We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of Bristol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bristol Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Perigueux
Grand Turk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

From the outside, this hotel looks like a box and quite depressing. But the room had a wonderful little feel to it and was most comfortable. Shower exceptional and bed very comfortable. English news channel. Hosts were so friendly and helpful and let us check in way before check in time which can be so nice when you need it (or it's pouring rain outside!). About a five minute walk from the medieval centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    89
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
84
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vayrac, France
Level Contributor
221 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

My wife and I had been warned by previous reviews not to expect an attractive exterior to this hotel. They were right. But our room was clean, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom excellent. The receptionist (manager? owner?) was very friendly and helpful. The small car park was full when we arrived but we were able to park for free on the street outside. Perigueux is not easy to navigate, especially on a freezing winter night. However, we spotted the Hotel Bristol street signs early on and they guided us in very well. €97 for two people, including a good breakfast, in a central location with free parking struck us as very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Molepolole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Nebraska
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I didn´t expect much from an older hotel in Perigeaux, but I was surprised. The room is relatively large by Euro standards, up to date and very charming. There was a genuine king size bed (not two twins pushed together), and two comfortable chairs, along with a nice bathroom and very hot water shower. The TV had the BBC in English, and wifi was adequate. There is a refrigerator and safe. The only negative was a somewhat noisy heating unit (which is also the AC), and though my room was quiet, you could get some interior noise due to lack of any soundproofing. The reception clerk didn´t speak English, but we managed okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We were only supposed to stay in Périgueux for 2 nights but extended our stay to 6 nights when a situation with our rental car didn't work out. The owners of the hotel had no problem accommodating our lengthened stay in the double comfort room. We checked in about 3 hours early (before our room had been cleaned), and the staff rushed to get our room ready so that we could get settled in as soon possible. It was so sweet of them! There was a minor problem with our key card at first, but the staff were also very helpful with that. The room was beautiful and spacious. The double comfort rooms have mini refrigerators, which are a wonderful luxury in Périgueux! It was fantastic to buy delicious goods at the Saturday and Wednesday markets and keep them in the refrigerator to enjoy over the course of our stay. I pity anybody who visits Périgueux and doesn't have access to a refrigerator! We ordered breakfast delivered to our room twice (at 10 euros each, but it's worth it considering it's only a euro more than having breakfast downstairs!). Breakfast was very yummy and "adorable", which is why we just had to get it twice! As though all of this weren't enough to make us thrilled with our stay, the owners of the hotel (a husband and wife) went above and beyond to help my fiancé and me. At check-out time, there was a problem with my debit card (since it didn't have the European "chip" on it...be careful, Bristol doesn't have a card swiper at their reception desk!). The owner suggested that I go to the nearest ATM and get cash, but at that point I was so scared because we had a train to catch in just 30 minutes, and it was a decent walk to the station with our luggage! I was terrified that we were going to miss our train back to Paris! She told me to go to the ATM, and that her husband would load up our suitcases and drive us to the train station. Wow. I have never received such personal and helpful service in all of my experiences as a traveler. They were not upset at all about the inconvenience and simply wanted to help us and make sure that we didn't miss our train. The Bristol did put a dent in my wallet, but for the unbeatable location and hospitality, I'd say that it was worth it!!

Room Tip: Double comfort rooms have a refrigerator! In the end you'll save money by not eating at restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Good location, quiet. We spent 4 nights here. Not luxurious, but clean and had the amenities you needed. Free parking. The parking lot was small but we had no problems finding parking on the street. Staff was friendly. Price was great. Would stay here again if we return to Perigueux.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whlwtchr68133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We booked at this hotel as it was the only hotel which had availability for a triple room other than the comfort hotel near the train station. I'm very glad we chose this one as it is in a much better location than the comfort hotel.

Reception staff friendly and tolerant of my terrible French speaking!

Room was basic but clean. bathroom was very nice, with a separate small toilet room across the hall.

Free WI-Fi! Brilliant.

I found perigueux itself rather dull with not much to divert us other than shops.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logan_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Our stay at the Bristol was very nice. The room was large and so was the bath. This hotel doesn't pretend to be chic or up to the minute - the decor is utilitarian rather than stylish, the continental breakfast adequate. It is what I call a honest hotel. No frills, no surprises. Our room was impeccably clean, the welcoming warm, the location central and the bill small. It was my first visit to the town, which by the way is lovely. While Perigueux is not a shopping destination, it certainly is a foodie's paradise, and I'd recommend it as a base from which to explore the surrounding area, especially St. Emilion, now one of my top 5 places in the world.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perigueux hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Perigueux Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Perigueux Centre
Ibis Perigueux Centre
#2 of 11 in Perigueux
560 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fasthotel Perigueux
Fasthotel Perigueux
#3 of 11 in Perigueux
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Barris
Hotel des Barris
#9 of 11 in Perigueux
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Perigueux Centre
2.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Perigueux Trelissac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Hotel

Property: Bristol Hotel
Address: 37 rue Antoine Gadaud, 24000, Perigueux, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Perigueux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Perigueux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing