We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet Peaceful Gite”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of domaine tournesol

Welcome to Domaine Tournesol in the heart of the Madiran wine growing region.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Domaine Tournesol in the heart of the Madiran wine growing region.
This original wine farm as been transformed into a wonderful family home Relax in the sun.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Welcome to Domaine Tournesol in the heart of the Madiran wine growing region.
This original wine farm as been transformed into a wonderful family home
Relax in the sun.
The ground floor accomadtion.
Leave behind the heat of the day and relax in the cool interior of the contemporary lounge
Naturally shaded, tranquil spots in which to sit, read a book or listen to your music.
feel free to pick seasonal fruit and vegetables from our potager.
Aperitif and dinner al-fresco in the courtyard garden.
Enjoy wine tasting at Chateau Crouseilles.
Panoramic views and vineyard walks from Chateau Crouseilles.
The region is famous for its Tannet grape.
Historic Pau with its wonderful churches, museums, restaurants and chic boutiques.
People watch on the Boulavard de Pyrenee, Pau Centre Ville.
Looking for authentic Tapas? The vibrant Spanish city of San Sabastien is just 2hrs from your gite.
Do you enjoy hiking and walking, Gavarnie boasts the highest waterfall in Europe.
The stunning Pyrenees featuring the Pic du Midi and its breathtaking views.
Stages 18 and 19 of the 2018 Tour de France in Pau and Lourdes. A international sporting event.
View the historic Pau Grand Prix on youtube before the exhilarating experience of this live event.
Take a cool dip in your private pool
Wisteria covered walls
Varied flora and fauna
Wonderful scenery in the High Pyrenees at the Cirque de Troumouse
Relax in the sun and 'top up' your tan.
Selection of seasonal vegetables for our guests.
A splash of colour!!
Morning sunshine May 2016
Your terrace view.
A shaded view from beneath the walnut tree
A warm welcome awaits you on the cool front terrace.
'Bright linen and thick fluffy towels'
Take a stroll along 3 kilometres of golden beaches at Hendaye
The enchanting Basque town of Hondarribia.
Sample amazing  pintxos
Winter sun in Marciac
Surfing in Biarritz.
Wonderful views from the extensive coastal walks in Biarritz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pau, Communaute d'Agglomeration Pau-Pyrenees, Bearn-Basque Country, Pyrenees-Atlantiques, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Nicky P
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Peaceful Gite”
Reviewed 5 July 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Kay and Neil are warm and welcoming and so helpful, we would have liked to spend more time there. The gite is modern, very clean, airy and comfortable with everything you need! The garden is very pretty but sadly it was a little chilly for us to try the inviting pool that week. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and would definitely stay there again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our property and we too wish the weather had been kinder during your stay. Should you return we hope the weather will be warm and sunny.
Kind regards

Kay and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Place To Relax”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Absolutely stunning location.
Gite was perfectly equipped with everything we needed, pool was great, and the gardens were immaculate.
Kay & Neil were great hosts and really knowlegdeable about the local area, things to do, the best places to eat etc.
Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review. It’s is always nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their time at Domaine Tournesol and that Neil and I have somehow helped to make your stay more enjoyable. Kind regards

Kay and Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer1138...
1 review
“A Rural Retreat”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The hosts were so welcoming.The starter pack was such a surprise and enabled us to have a decent coffee at breakfast to start the day.The suggestions of what to do enabled (x9/2.b6 jugs to do things we would havenot been aware of.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Getaway80...
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Gite”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just returned from this lovely gite. Spacious and particularly thoughtfully equipped. The pool was a real treat - having it all to ourselves - perfect temperature. We were bowled over when we arrived - quite late and tired after a long journey to be greeted by Kay and tea, beer, gin and tonic, bread and cheese etc... what a lovely start to our holiday. We'd never been to this part of France before but would definitely recommend it - the annual jazz festival in Marciac was on while we stayed so we went over there quite a lot. I don't think we've stayed in such a well equipped gite as this before and we really did feel that Kay and Neil had gone out of their way to make sure we had the best holiday possible. A very professional and friendly couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
We are overwhelmed with your gracious comments. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Domaine Tournesol. It is good to know our hard work is appreciated and that you both were able to relax and enjoy Jazz in the South West of France. Best wishes for the future Kay and Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our holiday home, garden and pool. It really was a pleasure to welcome you to Domaine Tournesol. Kind regards Kay and Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jujohn
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just as good a second time around”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We returned to this beautiful area for a second holiday and were delighted to have done so.
The house is so comfortable, clean and pleasantly stylish, the garden is gorgeous, the pool is bliss on a hot day. We enjoyed the fruit and veg patch and loved having fresh salad leaves and herbs whenever we wished.
We had interesting days out in Pau and Auch. We went to the local art festival of photographs which we enjoyed greatly. We again went into the Pyrenees to see the vultures, well worth a visit. We ate delicious food at very reasonable prices especially at lunchtime. The market in Maubourget was full of goodies. We got delightfully lost in the little country lanes: one day we saw a fawn, another day a red squirrel. The bird life is wonderful around the house: after rain the green woodpeckers were much in evidence on the front lawns, the kites and buzzards keep us entertained for hours, we saw many black redstarts and beautiful jays.
Kay and Neil are welcoming hosts, interesting, kind and friendly and never intrusive. We would recommend a visit to Domaine Tournesol unreservedly and would hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
It is always lovely to receive a wonderful review, more so when it comes from guests who have chosen to re visit our holiday home. Once again we are thrilled with your comments especially those that relate to this area, it's beautiful towns, markets stunning countryside and abundant wildlife. It was a pleasure to have enjoyed your company once again. Neil and Kay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl R
1 review
“Sunshine by the pool/beach/mountain. Good wine and food. Warm welcome.”
Reviewed 25 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a great couple of weeks. Kay and Neil were wonderful (friendly, helpful, highly professional), the gite was excellent and well situated for exploring the all that the region offers. I'm sure we'll be back.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We are always pleased when guests have enjoyed their stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Domaine Tournesol and we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes for the future. Kindest regards Kay and Neil.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing