We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing-didn't want to leave!”
Review of Le Clos d'Argenson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos d'Argenson
Ranked #2 of 23 Bergerac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing-didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We have just left after a wonderful 5 nights with fantastic hosts Pascal and Laurence. We travelled with our two children aged 3&6 and were made to feel like part of the family-nothing was a problem. The huge suite was perfect-we were in one room and the children in their own beds in the other room. Gorgeous big shower. Breakfast was delicious, home made cake & jams, such fresh croissants and bread, fruit, cheese. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful - with routes, things to do, booking a restaurant for us-Pascal even coming out on his bike to show us to the restaurant as we couldn't find it! We didn't use the swimming pool as the weather hasn't been great but it looked lovely. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast and wine in the evening was a delight. The location is perfect, allowing us to walk everywhere. We will definitely be back to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reddy22_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear "little family",
We thank very much for your sweet review !
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay our guest house.
We are trying to do a nice and pleasant abode.
We will receive you again, with pleasure.
Best wishes
Pascal and Laurence
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
91
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife & I have just spent Easter at Le Clos d'Argenson. We normally stay in good hotels when we travel, so a French guesthouse was a new experience for us. We saw the reviews in TripAdvisor & booked Le Clos for 3 nights. In pre-arrival correspondence, the proprietors seemed very helpful & offered to meet us at the airport on arrival without charge. We were duly met by Laurence & driven by her to the lovely, large townhouse that she & partner Pascal own & run. Pascal & Laurence are a charming, friendly, welcoming, efficient, helpful & knowledgeable couple. They went out of their way to ensure that every detail of our stay was to our complete satisfaction. We had the suite at the rear of the house on the second floor. This comprised a spacious sitting room with en suite shower & double handbasin room, connecting to a perfectly adequately sized double bedroom with en suite toilet & separate washroom. The suite was beautifully appointed with a mixture of old fittings & artifacts with a few modern touches. The large bed was very comfortable with high quality linen & pillows. The whole, very spacious house, which is open to guests throughout their stay, is a delight. There is a wonderful marble spiral staircase, with a spacious lounge overlooking the square outside, a room with a billiards table, a lovely dining room overlooking the attractive, spacious garden with its fair-sized swimming pool, & a small well-equipped kitchen, complete with fridge containing white wine for the guests to enjoy without charge. Whenever we appeared in the morning (there is no question of set times for breakfast), the dining room table would be laid for us with a good selection of cereals, local breads & croissants, home made cake, cheeses, conserves, orange juice, yogurts, fresh fruit, etc. Once seated, Pascal would appear & make us delicious fresh coffee. Our rooms were serviced to a high standard whilst we were out during the day. The guesthouse is ideally situated for sightseeing in the old Medieval town which is delightful. There are a number of fine restaurants within easy walking distance & Pascal & Laurence are very happy to make recommendations & reservations for guests. We opted to take up the option for our hosts to prepare dinner for us on Saturday night & they duly prepared a delicious three course meal with included drinks, which we took with them & their charming son, all for a very reasonable cost. All in all, our long weekend could not have been bettered. I cannot recommend this establishment too highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBA33, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Mrs and Mr,
We thank you that you took your time to write a so nice review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our guest house.
It was a pleasure, in first, to have met you at your arrival at the Bergerac airport, and driven across the town, and told about it.
We wish that the suites are comfortable and pleasant, that you spend time during the breakfast to begin a good holiday daytime.
Sorry for our not so good english !
Best wishes
Laurence and Pascal AMELOT
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and this was the highlight of our trip to France. The owners make it so special. Bergerac is a lovely little town and the Saturday markets were wonderful. This is a great spot to base yourself and explore the region. We headed off to Sarlat one day by train which was fantastic. The downstairs rooms we stayed in were more like an apartment with an entire separate sitting room. Everything has been decorated so thoughtfully and beautifully. Upstairs there is another beautiful common sitting room as well which is stunning. Breakfast was held in a gorgeous dining room and I can see how in summer it would be fantastic to eat on the balcony. It was very clean and the linens and the pillows were incredible.

The reason this was the highlight of our trip as I said were the owners. Pascal is a terrific fellow and really made our stay. We loved talking to him and he is very quick and really funny. Amazing English! However, he doesn't intrude in the slightest, we were the ones who kept holding him up as he was just such good company. We learnt more from him re French customs and culture than anywhere else during our stay. He picked us up from the station and dropped us back when time to go. Laurence is a lovely person too, so kind and thoughtful. Just stay here and get to know the Dordogne, you will not regret it. Thanks Pascal and Laurence - Doreen and David, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBA33, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear Doreen and David,

Sorry to reply so late to your tripadvisor review with our not so good english !!

It was a real pleasure to read your so nice message; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bergerac, and in our B&B.
Weather was not as nice as Australia's, for swimming in the pool !!
We are so glad you liked our house.

Best wishes
Laurence and Pascal AMELOT
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The pictures look good on the website - but it's even better when you visit. This is a recently opened Maison D'hotes and so much nicer than many French hotels we have visited. Beautiful, spacious rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and well designed bathrooms. All the important details have been carefully thought through, from lovely beds with quality bed linen, to homemade jams to accompany the best breakfast I've ever had in France (homegrown fruits, local cheeses, artisan breads). This is a really peaceful and welcoming place, with tranquil garden and pool. Great location in central Bergerac (parking on-site), close to train station and the old town. Very hot when we visited Bergerac but the airy rooms remained cool.
Do go - Laurence and Pascal will make you very welcome and also give you any advice you need to enjoy your stay in Bergerac (they speak excellent English)
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

It is easy to find cheaper places to stay but this is worth every penny! Four beautiful suites in a huge house right in the centre of the town, but peaceful and quiet and the garden at the back is secluded with a lovely swimming pool (pool towels are provided) Everywhere is spotlessly clean and well maintained. The beds are big and comfortable, with good pillows(unusual for France!), towels and bedding are top quality and all the fittings are in keeping with the era of the house. A kettle with range of different tea bags and instant coffee are provided, plus a hair drier in every room. Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden, and comprises of bread, croissants, cereals, yogurt, fruit, cheeses and as much tea or coffee as you can drink. Parking is in the garden or in a garage at the back so is free and safe. The owners can not do enough to make your stay fantastic. Both speak wonderful English, book restaurants, advise on sight seeing and take you to their wine supplier to help you choose wines to take home. Bergerac is a beautiful old town so we will definitely return and next time stay for longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TricoWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
181 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
388 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ostal de Pombonne
Ostal de Pombonne
#1 of 23 in Bergerac
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos d'Argenson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos d'Argenson

Property: Le Clos d'Argenson
Address: 99 rue Neuve D Argenson, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bergerac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fin du siècle town house with hidden garden and swimming pool in the heart of Bergerac. For you, every comfort along with all the charms of staying in town Charming B&B in the town house built in 1865, in the heart of Bergerac city center, with a secret garden and swimming pool. 4 luxury suites. In summer breakfasts served on the terrace overlooking the garden and the pool or in the larg dinning room.French billard, library, training room. Free WIFI access. Free private parking Restaurants, bars, shops 5 minutes walking. Buses station & railway station 5 minutes walking and 5 minutes driving to Bergerac airport. Only 40 minutes to Sarlat, and Saint Emilion, and 1 hour to Bordeaux and its vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Clos d'Argenson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing