We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Sunshine by the pool/beach/mountain. Good wine...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of domaine tournesol

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Carl R
1 review
“Sunshine by the pool/beach/mountain. Good wine and food. Warm welcome.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a great couple of weeks. Kay and Neil were wonderful (friendly, helpful, highly professional), the gite was excellent and well situated for exploring the all that the region offers. I'm sure we'll be back.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always pleased when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Domaine Tournesol and we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes for the future. Kindest regards Kay and Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
masons100
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place is a bit of a hidden gem; a 2 bedroom gite set in the heart of the Madiran countryside, a wine growing region renown for its Tannat grapes. As a family of four we stayed for 1 week in July. Upon arrival we were met by Neil and Kay (the owners) for a welcome reception (ice cold drinks, nibbles etc.). They live next door (part of a complex of old buildings) but are extremely respectful of your privacy and remain very discreet; they are close by if you ever need anything - they recommended a couple of wonderful restaurants in Lourdes (up by the golf course) and Lembeye (Restaurant de la tour). 2 good size bedrooms and an excellent shower room upstairs, fully equipped kitchen and an open lounge area with breakfast bar, dining table, sofas downstairs. Outdoor courtyard with dining set up along with a BBQ. Ample space outdoors with sun loungers, chairs, terrace, garden and pool. Games, DVD’s and TV (UK channels) on hand if needed – that said, weather was hot and sunny when we there so pool really came in to its’ own: glorious days splashing about in the pool under clear blue skies and then an evening of board games outdoors on the terrace. You can also use their fruit/vegetable/herb garden where you can pick your own tomatoes, peppers, onions, beetroot, aubergines, strawberries, raspberries, blackcurrants, mint etc. – perfect for freshly cooked meals. Pyrenees are about 1 hour away and Pau is about 30 mins away so plenty to see and do. There are also many vineyards in the vicinity so a wine tasting tour is a must. Madiran is about a 15 min walk away – an ideal way of stretching the legs in the morning to collect freshly baked bread from the village shop for the wife and kids. This is an area of France that is not as touristy or commercial as other similar regional settings – it is rural, peaceful and idyllic: Bats at night, lizards during the day.
I can honestly say this is one of the best holidays that we have ever had; with such wonderful owners we would strongly recommend this place.
Thank you Neil & Kay!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
We are always happy to accept our guests reviews & value the time they take to write them, in this case a very big thank you to you & your lovely family for the travel log! Brilliant, thanks so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fozzyozzy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing, relaxing holiday in a beautiful corner of France.”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Difficult to speak highly enough of this holiday destination. The property is on a country road between Madiran and Crousseilles surrounded by agricultural fields, so don't be surprised by the odd tractor passing. It is also well located to visit the Pyrenees, Biarritz and even San Sebastien over the border. The property and its hosts were the best we've experienced. Kay and Neil were extremely welcoming and were very helpful with what to visit and where to park. We spent two weeks here and the vast majority of our time was spent enjoying the superb pool (luckily the weather was perfect for cooling off in it ☀️).The gite itself was well-equipped and a cool retreat on hot days. Our linen and towels were changed mid way through our fortnight and the English freeview channels helped us to enjoy the Olympics. The wifi is a bit hit and miss and the dishwasher a bit small for a family of four. But Domaine Tournesol was a hit for us - we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and will surely return.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Th pool and garden
Liked least: Dishwasher
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It is always satisfying to know that our visitors have had a wonderful time and enjoyed the area and facilities and that has hosts we too are appreciated.

Kind regards

Kay and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jujohn
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous place, gorgeous pool and garden, perfect hosts”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Attractive well appointed old courtyard of old buildings. Well modernised, taste and comfortable inside. Plenty of places to sit in sun or shade, distant views of Pyrenees on clear days. Beautiful garden, a highlight being able to help ourselves to seasonal salad, tomatoes, herbs, strawberries and raspberries. Good sized pool, well kept, easy access, spent happy hours dipping in and drying off in the sun along with the lizards.
Myriad little roads to wander in, honey buzzards, black kites, kestrels seen many times. Lots of old appealing towns and villages for very good food. Liking duck helps..... But our vegetarian friend who visited loved the cepe omelettes and the wide range of cheese and vegetables from the market.
Whilst we were there there were festivals on in every other town or village. In Madiran, Aydie and Maubourget there was a set of photographic exhibitions well worth seeing. Pau is beautiful for a wander on its wide boulevard with mountain views. Les falaise aux vautours at Aste Beon is very much worth a visit to see the griffin vultures soaring overhead. The visitor centre is informative with a lovely shady picnic area by it.
We were there 2 weeks and had hot sunny days, warm sunny days, warm cloudy days, cooler sunny days and thunderstorms a couple of times.
We loved this holiday and the icing on the cake were Kay and Neil, the owners.They live next door. They are available helpful informative and kind if they are needed, but never intrusive. They made us feel as though it was our own home for the time we were there.
If rural but not remote France is what you are after book this.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pickings fresh fruit vegetables and herbs with a view of the Pyrenees
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Well what can we say to a such a super comprehensive guide to a lesser known part of South West France, we have enjoyed your company & now your kind comments, sincere thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshirex
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value & well equipped gite”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a great value gite, with just about everything you need. It's very well equipped and clean. The pool is a good size (10 × 5) and there is lots of outdoor space. Kay and Neil are excellent hosts, available when you need to ask a question, but not at all intrusive - it was a pleasure to meet them.

This is a rural location so a car is a must, but it is pretty quiet with a proper dark sky full of stars at night.

We have stayed in quite a few properties in the south west of France and this was one of the best; we would definitely think about a return visit.

Thank you Kay and Neil for a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for finding the time to post these lovely comments, it is always appreciated when our guests take time out to comment on their stay, it was pleasure to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita S
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Gite”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a lovely stay at Domaine Tournesol in June 2016. The owners couldn't do enough to help and the gardens and pool were lovely. We went into the Pyrenees several times during our stay, approximately 1.5 hrs drive, which were dramatic and well worth a visit. We also explored locally including the quiet village of Madiran and a vinyard.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for finding the time to post your positive review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Domaine Tournesol.
We greatly value your custom & your kind comments
Kindest regards
Kay & Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairet54...
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Domain Tournesol for one week in August this year. The gite is extremely clean, modern and met all our needs. The weather we experienced was a mixed bag - several very hot days which we could then use to soak up the sun around the wonderful swimming pool, and enjoying BBQs outside. The gite had a lovely selection of games and DVDs to while away the hours when the weather was not so good.

Kay and Neil could not be more helpful, although they are right next door they keep themselves very discreet, but are more than happy to suggest places to visit or check the local weather forecast!

Pau is most definitely worth a visit, a beautiful city with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants, the little land train gave a good insight to the history and took us places we would not have seen. Lourdes was also interesting but a cross between the peace and serenity of St Paul's cathedral, with all the tatty tourist shops of Blackpool....very odd!

Would definitely recommend this gite to anyone wanting to explore this area of France.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming pool
Liked least: Small fridge
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.