We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great house in a great location”
Review of The Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alpenhof
Ranked #1 of 1 Stechelberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a lovely old mountain house at the end of the valley at Stechelberg, about 20 minutes on the bus from Lauterbrunnen. It provides basic but very clean and comfortable accommodation. The log burning stoves throughout the house keep it lovely and warm.
The owners, Marc & Di are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble for them. They make you feel very welcome.

They can provide breakfast or you can do your own catering using the basement kitchen, which is massive and has everything you need to self cater. We stayed for 4 nights recently but didn't eat out once - mainly because it's too expensive with a family of 4 to feed and water, but also because it is a really nice experience coming back to the house after a busy day on the slopes, to prepare a simple family meal and eat in the dining room. A couple of beers afterwards in the cosy lounge area finishes the evenings off nicely.

There's loads to do in the surrounding area, we've only ever been in the winter and just done sledging, but that's great fun. The cable car to Murren is only 10 minutes away down the road, or pop to Lauterbrunnen on the bus and you can get to loads of really nice places from there, although Lauterbrunnen itself is rather nice.

There's a hotel less than 5 minutes walk away if you do fancy eating out, and a little shop a bit further, but we got our supplies from the Co-Op in Lauterbrunnen.
I have been here 3 times now, but this latest trip I also took my wife and children. My wife was a bit worried that it would be a little basic, but she loved it and wants to go back as soon as possible. She was even fine with not having an en-suite. The toilets and showers are never very far, just down the hall on each floor. Again both are spotlessly clean.

It really is a great place to stay. I can't really find any negatives, maybe the only thing I didn't like was the pillow on my bed. It wasn't the best pillow I've slept on, but I just put a blanket underneath it and I slept fine. We are going to drive there next time from the UK, so we'll just take our own pillows, or at least I will 'cos I'm fussy!

We would highly recommend the Alpenhof for it's all round comfort, location and value. No doubt there are some nicer places to stay, but as Switzerland is so expensive we didn't want to blow all our budget just on a nice hotel. This place suited us perfectly, and will do so again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XCTrainsDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

The Alpenhof in Stechelberg is situated at the end of the Lauterbrunnen valley. It is a wooden house with pine interior walls, so sound travels easily! The owners are English speaking, though fluent in German also. No TV in the house and shared shower / toilet facilities, these are clean and well maintained. A huge kitchen is available to all guests and gets busy in the evening, so plan meal times accordingly. Again this is kept clean with many huge pots and pans to use if catering for a large party. Guests are responsible for cleaning up their own mess.
The Alpenhof is great value for money in a very expensive area. If you like cheap, clean and friendly this is the place for you. If you like all the mod cons, go to an expensive rip-off hotel. The Alpenhof could easily be renamed the hotel California....you can check out, but you can never leave.

In a nutshell.... Value, Clean, Friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ell1618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights on our recent 8 day trip to Switzerland. We would have stayed at this hotel longer but they didn't have a room available for more days. Mark & Diane (owners) are very friendly and extremely helpful. They have a huge, self-service kitchen you are allowed to use to store and/or cook food. Mark even helped us make a cheese fondue which turned out delicious and at a fraction of the cost in a restaurant. The room is clean and very affordable when compared to all of the other hotels. We saved a lot of money by eating our own meals at their place with food we purchased at the local Coop. The hotel is located near the gondola that takes you up to Gimmelwald. From there you can go hiking or exploring on many excellent trails with amazing views. We highly recommend The Alpenhof and will stay there again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigbaddaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at the Alpenhof this month while visiting the Lauterbrunnen Valley. For those who want to spend their vacation dollars on the view and surroundings rather than the plush accommodations, this is the place. A bit spartan but comfortable - we stayed in a nice room with two beds and a little balcony as well. The view of the Alps was fantastic! Full kitchen accommodations available so you can prepare your own meals. The hosts, Marc and Diane, both speak English and are absolutely wonderful - they will accommodate your needs as best as they can. They even allowed us to hang our wet clothing (dryer at our previous stop had been broken after we'd used the washer) on their own clothesline. If we are ever back this way again (and I hope we will be!) we will certainly return.

Free parking - and a 15 minute walk down to the Schilthorn cable car. No internet but if you walk 10 minutes down toward the cable car station, there is a little shop on the left side of the road that we discovered has a wifi signal.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Modestly priced well run and beautifull establishment , but more can you wish.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patiala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Best place to stay, We go often, take friends and cook our own meals in a fabulous kitchen after a day of rigorous and beautiful hiking. Hosts are helpful and friendly. Accommodation clean, spare, good communal rooms for socializing with an international group of visitors. Privacy if desired. Highly recommend the Alpenhof.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socapoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I loved this place, of all the places we stayed on a 10 day stay. At the end of the Lauterbrunnen Valley, literally, with front porch views of a huge waterfall. What a treat!
Has a kitchen for cummunal use, comes with or without breakfast. Very basic rooms met all of our needs. Clean (not posh) is my main requirement and this place is perfect for me.
Hostel-like environment, but with all ages of clients. Can socialize or have privacy.
Hosts were helpful,making us feel at home. Hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDtheJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stechelberg
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
676 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
681 reviews
4.2 mi away
Grindelwaldblick
Grindelwaldblick
#1 of 3 in Kleine Scheidegg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stechelberg
Stechelberg
#1 of 1 in Stechelberg
44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alpenhof

Address: Stechelberg 3824, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Stechelberg
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stechelberg
Price Range: £51 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blissfully rural, located at the end of the Lauterbrunnen Valley. 2, 4 and 6 bedrooms with shared bathroom facilities. Self catering facilities or optional breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing