We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Grand Turk
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Beds comfortable and all mod cons in the room. Nice big bath. But WIFI which was only available in the main area was not always working. Also, every time someone walked upstairs, you could hear the creak... bit of an acoustics problem going on here.. Having said that, still rather grand in atmosphere and hosts very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    37
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel is in a is a tiny village, but it is in the center of prehistoric art in France. It is a wonderful location. The owners/staff at the hotel were very nice, the restaurant is very good. It is a mom and pop operation. The man of the team of owners saw my husband was sitting in a public room one night on his computer and brought him a glass of wine as a courtesy.

The large, king sized room which I reserved was fine except that the bathroom had a bathtub with only a hand-held shower. This is common in France, but for some reason, not what I was expecting. I asked to be moved to another room, which was smaller but had a standard shower, and the hotel owners accommodated me. Also, we stayed for 6 days but there was no dresser in the room, so it made unpacking more difficult. The room was nicely furnished and the size, even of the smaller room, was not bad, but the shower was pretty small and the floor of the bathroom was slippery. The beds were comfortable.

If not for the bath/shower situation, I'd stay here again, but probably not unless they install a bracket on the wall in the rooms with bathtubs so that the hand-held showers could be hung at a comfortable level. I think that would be pretty easy to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great value,comfortable very good food.
Helpful and charming staff.
Parking across the road but be careful backing out as it is on a bend.
Handy to many caves and chateaux as well as canoeing.
The Madame speaks some English.
The museum is about 250 metres away at the other end of town but a flat walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardandLaraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Nice friendly staff with good English. Large rooms with on-suit, plenty off hot water for large bath, a bit out dated but still enjoyable.Breakfast was continental and nice, we did not eat in restaurant but it looked ok .Had good parking on the opposite side of the road, nice and peaceful did not notice the trains ,Good wi fi in living room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A perfect holiday in a nice setting.
Stayed for a week in Aug. The room was comfortable and clean , good bathroom, nice large shuttered windows. The staff were efficient and friendly, and happy to fit in with us, not make us fit in with their schedule (we stayed up late a couple of nights and were served late drinks on the terrace with no complaints). great pool area and the backdrop was lovely, we spent some very relaxing afternoons sat around with a drink and a book. A very small grumble was the lack of a kettle tea/coffee making facilities in the room (is this a Brit thing ?), but the staff made good earl grey tea anyway .....so we didn't go without. The breakfast is continental style and was fresh and included plenty of options for food and drink. The Hotel is ideally placed for a stroll to the local restaurants and bars which are in the main....excellent and good value. The in house restaurant at Cro magnon is not cheap but the service and food were faultless , so worth a treat on the last night. The Cro Magnon is a charming classically French style Hotel, we loved it and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gram1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

As a frequent tourist of France, I think the French rudeness is over-stated. I generally find that the people are very friendly and efficient. This place though was warm and welcoming. We informed the owners (husband and wife) that we had to leave at 7am and would need to get our bikes out of the garage. She said that was too bad because breakfast was not served until 8am, but that they would have the key out for us to get into the garage. However, we woke to find that they had breakfast just for us. The husband had walked down to the local bread store and bought fresh croissants and had yogurt and cheese ready for us.

The accommodations were typically 3 star. The room was a bit larger than typical for Europe. It did not have A/C but that was not a problem as the temperatures were 60 degrees at night. Bed was comfy and very clean. However, the food at dinner is very, very good. Home-style French cooking at its finest.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

One of the things you must do at this Hotel is walk around the back. A plaque on the cliff behind (and slightly towards the rail station) marks the location of the excavation where Cromagnon man was first found. This is the modern human group who made all the rock art in the Dordogne, and this is where excavations in the 1860s discovered them. If you are interested in history its a place to visit. Not much to see but a place to have been to.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Centenaire
Hotel Du Centenaire
#6 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee
Hotel de France - Auberge du Mus...
#7 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon

Property: Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Address: 54 avenue de la Prehistoire, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Cro Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing