We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great English tour!”

Musee National de Prehistoire
Book In Advance
More Info
US$178.15*
and up
Small-Group Dordogne Day Tour from Sarlat
More Info
US$166.28*
and up
Lascaux IV and The Art of the Caves in Sarlat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stuttgart
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great English tour!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This museum has a lot of the local artifacts from the area. The guide gives a good history of the area and the hominids who populated it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoGirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    178
    92
    27
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After reading in a guide book that this museum was a "must" in order to appreciate our visit to nearby caves I must say that we were quite disappointed. The museum did not cater to English speakers in a helpful way which is ridiculous in this day and age, an audio guide and/ or translations of all the explanations would have changed everything for us. As it was, it was not very informative or helpful apart from the movies showing how prehistoric tools were made. My teenaged son was pretty bored and the English fact sheets were dry, uninteresting and not very helpful. (I live in Israel and all of our museums cater for non-Hebrew and non-Arabic speaking visitors - it is not difficult to do or unreasonable to expect). Thumbs down I'm afraid for me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I had been here many years before and although I enjoyed it then, what an improvement now! Huge well documented displays, in an air conditioned environment, totally disabled friendly (I took my elderly father who uses a mobility scooter....so easy to get round and what's more we both got free admission as well as jumping the queue!) We were both very impressed. The collections have not only grown, but they have obviously left room for more! It would have been well worth the admission fee anyway. Nice views across the village and countryside from the old castle terrace too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good academic treatment, no cave”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The displays are well-done and there are English translations of most of the text although they are a little tricky to find and to match up with display cases. One disappointment, however, is that despite being set into the rock face in an area with many caves and abri, there was none at this museum. It would we so much more complete with at least a cave opening or display.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DSulzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Superbly situated and designed museum with a more academic slant. Very comprehensive displays but please be aware that all are annotated in French - we were fortunate to have our French-speaking son on hand to translate for us - but English guides are available. Do go up to the rooftop viewing gallery for a lovely panorama of the town and valley - and the Neanderthal statue... bet you can't resist standing next to it in a similar pose!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musee National de Prehistoire also viewed

Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
 
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne
 

Been to Musee National de Prehistoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing