We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Essentiel

L'Essentiel
Ranked #8 of 205 Restaurants in Perigueux
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Seated on the quiet terrace, my meal started with a refreshing trilogy of tomatoes as an amouse bouche. The girolles in a delicate pastry was accompanied by a perfect piece of hot foie gras. The veal with girolles & truffle potato were a perfect match, and I ended my meal with a raspberry 'clafooutis'. A delicious meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    58
    23
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been coming here for 5 years so our special meal yesterday was no 'flash in the pan'.
The choice at lunch included several good wines by the glass [try the honeyed Monbazillac]. Quite the most marvellous food from the tomato amuse bouche, through exquisitely prepared foie gras, to delicate veal or elegant sea bream to finish with the glorious chocolate and hazelnut cracknel cylinder topped with coffee and further enhanced with a tray of dainty chocolates, preserved orange peel and tiny Bordeaux pastries. The quantity served was judged perfectly, but when I finished I wished I could start all over again! Service was, as ever, correct and friendly.
A wonderful dining experience and well worth the bill!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Taste but presentation is a little boring !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The restaurant has not much of view, rather small dining rooms linked together.. can get a little claustrophobic when the dinner gets too long and the rooms gets a little warm...

Must say that all the dishes was created with much passion as they all tasted excellent, with good quality and fresh ingredients, subtle sauces and seasonings.. a treat to your palette.

The only setback is that most dishes are presented in similar ways.... with some foam at the top, cream based sauce... though with some variation in acidity, spices and herbs.., some veges or roots beneath the main ingredient in a tower styled..... so u see.. there is no surprise elements in the dishes... and you will say... not foam again ! but honestly , they tasted great though they looked very much the same... But we started to get bored and fiddlish as the wait was rather long, the room gets warmer for some reaons, and there is nothing much to look around in the small room. So even with such good tasting dish.... u don't quite feel excited or relaxed.. Will probably give it another chance when i revisit periguex... perhaps to sit outdoor !
Hopefully the chef would have improved its presentation on the dishes to kill some boredom....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great value One Michelin Star Restaurant deserves more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Run by a husband and wife team - they greeted us at the door on arrival - L'Essentiel offers excellent value for money and superb cuisine. Polished friendly service - we enjoyed sitting out on the rear terrace next to a tinkling fountain - was always attentive, and the choice on the menu and the quality was unbeatable, combined with the best ingredients of the Perigord and the wines of the region.
Just round the corner from the Cathedral and the view of the river, there are a couple of dining rooms and covered terraces front and back. But the focus is on the food - unbeatable at this standard for this price, and so great value.
Watch out for Michelin confusion - the link on viaMichelin goes to a similarly named restaurant in Dunkerque!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“This 'great restaurant' just gets better ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

A wonderful lunch experience.

The amouse bouche was a light avocado mousse, served with herbs, a tasty dressing & a parmesan biscuit. The cepe mushroom croustillant on a bed of scallops was magnificent. Noisette of chicken with hot foie gras & a truffled potato gratin sensational. The most sublime meal ! Desert was a refreshing pineapple served with a slightly over fragranced lychee sorbet.

Comfortable dining room, friendly staff & believe me, when I say this chef can prepare a meal, he is fantastic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Essentiel also viewed

 
Perigueux, Dordogne
 

Been to L'Essentiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing