We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not your average "Gite"”
other travellers have booked this property
FROM THE WOODEN TERRACE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
FROM THE WOODEN TERRACE
AMAZING VIEW OF THE DORDOGNE RIVER BREAKFAST WITH A VIEW ON THE BOATS
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
FROM THE WOODEN TERRACE
AMAZING VIEW OF THE DORDOGNE RIVER
BREAKFAST WITH A VIEW ON THE BOATS
THE HEATED SWIMMING POOL
BEDROOM 1
BEDROOM 1 WITH A TV SET
BEDROOM 1
BATHROOM 1
BATHROOM 1
BEDROOM 2 WITH A TV SET
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
BATHROOM 2
BEDROOM 3 WITH A TV SET
SITTING ROOM
THE VIEW ON THE OUTSIDE (SWIMMING POOL AND TERRACE)
BREAKFAST BAR
THE KITCHEN
THE DINING TABLE
Books and games corner
The cottage
The cottage
The cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bergerac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
alanpalme...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not your average "Gite"”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 6 night stay at "Along the River" what a fabulous home from home, Corinne and Damien have made an amazing job of turning a run down farm house into a fabulous, stylish, holiday Gite. They are such a lovely couple and could not have done more to make our stay more memorable, attention to detail is incredible, so helpful, even driving us to a couple of local restaurants and ensuring that we were aware of all the interesting things that were happening locally
A truly wonderful stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being at
Liked least: Couldn't fault it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“what a pleasure!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself and 3 friends had a wonderful stay at Le Gite. It has a fantastic view of the river and a spacious garden with ping pong, pool, badminton and a trampoline... so clearly great for kids too. Damien and Corinne are so friendly and helpful, they really make your stay a lovely experience. Corinne did some shopping for us for our arrival, when we came as the supermarkets were closing, she also booked us a table at a restaurant for our first night.. fantastic. Damien even picked us up from the train station late at night when we couldnt get a taxi!!
The surrounding areas are fantastic to explore, but you need a car and we managed to walk into Bergerac, which took about half an hour. This place was just what we were looking for, for a relaxing base to explore the town and surrounding areas. Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location, the friendly hosts and a great house.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjioxford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat by the river”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We spent an idyllic week in this beautiful gite. The owners Corinne and Damien are lovely hosts, attentive and discreet. We appreciated their tips on places to visit, where to eat and where to find the best markets.
The gite is much more spacious than it appears in the photos. It is beautifully decorated and is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need- a really comfortable "home from home". The garden is large with a lovely heated pool, badminton, table tennis and even a trampoline!
The loggia at the end of the garden has a truly stunning view over the river and became a favourite place to relax and watch the boats sail by.
The gite is in a quiet rural area within easy cycling distance of the historic centre of Bergerac, with its lovely markets, shops and restaurants. Corinne and Damien very kindly offered their bikes for the week - believe me I am at best a nervous cyclist but I really enjoyed the daily cycle across the historic bridge into Bergerac to collect provisions!
The end of the week came all too soon - we are already planning a return trip!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna M
1 review
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Spent two weeks in this beautifully decorated Gite in a lovely setting next to the River Dordogne. The hosts were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. There is plenty to do nearby including charming villages, chataux's, canoeing etc but also the Gite is perfect for relaxing by the pool and also includes badmington, table tennis and a trampoline to keep our two teenagers happy.
Lovely relaxing holiday, would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
491jazzgi...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a wonderful 10 days at Le Gite.
Stunning location, lovely house and furnishings. Most of all, the delightful hosts, who were discreet and very helpful.
I recommend this Gite for anyone who requires total relaxation and quiet.The pool was just the right temperature and the garden delightful. Yet only five minutes drive from the center of Bergerac.
Thank you Corinne and Damien. Will be back next year for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view of the Dordogne at the end of the garden
Liked least: everthing was good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best gite ever!”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this amazing gite for 10 days. It had recently been modernised to the highest standard, decorated and equipped equivalent to a 5* boutique hotel. The Gite is even better than its photos, like a feature from a top class interior design magazine! We have travelled extensively and this one stood out as exceptional.

The setting of the gite is beautiful, being set well back from a quiet road and offering complete privacy. The rear garden runs down to the Dordogne river with a covered wooden deck offering stunning views, a lovely pool and outdoor eating areas. Even though you are only 2km from Bergerac airport, it is very peaceful as there are very few flights and the main flight path is away from the gite.

The owners, Corinne and Damien, live next door. They are effortless in making your stay wonderful with daily text suggestions for places to visit locally and forthcoming events.

You are only 5 mins from an Intermarche supermarket and the Place de la Madeleine where there is a patisserie. On Fridays there is an amazing fish market at the Place. 10mins and you are in the centre of Bergerac with superb markets Weds and Sat and a daily covered market.

We celebrated a birthday with Dinner at an excellent Bergerac restaurant "La Villa Laetitia" booked by our hosts.

Monbazillac is only 15 mins to the South with a pretty chateaux and excellent wines. Driving East along the Dordogne you have magnificent chateaux, villages etc. Sarlat is a very popular town with a very large Sat market and quaint streets.

We took the train from Bergerac to Bordeaux for a day's sightseeing which worked very well. It was relatively cheap and relaxing. The trams in Bordeaux with a one day pass meant you could zoom around seeing all the sights and shops. A bonus was the free all day parking at the station.

We flew to and from Bordeaux airport as we could not get flights to Bergerac at the time we wanted. This was fine as the drive to Bergerac is fast and easy once you are on the toll road taking less than 90 mins depending on traffic.

If you are looking for a top class holiday to relax and enjoy the joys and scenery of the Dordogne area then you will not find a better Gite nor more hospitable hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer quality of gite, its facilities and hosts
Liked least: Could not fault a thing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ID22car
Saint-Brieuc, France
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing