We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining in the street”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Epicurien

L'Epicurien
Ranked #7 of 206 Restaurants in Perigueux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$39
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A pedestrian street in the historic district of PÉRIGUEUX. A former(old) building with a thick studded wooden door. Three rooms and a privative patio with an intimist and authentic decoration(set) of old stones and exposed beams. Between friends, in family, for a business lunch or in a group, the Restaurant THE EPICUREAN welcomes you in a completely decorated again and uncluttered friendly space. His chief: Gilles LABBE inspired by Périgord and his Breton origins makes you discover according to the seasons a delicious gourmet cuisine. Four menus and a card(map) offer a choice of dishes developed with fresh products in an excellent value for money and a selection the best wines.
France
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dining in the street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant after checking with our hotel and exploring the old city. We had a table outside as it was hot weather but this still ensured excellent service. I had veal which was delicious and a chocolate dessert which consisted of various types of dark chocolate such as ganache and mousse. We drank local wine and had an enjoyable evening even though we didn't actually go into the restaurant itself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    81
    17
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Exquisite Deserves one Mich-y Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Down a quiet lane in easily forgotten Perigueux, delicious, fresh-from-the-market cuisine awaits in the small stone building housing L'Epicurien. The handsome and helpful server immediately brought us a delightful amuse buche of creamed white asparagus and herbed salmon bruschetta. I had a fresh plate of spring vegetables, featuring white asparagus again, along with artichokes, white radishes, spring peas and fava in an unctuous sauce. My dining partner had perfectly pan fried foie gras served on a bed of similar spring veg. My main dish of veal was delectably tender, in a sauce of epic flavor. My friend's turbot was served in the restaurant's iconic white pumpkin shaped cocotte with pan seared scallops and sauce. The delicious meal did not end there, however. The cheese platter had a perfect balance of dried fig, walnut, and mache to clear the palate after each cheese. The orange tart, however, was an amazing surprise. The crust was buttery but firm and flaky, whilst the orange flavors struck a perfect balance from tart and sweet in many iterations - from candied orange rind, orange ice cream, fresh clementine pieces, and of course the orange custard. As a final piece de resistance, the generous chef sent us a lovely coupe of mascerated puree of fresh strawberries, which was really a bit of ambrosia for the gods. This ressie deserves attention and perhaps a Michy-star.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellertseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Different, amazing, delicious, fantastic lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Beefstew and carrots in a different way as two superb starters.

Cod with viennoise nuts and braised pork belly and confit of beef

Vacherin rose litchi and Croustillant pistache chocolat,
Rosewater icecream with lychee and pistache iceccream with chocolate and pistachenuts

Our second visits in five mounths, they keep you amazed every time.
Very young and enthousiastic team, you have to visit them and enjoy yourself.
Do make a reservation to be sure.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Piet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Young team, new menu, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Lunch was great, coquilles with foi gras, langoustine cooked to perfection, main course tounedos rossine and the duo du turbot, as dessert we had, fondant au chocolat and tarte au pommes et rhubarbe. If you visit Perigueux you must eat here. Young team 25 years of age, very friendly and love to hear your comments. Enjoy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Piet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omer, Israel
Level Contributor
257 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Imaginative and friendly but very tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We had recently diner at L'Epicurean in Perigueux. Food was very imaginative but not very tasty. We had sturgeon (that we found very tasty in other places) - here it was nicely presented with tasty add-ons but the fish itself was not better than a overcooked piece of cod. The lamb we had was somewhat tastier but we had to add salt - and a lot of it, something equivalent to a major sin :-)

Service was very friendly, the local wine was very good and the reataurant itself is nicely set and not very expensive.
I hope they'll get better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank julo972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Epicurien also viewed

 
Perigueux, Dordogne
 
Perigueux, Dordogne
Perigueux, Dordogne
 

Been to L'Epicurien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing