We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
garyww57
Vitoria, ES
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Chantal & John, what can we say! Wonderful Hosts - always there to give advice & assistance, but never encroaching ! Your Beautiful Gite St. Martin is complete & comfortable - Cristina even wanted to buy it!

We didn´t use the ´wood burner´ but radiators were ample to warm up the cool nights of November!

We loved being with you ,in your most beautiful part of the world; and for sure will return; hopefully to invite you to come to Dinner at our new home in the Dordogne!

Recommend for anyone to stay at Gite St Martin at any time of the year( we didn´t use the Pool - even though I believe John would have had it ready if we had requested!

Till our return we will say A bientot, and not Au revoir!

Marci Beaucoup,

Gary & Cristina, Vitoria,ES Brasil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & relaxation!
Liked least: We would have liked the bathroom upstairs with the bedrooms , but not a big deal when you get used to it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you Gary and Cristina for choosing to stay at Gite St Martin. It was a real pleasure meeting you both and I hope we will see you again in this beautiful part of France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulineRo...
Comox Valley, Canada
1 review
“Ideal location, fantastic hosts, beautiful property”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We booked the full cottage for a week with friends and after they departed we stayed on for an additional week in the B&B. Both experiences were outstanding. The well appointed cottage is situated on a beautiful property - we even enjoyed a swims in the pool in mid-October. When we shifted to the B&B we had the additional pleasure of Chantal's fresh breads and delicious homemade jams every morning. Our hosts, Chantal and John, were very generous with their excellent advice on the huge diversity of places to visit in the area. There are so many caves, museums, sites, gardens, beautiful villages and lovely markets to visit as well as beautiful hikes and walks. Chantal also offers French lessons and although we didn't book them on this visit we will definitely include them when we return to continue to explore this wonderful region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Brilliant location, great access to so many attractions, great hosts.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islandtra...
VictoriaBC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming and comfortable holiday spot”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spent two weeks in Chantal and John's sweet cottage and enjoyed every minute even when the rains came in our second week. Prior to that it was a treat for us to come back after a day's sightseeing to lounge in the sun by the pool. Les Eyzies is within a few kilometres of many caves and chateaux so we never had to drive too far to see something interesting and beautiful. Most nights we ate in and the kitchen was well equipped with every thing we needed and often we were able to use produce provided by John from his garden. Thank you Chantal and John for being such kind and generous hosts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoeahc
Colyton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday in a glorious location!”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a week staying in the St Martin cottage and have had the most fantastic holiday. From the initial booking process to our arrival Chantal the owner was professional, friendly and extremely helpful. My husband and I stayed with our 2 girls aged 4 and 7 and found the cottage to be very comfortable, clean and safe for our young children. There is a small enclosed garden at the front of the property that the girls could play in safely, and a fantastic terrace on which to enjoy dinner or an evening drink in the shade, this was welcome in the heat of the August sun! The swimming pool is fenced and has a security cover at night, it is the nicest holiday pool we have ever had, super clean, and heated to around 27 degrees which was perfect. Our girls thoroughly enjoyed it! Chantal was also very kind to provide us with pool towels and some inflatables for the girls to use. The cottage is well equipped and in an excellent location just 10 minutes walk from Les Eyzies itself and a large selection of restaurants and yummy ice creams and crepes! We had such a fantastic holiday that we have already booked up for next year! This is a wonderful part of France we are looking forward to more exploring next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and pool
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie W
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was our first visit to the Dordogne region and we were rather apprehensive. No need, thanks to the helpfulness and efficiency of Chantal, enhanced by her excellent English and attention to detail. All arrangements for our visit were handled promptly and she even helped us make the most of our journey from Bergerac airport with her recommendations for places to visit en route. The gite itself was exceedingly comfortable, clean, well equipped and full of charm. The pool was amazing and the peaceful terrace is where we enjoyed every meal. Chantal being next door was convenient but her presence was unobtrusive and discreet. We have already recommended this wonderful 'home from home' to friends and we fully intend to return. High quality comfort in a glorious location about sums Gite St Martin up!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An Idyllic Holiday in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I visited with my wife and 9 year old daughter. On our arrival at Gite St Martin we were greeted by the lovely owner Chantelle, she made us feel very welcome and gave us some great tips and advice on places to visit and eat.The location of the Gite is very pretty with great views and was really well equipped and comfy. Just like a home from home. It was also very quiet and tranquil. We absolutely loved the amazing salt water pool which we gladly plunged into every late afternoon. Les Eyzies de Tayac is a fabulous village with plenty of places to eat and drink along with Museums a market on a Monday and the beautiful river.
Canoes are available to hire on the river and we did a 13k trip the river and views were absolutely beautiful! There are so many places to visit which are all close to les Eyzies which make it an ideally located base. We hired a car which really is a must. Sarlat is a must visit and a drive along the Dordogne is fab with lots of amazing stop off points. There a caves and must see's everywhere. We did some many things there are too many to mention! One of the best holidays ever, can't wait to return.!!! :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: home from home
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdthirion
Buderim, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most enchanting stay and caring hosts”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Even though I was ill at the time, the hosts, with their friendliness and helpfulness, made sure I had a wonderful stay; all I needed was in the lovely self contained cotage, including a warm fire place, complimentary bottle of wine, total privacy-trully maigc. Thanks again to Chantal and John.
Danijela

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing