We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Centenaire
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great location and surroundings”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stopped here in Dordogne on our way to the Atlantic for 2 nights. Travelling with 2 children aged 9-11. The room was very big, actually 2 rooms with a door in between you could close. Positives:
The children had their own toilet. Big clean bathroom. Nicely furnished. Very clean. Beautiful garden and pool with long chairs and umbrellas. Nice terrace for dinner. Good breakfast (but not cheap). Free wifi was convenient. Negatives: No towels for the pool. Beds were springy and hard. Pillows medium quality. No elevator. (You can be on the second floor). We had dinner there on the first night. Service was very poor at dinner, the waitress was an inexperienced student. Food wasn't bad, but not great. The pool area hadn't been cleaned up from previous day's drinks and glasses. At breakfast also the service was very poor.
We would go back, because the location is great for day trips in and around the area. There's a great restaurant near by called the "Coup de Silex" where we had dinner the second night.

Room Tip: We had a family room number 23. was clean and spacious and well decorated. But we did hear the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_lips33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    30
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Castle NH
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Don't let the old, sometime negative reviews of this place affect your thinking. It has been purchased and completely updated by a discrete but welcoming and attentive young couple over the past couple of years and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

The rooms are good sized, nicely maintained and very comfortable, as are the large bathrooms. The location on the edge of town is convenient. The public areas are clean and well maintained and the outdoor gardens and pool are very attractive (it was too cool to use the pool when we were there) We walked into town for breakfast so cannot comment on that. But overall, especially at the price we paid for booking shoulder season in advance, we were very happy with this lovely 3 star hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Randonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is a tidy, warm place to stay when visiting the caves in southwest France. Font de Gaume is a walk away on foot. The couple who run the hotel are friendly, helpful, and will try to help you with whatever you need. The wife of the couple made sure we got on line early enough to get tickets to the caves nearby, as the number of tickets sold daily is limited. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoekauf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Seemed like a nice, small, family-run business. Room was very comfortable with a very clean, updated bathroom (bonuses were the towel warmer and bidet). Some rooms have balconies, but ours just had a nice window. This is slightly off the main street, but just a short walk to the Museum of Prehistory and lots of restaurants. Our room had a mini-bar and we had the buffet breakfast every morning (we stayed 4 nights), which had a nice variety of things, including great croissants and fromage blanc.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Nice hotel in centre of town , dinner was fabulous , only had breakfast the first morning – found a better and cheaper café a short walk into town . The pool was great . WIFI worked ok and off street parking ample . museum close by and we spent a lovely afternoon kyaking down the river - there are 3 companies doing this in town , the closest was only a couple of hundred meters away from hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed here in 1988 when the Scholly's and Roland Mazere were making it great. I was pleased, in early June, to visit this re-incarnation of le Centenaire that people have had going for three months. Rooms are lovely. Dining room is lovely, too, But the restaurant has not yet the Mazere-level kitchen that merited dining in every night 24 years ago. And other good restaurants are within walking distance for other nights. If you're going for the caves in Dordogne, this is a great base for exploring.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked this hotel, even after reading some of the previous negative reviews, because it was located in the center of Les Eyzies and very near three of the caves we wanted to see! (the reviews on other sites were better...) This hotel did NOT disappoint us in any way! The room was clean, well-maintained, and very comfortable! The new owners are doing all that they can to return this hotel to its former status--they cook, they clean, they are at your disposal 24/7. The swimming pool was clean and freshly painted and very welcome after a warm May day of sightseeing.The food in their restaurant was EXCELLENT!--I had two very well-prepared and tastefully served meals--including more great scallops! (I seem to rave about French scallops...) Both meat and fish were on the fixed price menu, and my husband and I tried each menu and were not disappointed. I saw no evidence of "dated" decor in the dining room....it was very welcoming and charming. A group of Japanese tourists were there when we were, and the owners went out of their way to make them feel welcome, even preparing some dishes that were not on their own menu. I would definitely go back to this hotel--I wasn't through seeing all that I wanted to see when we needed to leave!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#3 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee
Hotel de France - Auberge du Mus...
#7 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Centenaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Centenaire

Property: Hotel Du Centenaire
Address: 2 avenue du Cingle, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Du Centenaire 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Du Centenaire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Centenaire Hotel
Hotel Du Centenaire France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing