We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week, excellent food, charming staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie du Passeur
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful week, excellent food, charming staff.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a great week at this hotel, using it as a base for exploring the region for the first time. The hotel is quaint and charming, with a friendly family feel whilst still smart and upmarket. The staff are friendly and the proprietor, Jerome, has an excellent sense of humour but still bends over backwards to please. The food is amazing, and worth the extra (it is a little pricier than other restaurants but the difference is evident). The room is clean and good though a little small, but not really a major drawback. Recommend visiting a couple of the chateaux in the region and Sarlat and Domme but take a day to go canoeing or just picnic by the river. I would like to think we will be back before too long. A memorable trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    60
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
30
99
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel has a great location close to the museum, the main street and the tourist information. Small rooms, but charming. Close location to the river, we had a swim! The food at the restaurant was very good. Confit de Canard was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vips44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

In a great location in the town by the central square looking over the river with free parking at the side of hotel, rooms are a little small but our window at the front looked over the main square and was lovely. Staff were very well turned out and very professional, however we probably prefer a personable less formal approach. The set meal was excellent. We stayed 3 nights which was probably one to many as theres not a lot in Les Eyzies.

Room Tip: View over the square or river not at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Harmony, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What a lovely hotel this is! Our room was charming, very comfortable and clean! The staff was very accommodating. We arrived near or after midnight. The young man at the front desk had waited for us and then helped us to our room. The next morning, the breakfast was good and the coffee delicious! The village of Les Eyzies-de-Tayac is charming and the prehistoric caves are a once in a lifetime experience. If we return, we will absolutely stay at Hostellerie du Passeur again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The location of this hotel, set between the massive limestone cliff and the river, is superb. We stayed only one night and found the rooms - we saw two on the top floor - very small and basic. On the plus side the dinner was well cooked and nicely presented, but the maitre'd refused to substitute one coffee for two cheese platters! Look elsewhere if staying in the area.

Room Tip: Not sure that there are any here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had two nights at the hotel , central to les Eyzies, watching Cro -Magnon man , a statue in the museum, high above the Main Street. The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and efficient . The rooms we had were east facing ( at the back) and much cooler than other side, above the outdoor restaurant , had everything we wanted, ate at the restaurant one night and it was fine. car parking out the back was needed for us and the town is a great base for pre history caves, and the Vezere river , with driving back through abeyance from Lascaux caves a wonderful extension.

Room Tip: We were in summer , it was about 30 oC and air conditioning was good, rooms had fans and after the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great location under the gaze of Cro-Magnon man statue which is part of the National Museum of Pre-history. Friendly welcome from reception, thank you Jerome, clean and comfortable room. We find those French bathrooms bizarre where they have a shower unit but it's not attached to the wall. Why not have a bracket on the wall so you don't need to hold on to the shower-head? Breakfast at €13.50 is expensive. Despite those comments we'd happily stay here again and would recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#3 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Centenaire
Hotel Du Centenaire
#6 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
98 reviews
14.9 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Passeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Passeur

Property: Hostellerie du Passeur
Address: Place de la Mairie, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France (Formerly Hotel du Centre)
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Passeur 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostellerie du Passeur sits on the banks of the Vezere river in the famous perigourdine village of Les Eyzies de Tayac, covered in Virginia creeper is an ancient Bourgeois residence that sits opposite the ferryman’s house where once it was possible to get a passage across the Vezere river.The Hotel greets you to an intimate universe of refined comfort and authenticity ; ideal qualities tht make it an ideal place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie du Passeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Passeur France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing