We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the center of Pau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Ellicottville, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the center of Pau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Very nice hotel in the center of the city within walking distance of it all. There was free parking in a garage nearby and the staff was very nice. Breakfast was standard and filling. The rooms were large and comfortable if not a bit bizarrely decorated with what seemed like a mismatch of old and new furniture. Good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broctoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    120
    50
    33
    15
See reviews for
48
103
19
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

From the picture of the outside my expectations where not high, but how wrong I was. The reception staff where extremely courteous and helpful which every member of staff was on duty. The room was a delight with wonderful views of the snow capped Pyrennes (even if restricted) and a large corner bath for an evening soak.

Hotel is also only a few minutes walk from the town centre, fountain square and promenade, all mostly pedestrianised. Pau is a wonderful city to walk around and the views !!!

Quick Tips. Pizzeria diagonally opposite the hotel is modestly priced and very good.
If taking a car to the hotel there is hotel garage parking but suggest arrange directions and access code in advanced as parking around the hotel is very limited

This is one of the best 3 start hotels I have stayed in and if ever back in Pau would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed here on business for four nights- not a pleasant experience. Rooms are dated and smell fusty and the breakfast left alot to be desired. Beds uncomfortable and it was almost impossible to open a window (apart from the bathroom one) so I hope there is never a fire. Could be a fantastic hotel if some money was spent on it, beautiful old building with ornate stair cases and high ceilings but in desperate need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the rooms that has been recently decorated, the first one I was allocated w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun48_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Stayed here on business last week, room very drab and in need of some serious upgrade although the room and bathroom were clean, my room was on level 5 at the back of the hotel, the views were not great and it was very hot up there, I had the windows wide open all night but as there is no air con it did become quite uncomfortable.
Breakfast was quite poor, coffee out of a machine and very limited choice of food which didn't look very appealing my associate who stayed on level 4 had similar complaints and said the food was dreadful , this Hotel needs some TLC and lots of money spending on it, on the up side the reception staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful. Excellent location for Pau everthing on your door step.

Room Tip: Try and stay on the lower floors unless you like the heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Excellent hotel with friendly English speaking staff in a superb location within walking distance of everything. Free underground parking 50m away, and free internet in lobby. Good evening meal very reasonably priced. Your GPS will take you to the door in Pau's extremely complex one way system of narrow streets, but you need to be aware that the last 300m of the approach is on a one way street which is busses only, but there is a narrow slip road - which is signed on a very small street sign - on the left hand side just for cars to access the hotel which you can see in the distance, to park to drop your bags and check in before you go to the car park.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EGLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Was very nervous when we pulled up at the hotel which was a bit like the Marie Celeste when we stayed on a Sunday in October. Looked very dark and drab and not a soul about. The very nice receptionist upgraded us to a room on fourth floor which was a lovely surprise - large with a seating area and big bathroom - in the room but screened by glass blocks (separate wc). Very good value for the price we paid. Couldn't make my mind up about Pau !! Some lovely parts with upmarket shops and the chateau is fabulous however lots of really shabby bits, horrible blocks of flats and graffiti everywhere. And the pavements !!!! Some very dirty dogs in Pau with even dirtier owners ! What a shame.

Room Tip: all the rooms appear to be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasonedraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Well located, the BW is on a street corner fairly close to the town centre, a short walk up from the river. It has private underground car parking (very short walk from the hotel) but it should be noted that the entrance is actually within the one way bus lanes, which makes for an interesting arrival. Our very charming receptionist spent several minutes explaining to me how to manoeuvre the one way system all of which seemed to involve going the wrong up the one-way system and after attempting my own variations, finally resulted in just that. Our room on the third floor must rank as one the best rooms we’ve ever had based on price alone, large room, lovely large bed and enormous bathroom, all in very sharp decoration. The real downside, the two French windows, each with electronically operated external shutters (excellent black out) look out very closely onto adjacent buildings and across the roof tops of Pau, and in truth its not the best view I’ve ever had, but then for €80.00 per night I was not expecting the pyramids, and this would certainly not deter me from staying here again. Pau itself has rather more to offer than the guides suggest and the walk along the Boulevard des Pyrenees was a really impressive introduction to the town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmriic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pau hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Pau Centre Bosquet
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parc Beaumont
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roncevaux
Hotel Roncevaux
#7 of 32 in Pau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Gramont
Hotel de Gramont
#13 of 32 in Pau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bosquet
Hotel Bosquet
#11 of 32 in Pau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inter-hotel Montpensier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental
Address: 2 rue du Marechal Foch, 64000 Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees > Pau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Pau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Continental
Best Western Pau
Pau Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing