We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Epicurien

L'Epicurien
Ranked #7 of 205 Restaurants in Perigueux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A pedestrian street in the historic district of PÉRIGUEUX. A former(old) building with a thick studded wooden door. Three rooms and a privative patio with an intimist and authentic decoration(set) of old stones and exposed beams. Between friends, in family, for a business lunch or in a group, the Restaurant THE EPICUREAN welcomes you in a completely decorated again and uncluttered friendly space. His chief: Gilles LABBE inspired by Périgord and his Breton origins makes you discover according to the seasons a delicious gourmet cuisine. Four menus and a card(map) offer a choice of dishes developed with fresh products in an excellent value for money and a selection the best wines.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

A wonderful experience! The best restaurant that I have visited so far in Périgueux! The service was very attentive and the food exquisite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    81
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner at L'Epicurien”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

On a wet Monday evening this restaurant turned out to be a perfect choice. Friendly service and first class food. We chose from the a la carte menu and really enjoyed a relaxing and typically French meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Retman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungaree, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Like being invited in to the home of a generous Michelin Star Chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We turned up late for lunch with two children and were greeted like much respected family members. We were given a delicate amuse bouche of white fish and accompanying small glass of soup. A seafood cassoulet was entree and it was hot and delicious, the duck for main with very generous accompanying side dishes was sumptuous and delicious. Our daughter's 'bombe' of chocolate for dessert was luscious and indulgent. The wine, like other French restaurants, was very well matched, local and with no 'gouge' factor. The service was professional but friendly and very personalised. It was truly like being welcomed in to the home of a Michelin star chef and being fed with utmost generosity and care. The week day menu at about 13 euro looked like extremely good value also. Lots of technique but no 'tizziness' and excellent produce. Look forward to visiting this restaurant again soon and keeping an eye on the Michelin guide....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaTourBlanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I visited this restaurant whilst on a day trip to perigueux, the restaurant is down a thin alleyway, once you reach then end it opens out into a large terraced area.
We chose to each off the la carte menu but most people has the menu du jour which looked excellent to. I had a salmon tartar to start which could not be faulted followed by a duck and foie gras salad (as I was In the region) my partner has a beef fillet which he said was the best he had ever tasted!
Lovely restaurant, great food, atmosphere and service what more can I say?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eles_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Last night we experienced the best surprise of this trip. While walking the streets of Periguoux we stumbled along the restaurant and made a reservation for a large party of 11. The food was exceptionally good. Presentation was amazing, and the service was phenomenal. A must for all foodies.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TaliBE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Epicurien also viewed

 
Perigueux, Dordogne
Perigueux, Dordogne
 
Perigueux, Dordogne
 

Been to L'Epicurien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing