We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Hotel Les Glycines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Les Glycines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

If you are visiting this area to see the prehistoric drawings in the caves, etc., then this is the place to stay. It's in a terrific location for all the towns you will be visiting. It is also one of the nicest in the area. We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. The garden and pool area in the back of the hotel are gorgeous and relaxing. The rooms are lovely, although may need to be touched up a bit, and the bathrooms were newly renovate and very nice. The owner (her name is Laurance) could not have been more wonderful. She invests herself in this property and really takes it personally. She wants your stay to be excellent. We loved the charm of the hotel, with the modern touches of the public areas. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would request a room on the ground floor facing the rear. It opens up to a sitting area and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWorld&I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello, what an attractive title for your review ! We thank you for all your remarks. It's true that Les Eyzies is located at the middle of many caves, castles and gardens, and perhaps (according to you...) our hotel is "the place to be !". We are glad to know the charm of Les Glycines had such this effect to you. If you want to come again, of course we will very pleased to welcome you again. Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed only for one night at Les Eyzies during a recent trip to France, and only because Sarlat was quite full that night.

We were very happy at that turn of event as we really find the hotel comfortable, the staff really, really friendly, and we had one of our best Foie Gras dinner at the hotel. The small train station next to the hotel also add to the general atmosphere and having a very friendly and professional head waiter looking like Harry Potter (i.e. Daniel Ratcliff) really add to a really fun experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gundamenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello from Les Eyzies,

we are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Les Glycines, thanking the staff (and especially our head waiter without his wizard's broom !) and talking about our Foie gras, one of our very famous local products, prepared by the Chef. We took delight in welcoming you, and hope to see you again, but France is very far from the South Africa ! Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The garden view rooms are pure magic!!! The staff was wonderful from registration to dining to housekeeping, so very kind and polite. Our dinner was the best we had in France and in my opinion the best chef in France can be found here. Even though we visited in April, here it is June and I am still savoring our meal --- it was a masterpiece that I am sure I will continue to enjoy for years to come. Our plate was so beautiful, I was not sure I could bring myself to even taste it, and then when I did, it was heavenly. I have never become joyously delirious over food, but I found myself feeling that way before desert arrived.

Room Tip: Garden View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caprese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi, reading what you wrote about our hotel please us a lot ! Thank you for all this ! It seems you remember your stay at les Glycines very well, because of the garden, the staff and especially the FOOD... Thanks a lot again, from all of us, and have a nice summer... Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel was outstanding!

Bed quality and the breakfast was beyond what I expected and the view from this property is breathtaking.

Products and décor was normal, but just ask and the staff are beyond helpful.

The property is broken off from the main building to the attaché.

Book a garden view with access to the grounds! Amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 514MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We want to thank you for this nice review. We're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Les Glycines, and that we came up to your expectations. You're right, we are located in such a marvellous country , with lovely views over the cliffs... We hope you'll enjoy all this again during a next trip in France. Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Hotel Les Glycines in Les Eyzies de Tayac is at the top of our list for our recent 12 nights in France (including Paris). We generally utilize 4 star hotels and stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Les Glycines. We used it as home base to explore the prehistoric caves, Sarlat, and other sites in the area.

We found the Les Glycines restaurant to be the high point of our trip to France. Please consider the half board program when you check-in. Quentin, the sommelier and face of the restaurant, became our master of wine and food discovery. And, his matchings/explanations of the wines will forever help us back in the USA.

If you dine in California restaurants, you will find the wine list quite reasonably priced, given the Euro "bump". If you stay at the hotel, the bottles can be held over to the next night so you can have a variety, by the glass, too. By all means tell them your price range…there is no judgment placed here. There are a few lovely restaurants in Les Eyzies; we have been to them all. But after a day of exploring, nothing beats retiring to Les Glycines. We live next to the Napa Valley and know a lot about wine, but not French wine. Quentin helped us immensely, identifying our tastes and finding the perfect bottle.

To end, our room was well appointed, roomy, clean, and the bathroom had all of the features an American would desire. The hotel itself is modern but fits with this prehistory area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaume01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

What a pleasure reading your review ! Thanks a lot for all these compliments... We're very glad to know how you enjoyed our hotel and especially our restaurant, AND Quentin of course ! It seems you apprecieted a lot all advice in matter of food and wine... We'll be very pleased to welcome you again, during your next trip in France. See you... Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We wanted Sunday Lunch in January and wandered into this gastronomic oasis. We had no idea we would eat so well. Our chef greeted us, talked about his food and helped us order. Every flavour was special and we had a wonderful lunch. What a treat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

On the occasion of a visit in our area we are glad that you came to Les Glycines. Thank you for your warm comments and hope to welcome you again soon.
Warmly,
Magali
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Our wedding anniversary is in February which makes it difficult to find a hotel as many are closed for a month or two. However the Glycines was open and we decided to go there for our 25th anniversary.
We were not disappointed! What a wonderful welcome. They upgraded us to one of their suites , an amazing experience with a beautiful decor and views out on to the lovely gardens. We were concerned that there might be noise from the road but the rooms are all at the back overlooking the garden and were completely quiet.
Not surprisingly on a wet evening in midweek February, we were the only guests in the restaurant but we got the full treatment, a fabulous menu based on truffles with a different, matched, glass of wine with each course. It was a wonderful unforgettable evening and the breakfast was up to the same high standards. Even though we were the only guests that morning, the buffet was laid out with more food and home made bread and croissants than a group could have consumed.

The staff were charming and unobtrusive although ready to chat if approached. The young lady on reception asked us if we preferred the introduction to the hotel in English or French and proceeded to show us around, showing us our suite and how everything worked.

There were builders at the far corner of the hotel building a new wing and this will probably be the place to stay when it is finished. The hotel seems to have seen a vast amount of investment recently and it certainly shows.
We met the owners and they were able to tell us about their project. We wish them every success.
Les Glycines means, of course, The Wisterias and at the entry you will notice the giant (for a wisteria) trunk. It must be quite a sight in summer!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rochelyre2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glycinesdordogne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Les Glycines, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you in Les Glycines and celebrate your wedding anniversary. Thanks a lot for all your compliments.
Hope to see you soon...
Kind regards
Magali
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#3 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Du Centenaire
Hotel Du Centenaire
#6 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
87 reviews
10.7 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Glycines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Glycines

Address: 4 avenue de Laugerie, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range: £114 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Glycines 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Les Glycines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Glycines Hotel
Hotel Les Glycines France/Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing