manager was very helpful. He recommended 3 very different restaurants and will book a table for you. He also helped explain my french grammar questions!
The hotel is situated between the railway station and the old town, which suited us fine.
I think it got its 3 stars because of the pool, but on balance, I have given it 4 "Trip Advisor" points because we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.2 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.4 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kyriad Bergerac
Kyriad Bergerac
#9 of 13 in Bergerac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Bergerac
Ibis Budget Bergerac
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 18 Place Gambetta, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the old town of Bergerac, lies the Hotel de France with a warm and friendly welcome for its guests. The hotel has 20 bedrooms, 10 with balcony facing into the old square of Place Gambetta, 10 further rooms with views on the courtyard garden and swimming-pool. The rooms are comfortably equipped to satisfy your business as well as your leisure stay: double glazing, air-conditioning, LCD TV, hair dryer, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, phone and alarm clock service…A buffet breakfast is available and can also be served in your room or by the swimming-pool in fine weather. Drinks can be served at all times. Secure private garage – limited spaces. Please book with reservation so that you are not disappointed. Place Gambetta and its 100 places also offers parking.The Hotel de France is at your entire disposal to satisfy your wishes and make your stay with us more enjoyable.TourismBergerac, the capital of the Dordogne, invites you to discover the old town, museums, French markets, its legendary cuisine (foie gras) and its famous wines (Monbazillac Pécharmant ...).The "Valley of a Thousand Castles" leads you to discover its extraordinary heritage: barge trips on the Dordogne river, fascinating medieval architecture, immortal literary authors, world famous archaeological sites and unforgettable French gardens ... all contribute to a perfect change of scenery. In order to make our guests’ stay memorable, we will advise on your itinerary and recommended restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing