We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy romantic getaway in the south of France.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Peter T
Burton-upon-Trent, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy romantic getaway in the south of France.”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Beautiful countryside views, a heated outdoor pool, quaint little town nearby with national historic museums and some nice restaurants. You couldn't my find a more relaxing getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliecoul...
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding Holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was an outstanding holiday.
The accommodation was clean and extremely comfortable. It was refreshing to have a comfortable good quality bed and bed linens.
Breakfast was always very tasty and fresh. The owner was so pleasant when we came to breakfast each day. It was a lovely way to start our day.
The location was perfect for exploring the many historical sites in the area. The owners were extremely helpful , advising us on which sites we could see and helping provide the information we needed.
It was the perfect spot to go for a country drive and visit the many quaint and historical villages in the area. We were able to also enjoy a quiet walk to the local village where there were many lovely cafes and restaurants, often with pretty views of the river.
At the end of the day , it was wonderful to enjoy a relaxing swim in the pool. The pool was quite large and always very clean, with comfortable sun loungers provided.
This was an extremely memorable holiday for us and we would highly recommend this place to stay. Serene, peaceful and great location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azjayhawk...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Everything you need or want, and in a charming stone cottage.”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A central location for the Périgord Noir! In the quiet hamlet of Tayac, you are a ten-minute walk (past the 12c fortified church) into Les Eyzies, with its world-class museum, shops and restaurants. Two comfortable bedrooms in a quiet setting, with the covered porch overlooking a spectacular garden, you have walking paths which start outside the gate and lead to cliff-top overlooks of the Vezere River or over the old bridge and towards the Gorge d'Enfer and various archeological sites and a wonderful cavern. You are within a half-hour drive-time of most of the important Paleolithic caves, troglodytic villages, and medieval towns as well as a number of the 'Plus Beaux Villages de France' and numerous Michelin-rated restaurants and 11-12c Romanesque churches. We stayed for almost six weeks: it was our second visit to the area, and we were so busy we never turned on the flat-screen TV in the livingroom nor made full use of the fully-equipped kitchen. French lessons - and good ones, for any level - are available, as are cooking classes (really improves your restaurant French!). The hosts, Chantal and John, are knowledgeable, helpful and amazingly kind. We were there too early to enjoy the large pool, but it looked marvelous. We have recommended this place to all our travelling friends, as it could not be more perfect - I could live here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you for the great review. Your comments on the region are much appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at Gite St Martin. It was a pleasure meeting you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our third visit to Les Eyzies and we would not stay anywhere else except at Gite St Martin. We stayed in the gite, although there is also bed-and-breakfast available in the main house. Chantal and John are wonderful hosts, and could not have done more to make our stay wonderful. The gite is fully equipped with everything you could possible need, including, this year, a dishwasher! There is a bathroom with shower downstairs and two comfortable double bedrooms upstairs. The main room downstairs has a gorgeous stone fireplace and there is also a cosy lounge with satellite TV. There is also Wifi. Outside is a covered area and a garden. There is also a pool. We were fortunate this year to receive fruit and vegetables straight from the garden! We cannot recommend Gite St Martin highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocall
Melrose, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place like home”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have stayed with Chantal and John on 2 occasions now and achieved 100% satisfaction on both occasions. Next year we return with my mother and father in law and the following year we will return , and on and on and on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you. We are really looking forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison M
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise...”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My daughter and I stayed for 2 weeks at Gite St Martin, our second visit and one of many more, we hope! The Gite is lovely, really welcoming and well-equipped, with very comfortable beds, and we just loved sitting on the beautiful terrace, day and evening, with the most beautiful views. You also have the use of a wonderful swimming pool to cool off in!
You are within easy walking distance of Les Eyzies, a really pretty village, great scenery, and with lots of restaurants - we’d particularly recommend Bar Alexandre. The lady who owns it is lovely and the food is delicious, with vegetarian options as standard, which we really appreciated. We didn’t do any sightseeing because we came to relax primarily, but there is plenty to do in the surrounding area if you want to use it as a base.
We had French lessons with Chantal and can thoroughly recommend her as a fantastic, patient and encouraging teacher. It is really obvious that she loves what she does, and this makes all the difference.
I’ve saved the best bit until last though: the Gite is beautiful, Tayac and Les Eyzies are picturesque, the scenery is amazing, the atmosphere is tranquil and healing and it is the perfect place to unwind, but what makes this place just so very special is the delightful owners, Chantal and John. They are by far the most generous and lovely hosts I’ve ever encountered and are just very special people. I’ve rented quite a lot of holiday homes over the years, and whilst the people I’ve rented from have mostly been nice and charming, I have never come across people who are so genuine and so welcoming, so much so that you really miss them as well as the place itself!
This holiday was just what we needed and Tayac is truly one of my favourite places on earth – a little piece of paradise and I wish I lived there! Chantal and John – thank you so, so much again, and see you next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners' welcome, French lessons, scenery, the cottage, just everything!!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DPX123
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Gite - ever!”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have found a Gite we are happy to return to year after year! Beautiful area, much loved and well cared for property. Charming, generous, hospitable owners - I mean you should just taste Chantal's amazing home made jam and Jean's home grown vegetables!
They made us feel so welcome and it became clear the Gite is a like second home to us,

It is comfortable and well equipped. The bed blissfully comfortable. The view down to the Vezere river cliffs from the large cool verandah is stunning. The little village just 10 minutes walk away with some excellent restaurants and bistros - everything was perfect, including the large garden which is full of carefully tended flowers. The swimming pool is crystal clear and well maintained - and welcoming after a hot day in the sun!

We had planned carefully before our arrival what we wanted to see and to do - canoeing down the Vezere river from St Christophe back to Les Eyzies; visiting the excellent Cro Magnon museums in the area; going underground to see the amazing cave paintings - just how and why did they do these highly talented and beautifully proportioned paintings?

Somebody said the valley is the Valley of a 1001 Castles! Well we visited a number and sketched to our earths content wherever we went! And don't miss the markets - especially the one at Sarlat on a Saturday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We simply loved the whole experience of staying in the Gite and having the option of Chantal's French lessons if we wanted them - we were too busy sightseeing though
Liked least: Tearing ourselves away to come back to the uk!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing