We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming mountain inn for hikers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stechelberg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berggasthaus Tschingelhorn
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcoming mountain inn for hikers”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here in early July in rooms 6 & 7 which both had glassed in balconies over the front of the inn. Everything was spotless and I was charged half instead of the usual full price for the use of a twin room. There is a shower down the hall with wood fired hot water, so advance notice is required, (4chf), two flush toilets and a communal wash area. Small overhead lights are powered by solar energy. Dinner and breakfast was excellent in the light and bright dining room. The views are stupendous! Sunset a treat, especially from our private glassed in sitting areas. Not all rooms had balconies.
They also had a small dorm for families or friends in the main building and a dorm (which I did not see) in the adjoining building.
The wildflowers were amazing on our walk up from Stechelberg.
The busy Obersteinberg inn is a 20 minute walk away and Alp cheese may be purchased there.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 & 7 had a glassed in balcony with chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gal2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I plus our two teenagers had a wonderful stay here, and we really can't say enough about it. At first, our reservation was for two nights. Even though we hiked up in a mist (still enjoyable,) the welcome we got from Brigitte and the accommodations made us decide immediately to stay for a third night. We agree with everything the previous reviewers said, except that we loved it even before the sky cleared. The view was absolutely jaw-dropping once it was clear, though, and our own private porch was a great place to sit and rest from the days' hikes. The beds were comfy and the breakfast and dinner were delicious (and vegetarian-friendly upon request.) The value was great, considering the meals and fabulous rooms with porches.
We did a couple of beautiful day hikes - one to waterfalls down in the valley and one up above the treeline toward Gimmelwald.
Don't hesitate to go to this place, and don't worry about luggage. What we did for our short stay was to store our suitcases in lockers at the Interlaken Ost train station (up to 3 days,) and take just a few clothes and necessities in day packs. For longer stays, they'll transport your luggage in their cool little cable transport, which delivered three pigs in a crate while we were there. The hike up to the place took us a while, but was lovely and SO worth it!
We traveled all around Europe this summer for three weeks, and this was the best!

Room Tip: The double rooms with porches at the front of the inn have the most spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We loved staying here - the feeling of totally getting away from the hustle and bustle of life is worth the climb up the mountain! We visited with our son and daughter in law. We had two rooms with balconies - the rooms are large and basic but comfortable. The views are just amazing! The experience is fantastic and we will remember it for a long time :). We watched the sun set - the mountains turned pink. Brigitte cooked us a lovely meal - big portions and fantastic rosti. We hope to return soon. Brigitte even provided some ointment for my husband's twisted ankle. Many thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I agree completely with the previous reviewer's (Lucy 111) comments. This was our fourth stay in twenty five years. Accommodation is basic, a shower is an extra 4 swiss francs and there is a communal wash area and several modern toilets, all spotlessly clean. As the guesthouse generates its own electricity there is just enough light after supper to read in bed or linger in the dining room to play cards or chat with other hikers who are usually from several nationalities. There is no wifi but the phone signal is good.A number of the bedrooms have private balconies with quite the most stunning views on a clear day. Supper is four courses, usually clear soup,salad,meat,fruit salad. Breakfast includes cheese, cereals, honey and jams and on the last occasion,eggs. There is an outside garden and eating area where snacks and hiker-friendly food are served during the day or you can just sit and watch the goats wander off to be milked or the hens cluck by. We bought home-made yak salami as our souvenir, yes they keep three yaks. When we first came here most of the provisions were brought up by mule, now there is a very efficient pully system between the valley and the guest house. Tschingelhorn can only be reached after a somewhat arduous but not difficult uphill climb but once you get to the top you are more than rewarded by wonderful scenery with many options for the next day or two's hiking and a friendly and warm welcome from your host. My main tip is to check the weather forecast before you book since a clear sky makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view and the other end from the washing area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A very warm welcome, decent food in generous portions (with second helpings) and a large mug of Suure cider, simple rooms in a beautiful traditional wooden house, advice for the next day's hike (also in English), pots of Mürmeltiersalbe (marmot-grease with herbs - sounds disgusting but great for tired legs) for sale. Really nice, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stechelberg
6.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
452 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
590 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stechelberg
Stechelberg
#1 of 1 in Stechelberg
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Alpenhof
The Alpenhof
#1 of 1 in Stechelberg
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berggasthaus Tschingelhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berggasthaus Tschingelhorn

Property: Berggasthaus Tschingelhorn
Address: Stechelberg 3824, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Stechelberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Stechelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing