We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“360 degree beauty”
Review of Stechelberg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stechelberg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stechelberg
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“360 degree beauty”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Ok, if you want to be in the middle of the Swiss Alps with minimal amounts of people and close to the Shilthorn and Jungfrau Cable cars, this is the place. Wouldn't probably recommend it without a car although the bus comes right up to the hotel. The rooms were basic but clean and neat. The views were incredible. This place is family owned and operated. Marianne runs the place and her husband is the chef at their little restaurant. Many of the locals come up to eat and chat with the owners. The place is very quiet and peaceful. Switzerland is a very expensive country so be aware of that. We really enjoyed the family atmosphere and the cooking. Very good food and great company to really learn the culture. A couple of tips: wifi is only available in the restaurant. Our lodge across the street had no wifi. We ended up spending most evenings at the restaurant, playing cards and just enjoying the company along with having dinner. For some reason you have to ask for soap (found this to be the case in Austria too.). Also, they have some strange electrical plugs that are not the typical 2 pronged round ones found in Europe. Just ask Marianne and she will bring you the converters. We loved this place and its family friendly, peaceful location.

Room Tip: We really liked room 27. It's on a corner and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    16
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
20
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Underwood, In
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We ran across this family run hotel on our recent trip to Europe purely by accident. It was in the most beautiful setting, and the family that runs the place does an outstanding job. The husband is a chef and makes everything from scratch, his homemade bread is not to be outdone!

We had a room with a balcony the first night that overlooked the mountains and had a wonderfully deep bath tub to soak in. The second night we had to switch to a small room with a shared bathroom (I don't recommend that at all!). It's located a short hike from the Schilthorn gondola and on the path to endless hiking trails for all levels of hikers.

I hope that I get the chance to go back to Stechelberg again, two days wasn't enough to enjoy all this area has to offer!

Room Tip: Make sure, if you have the $, to get a room with an attached bathroom! Also, I recommend getting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is family run and has been for generations. The hotel is located at the end of the road, it is a dead-end surrounded by mountains, walking paths and fast-flowing river.

The rooms are basic, but very clean and most have a TV. All have a wash basin in the room, some have ensuite but others have toilet and showers on the floor which are always kept clean.

The rooms are all heated in winter and there is Wifi in the public areas.

The food is very good and the hotel offers a half-board option.

The hotel is easy to get to as the Post Bus (Swiss local bus service) terminates right outside the hotel and the bus starts from right outside Lauterbrunnen Railway Station so connection with the train from Interlaken to Lauterbrunnen is very easy.

The hotel is very reasonable for the area and I have been visiting for over ten years now, with always a warm welcome.

The Shilthorn Bahn cable car station to Murren and up to the Shilthorn mountain is only a short distance away of 3/4 or a down-hill walk, or even by postbus.

Room Tip: If you want to pay extra then you can have ensuite but the basic rooms are also very good value and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rw2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Macero, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

At roads end in this beautiful valley surrounded by vertical rock walls and waterfalls is this lovely, quaint inn. Very quiet and comfortable. Also, very good food. Just a lovely experience with bus service just out the front door or many trails close by to explore this pretty valley or the beautiful Swiss Alps.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

It was nearly 22 years ago that I rambled up this valley in my little bus and beheld a hotel nestled snugly on a throne-like plateau looking over the small but breathtaking valley. Over the years, I have shared this hideaway of natural beauty with only a chosen few...and I will be coming back this June with my best beloved childhood friend to celebrate her birthday up on the trails in the land of the Swiss Middle Earth..
This is the place to shake out the cobwebs of citylife,,slow yourself down and breathe in the beauty and the fresh air!.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

After longs days of great hiking it is nice to come back to this quiet Hotel only minutes away by Postal Bus from touristy Lauterbrunnen. Our double room was cozy, neat and clean with comfortable beds. There was a sink inside the room for washing. The shower was conveniently located down the hallway. The menu selection in the Restaurant was excellent as was the quality of food and cooking. We especially enjoyed the Swiss type breakfast buffet and the friendly staff who served us. This is the second time we stayed at Hotel Stechelberg and it will not be the last. If you are looking for a simple and practical place to stay, for a reasonable price, we highly recommend Hotel Stechelberg.

Room Tip: Rooms facing either up or down the valley are quieter with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This was our seventh trip to Switzerland and we were sorry it took us so long to stay in this spectacular location at the far end of the Lauterbrunnen Valley. The bus line and the road end here, an easy 15-20 minute ride from the town of Lauterbrunnen. The hotel was very nice; we were in the lovely new wing of the main lodge, in Room 6. The room was spotless and wireless internet worked fine. The area is pitch-black and silent at night and we slept very soundly. Breakfast (included) was good and substantial, with cereals, breads, cheeses, meat, and soft-boiled eggs. We ate dinners there and they were excellent and reasonably priced by Switzerland standards. Most employees spoke very little English, but this is Switzerland, after all, and they were welcoming and friendly to both visitors and locals. This is a great place to stay to enjoy a less commercialized part of the area, out of view of the cable cars, etc., but right next to dramatic mountains, waterfalls, glaciers and excellent hiking trails. Note: If you book in advance, bring your confirmation with you to deal with any issues related to the language barrier. (Ours were easily resolved.)

Room Tip: Request your preference of either a room in the new wing or the older building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stechelberg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
Hotel Restaurant Schutzen
#7 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silberhorn
Hotel Silberhorn
#1 of 7 in Lauterbrunnen
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alpenruh
Hotel Alpenruh
#4 of 11 in Murren
244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#8 of 20 in Wengen
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stechelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stechelberg

Property: Stechelberg
Address: Lauterbrunnen, Stechelberg 3824, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Stechelberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stechelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stechelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stechelberg Hotel Stechelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing