We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montilleul
Nearby Hotels
Premiere Classe Pau - Bizanos(Pau)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
QualityInns.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Suites Appart Pau(Pau)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Budget Pau Est(Pau)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
30
34
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
34
8
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is good value for money, the room we had was clean and spacious the owner was very obliging and friendly allowing us to change the arrival date as I had selected the wrong date. Definitely stay here again and would recommend others. Ken & Lynda Bournemouth UK

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We intended to stay only 1 night in Pau en route from Bordeaux to the Pyrenees. Due to the floods in SW France mid June '13, we arrived earlier, and ended up staying 4 nights in this very friendly hotel. Their flexibility was extremely welcome.
Location perfect (15' from town; quiet; off-road parking).
Perfect owners / hosts
Great breakfasts
Clean and very cheerful.
As another reviewer noted, and I second:
"The only negative was that our en-suite did not have a door between it and the bedroom but a curtain to separate the two rooms, which was not as private as we would have wished!"
.. and another:
"We had terrible weather and Gabriel was very eager to suggest what we might do instead of walking in the mountains." Indeed: the owners went out of their way to chatter and provide ideas (and the loan of a local guide book) on how best to exploit the area.
Pau itself is steeped in Henry IV history, although you can take it or leave it. There's plenty more to see and do .. especially when the clouds clear!
All in all, it was an extremely positive experience - enough to make us go back and stay to explore further.. and perhaps finally reach the French Pyrenees, which were cut off this year. Here's hoping the people of Saint-Beat and Lourdes etc. have the resources to get this walking region back on the tourist map next year. "Courage"!

Room Tip: Room tip: (similar to another reviewer :) I'm not sure if all the rooms are the same but try to get one with a proper door between bedroom and bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel-Budapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We cannot say enough positive things about this delightful hotel--more like a B&B--just 20 minutes' walking time from the historic section of Pau. Gabriel and Marie-Paule (plus Sam, their dog) made us feel right at home with conversation, good advice on transportation and sightseeing, and down-home friendliness. The hotel is on the busline to the historic area, so walking is not necessary, and there is also good-sized parking lot at the hotel if you have a car. The hotel rooms are simple and small, but adequate, and are well cared-for. There is free wi-fi, though ours was a bit spotty in the room. However, our hosts allowed us to sit in the breakfast room or small salon, where all worked fine. Breakfast was delicious, with a variety of items: the standard croissants and pains au chocolat, but also local cheese, yogurt, cereal, and fruit, plus two kinds of juice and of course hot-drink options.

Marie-Paule and Gabriel do all the work, from preparing and serving breakfast to cleaning the 20+ rooms. But they always have time for a talk (in French, German, or English) and advice.

The hotel is very convenient for getting out into the countryside or the mountains to the south (which you can see from the city on a clear day. All in all, a lovely and very affordable place to stay. My only recommendation would be that the rooms be equipped with small fans for hot weather--which we experienced (and which might be unusual).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryland_Mike55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Excellent lodgings, with a warm welcome by the genial owners, who were glad to help us with driving directions to our sightseeing destinations around Pau. (They also speak English and German.) The hotel is in a 100-year old villa in a residential area a mile out from the historic district. We stayed three nights in Chambre 16 with a view of big old trees. At dinnertime we drove down to the big free parking at the Place de Verdun and walked a few blocks to restaurants in the historic district.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatonsvilleGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a clean, cozy bed and breakfast situated in Pau, a tiny historic city in the heart of Pyre´nee´s-Atlantiques, on the banks of Gave de Pau a tributary of the River Ardour. It is walking distance from the University of Pau as well.
The bed and breakfast is run by a wonderful couple, communicating with us in spite of our rather rudimentary French giving us a lots of information about the place and ways to get around, including lending us their detailed road maps, tips and warnings about weather, tour de France, other issues, in short treating us like family. The rooms are clean and functional including a good wi-fi; there’s free parking space in the front as well. We grew fond of this place and Monsieur et Madame, and will recommend to anyone who wishes to go to this part of the world.
A little bit about Pau: Pau is about an hour to a couple of hours drive from Lourdes, Gascon, Toulouse and the Parc National Des Pyrenees. A gorgeous medieval castle called Chateau de Pau where King Henry IV was born in 1553 is walking distance (20-30 min) from Hotel Montilleul. There are some really wonderful restaurants near this area as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pow J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews