We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, charming hosts”
Review of Le Clos d'Argenson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos d'Argenson
Ranked #2 of 23 Bergerac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

After a long transatlantic flight and yet another leg in Europe, we were grateful to be warmly welcomed by Laurenc. She helped us park our rental car safely and offered us an adult beverage. Our room was clean and airy. As we speak only a few words of French, she recommended a terrific little restaurant and made the reservation for us. Then she actually walked several blocks with us to the restaurant. Laurenc and Pascal prepared and served a delicious breakfast in the pretty dining room as it was too chilly to sit outside the morning we were there. We would have stayed longer, but had already made other arrangements for the remainder of our vacation. This is THE hotel in Bergerac.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Mary,
Many thanks for your kindly review; it was a pleasure to receive, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bergerac.
Kind regards
Pascal and Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Le Clos d'Argenson
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

What a find! We have just spent 3 fabulous nights here! Owners Laurence & Pascal gave us a most wonderful warm welcome and were so attentive & hospitable, without being intrusive. They gave us excellent advise where to eat/not eat, places to visit etc. Where in the centre any other city would you find such a superb hotel with a garden, swimming pool & private garage?! It was like finding an oasis in the dessert! The house has clearly been loving restored with beautiful traditional furniture, with some modern pieces that complement so well. The bathroom was of a particularly high standard and both the bed & sitting rooms were, large, comfortable and spacious. Whilst not the cheapest, this hotel is worth every penny and we would highly reccommend it!
Jane & Bruce
Worthing, West Sussex

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Jane and Bruce,
We thank you for all these good words which you have written in your review.
It was a pleasure for us to receive you and to give to you all you could need and wish
Best wishes
Pascal and Laurence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed here as two couples and had the top two suites. Like other reviewers we thought Laurence and Pascal really made this place. Nothing seemed too much For them. We had helpful recommendations for restaurants and where to visit. The house is beautiful as are the gardens. We were lucky enough with the weather to be able to sit outside by the pool and have breakfast on the terrace.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We preferred the garden suite as the other one had a (rare) noise issue with the fair. Not the owner...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We have just left after a wonderful 5 nights with fantastic hosts Pascal and Laurence. We travelled with our two children aged 3&6 and were made to feel like part of the family-nothing was a problem. The huge suite was perfect-we were in one room and the children in their own beds in the other room. Gorgeous big shower. Breakfast was delicious, home made cake & jams, such fresh croissants and bread, fruit, cheese. Our hosts couldn't have been more helpful - with routes, things to do, booking a restaurant for us-Pascal even coming out on his bike to show us to the restaurant as we couldn't find it! We didn't use the swimming pool as the weather hasn't been great but it looked lovely. Sitting on the terrace for breakfast and wine in the evening was a delight. The location is perfect, allowing us to walk everywhere. We will definitely be back to stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddy22_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMEL0T, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear "little family",
We thank very much for your sweet review !
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay our guest house.
We are trying to do a nice and pleasant abode.
We will receive you again, with pleasure.
Best wishes
Pascal and Laurence
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife & I have just spent Easter at Le Clos d'Argenson. We normally stay in good hotels when we travel, so a French guesthouse was a new experience for us. We saw the reviews in TripAdvisor & booked Le Clos for 3 nights. In pre-arrival correspondence, the proprietors seemed very helpful & offered to meet us at the airport on arrival without charge. We were duly met by Laurence & driven by her to the lovely, large townhouse that she & partner Pascal own & run. Pascal & Laurence are a charming, friendly, welcoming, efficient, helpful & knowledgeable couple. They went out of their way to ensure that every detail of our stay was to our complete satisfaction. We had the suite at the rear of the house on the second floor. This comprised a spacious sitting room with en suite shower & double handbasin room, connecting to a perfectly adequately sized double bedroom with en suite toilet & separate washroom. The suite was beautifully appointed with a mixture of old fittings & artifacts with a few modern touches. The large bed was very comfortable with high quality linen & pillows. The whole, very spacious house, which is open to guests throughout their stay, is a delight. There is a wonderful marble spiral staircase, with a spacious lounge overlooking the square outside, a room with a billiards table, a lovely dining room overlooking the attractive, spacious garden with its fair-sized swimming pool, & a small well-equipped kitchen, complete with fridge containing white wine for the guests to enjoy without charge. Whenever we appeared in the morning (there is no question of set times for breakfast), the dining room table would be laid for us with a good selection of cereals, local breads & croissants, home made cake, cheeses, conserves, orange juice, yogurts, fresh fruit, etc. Once seated, Pascal would appear & make us delicious fresh coffee. Our rooms were serviced to a high standard whilst we were out during the day. The guesthouse is ideally situated for sightseeing in the old Medieval town which is delightful. There are a number of fine restaurants within easy walking distance & Pascal & Laurence are very happy to make recommendations & reservations for guests. We opted to take up the option for our hosts to prepare dinner for us on Saturday night & they duly prepared a delicious three course meal with included drinks, which we took with them & their charming son, all for a very reasonable cost. All in all, our long weekend could not have been bettered. I cannot recommend this establishment too highly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBA33, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Mrs and Mr,
We thank you that you took your time to write a so nice review.
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our guest house.
It was a pleasure, in first, to have met you at your arrival at the Bergerac airport, and driven across the town, and told about it.
We wish that the suites are comfortable and pleasant, that you spend time during the breakfast to begin a good holiday daytime.
Sorry for our not so good english !
Best wishes
Laurence and Pascal AMELOT
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and this was the highlight of our trip to France. The owners make it so special. Bergerac is a lovely little town and the Saturday markets were wonderful. This is a great spot to base yourself and explore the region. We headed off to Sarlat one day by train which was fantastic. The downstairs rooms we stayed in were more like an apartment with an entire separate sitting room. Everything has been decorated so thoughtfully and beautifully. Upstairs there is another beautiful common sitting room as well which is stunning. Breakfast was held in a gorgeous dining room and I can see how in summer it would be fantastic to eat on the balcony. It was very clean and the linens and the pillows were incredible.

The reason this was the highlight of our trip as I said were the owners. Pascal is a terrific fellow and really made our stay. We loved talking to him and he is very quick and really funny. Amazing English! However, he doesn't intrude in the slightest, we were the ones who kept holding him up as he was just such good company. We learnt more from him re French customs and culture than anywhere else during our stay. He picked us up from the station and dropped us back when time to go. Laurence is a lovely person too, so kind and thoughtful. Just stay here and get to know the Dordogne, you will not regret it. Thanks Pascal and Laurence - Doreen and David, Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBA33, Propriétaire at Le Clos d'Argenson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Doreen and David,

Sorry to reply so late to your tripadvisor review with our not so good english !!

It was a real pleasure to read your so nice message; we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Bergerac, and in our B&B.
Weather was not as nice as Australia's, for swimming in the pool !!
We are so glad you liked our house.

Best wishes
Laurence and Pascal AMELOT
Le Clos d'Argenson - Bergerac

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The pictures look good on the website - but it's even better when you visit. This is a recently opened Maison D'hotes and so much nicer than many French hotels we have visited. Beautiful, spacious rooms with tea and coffee making facilities and well designed bathrooms. All the important details have been carefully thought through, from lovely beds with quality bed linen, to homemade jams to accompany the best breakfast I've ever had in France (homegrown fruits, local cheeses, artisan breads). This is a really peaceful and welcoming place, with tranquil garden and pool. Great location in central Bergerac (parking on-site), close to train station and the old town. Very hot when we visited Bergerac but the airy rooms remained cool.
Do go - Laurence and Pascal will make you very welcome and also give you any advice you need to enjoy your stay in Bergerac (they speak excellent English)
We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marlia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergerac hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
240 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citotel Verotel
Citotel Verotel
#7 of 13 in Bergerac
131 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos d'Argenson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos d'Argenson

Address: 99 rue Neuve D Argenson, 24100, Bergerac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bergerac
Price Range: £117 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fin du siècle town house with hidden garden and swimming pool in the heart of Bergerac. For you, every comfort along with all the charms of staying in town Charming B&B in the town house built in 1865, in the heart of Bergerac city center, with a secret garden and swimming pool. 4 luxury suites. In summer breakfasts served on the terrace overlooking the garden and the pool or in the larg dinning room.French billard, library, training room. Free WIFI access. Free private parking Restaurants, bars, shops 5 minutes walking. Buses station & railway station 5 minutes walking and 5 minutes driving to Bergerac airport. Only 40 minutes to Sarlat, and Saint Emilion, and 1 hour to Bordeaux and its vineyards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Clos d'Argenson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing