We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge mistake! If you are a vegetarian give it a miss!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee
Reviewed 14 September 2012

This was a meal on our first night in Les Eyzies, organised by the holiday company. As we were travelling through the day, our rep had asked if anyone wouldn't want duck at the group meal that evening. I and several others said we didn't want duck. Although I am not a vegetarian, I explained that I didn't like duck and didn't eat fish. Having spoken to the rep, who said she would then contact the restaurant to request vegetarian meals for about 8 of us, I expected there to be no problems. The restaurant is part of a hotel in a reasonable position. The restaurant itself is fairly basic and has no particularly attractive features. Service is exceptionally slow. The starter was fish. Not wanting to make a fuss I simply left it. The main course arrived - duck leg. I pointed out that the rep had already identified me as vegetarian. The duck was removed. Everyone got on with their meals. About 10 minutes later my meal arrive - fish! I again pointed out that I was expecting a vegetarian meal - no fish. The waiter looked puzzled and confirmed that it was vegetarian fish!!! I gave up at this point and just asked him to take the plate away. My husband was upset and explained that I wanted vegetables only. I was so past caring whether I was fed or not by this time - I had been travelling all day and was very tired. The waiter was really puzzled by this time, but again, removed the plate. About another 15 mins later, by which time everyone had finished their meals, a plate of garlic laden green beans with garlic laden potato arrived. I ate some, but had to give up. I realise that the French have a problem with the concept of vegetarianism, but I had tried to be less of a nuisance by talking to the rep well ahead of the meal and, as far as I am aware, she had passed this on. My meal was spoiled. My husband was upset by what happened and most of the others in the group (48 or so) reported that their duck was pretty awful too. There was another one of these organised meals at the same restaurant at the end of the holiday, which I noticed about 8 people gave a miss, including ourselves. Definitely one to miss. There are many much better restaurants in Les Eyzies.

Room Tip: Don't come here if you are a vegetarian who doesn't eat fish!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Food_Lover186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our family of four, who had been in Les Eyzies several nights, were looking for an upscale restaurant for dinner. We happened to find this restaurant on a side street, and the menu looked very good as did the setting. We returned later that evening for dinner. When we arrived, it was nearly full, so we decided that was a good sign.

We ordered aperitifs and wanted for our orders to be taken. We were served an amuse bouche of beets. It was at least 30 minutes before these finished dishes were removed. We waited and waited. We noticed that tables that had been there longer than we were had not received their food. I took one of my son’s for a walk. When we returned, the food still wasn’t there. I asked for some bread. Although other tables had bread, we did not. She returned with bread and explained that my pork dish (tenderloin) was causing the problem as it took a long time to cook. It wasn’t overcooked when it finally arrived, so I’m not sure what the problem was. My other son was quite proud of himself as he said that he was one of the only people in the restaurant who had not gotten up. After he said this, I did notice that most tables had at least one person missing from their table.

Again, the food when it finally arrived was good, but the portions were tiny. We did not order dessert.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Nice little place - Little bit need paint job. Food pretty good.Although lots to choose down road. No frills. Make sure ask non smoking room.

Room Tip: Ones in street are actually best.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

When I look at the pictures and reviews of the rooms here, I can't help wonder whether we were at the same hotel. Or if something transpired between 2008 and 2010. It is located right by the Museum and is a good location to explore sights in the area. However, our room was definitely not clean and was dark, cold and damp. I remember spending the night sneezing from the dust and waking up with a sore throat. And this was in May. I'm wondering if there is a big difference between the quality of rooms being offered in one building versus another. We had a lovely dinner at the Cro Magnon Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Once_Upon_A_Truffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Dependance met zwembad.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: éviter le rez de chaussé du batiment le plus prêt de la piscine
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyksos h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thierry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Roches
Hotel des Roches
#5 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Centenaire
Hotel Du Centenaire
#6 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moulin de la Beune
Moulin de la Beune
#4 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
Hotel Restaurant Le Cro-Magnon
#3 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee

Address: 1 rue du Moulin, 24620 Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
Price Range: £55 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de France - Auberge du Musee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France - Auberge Du Musee Les Eyzies-De-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing