We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chosen for Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grain de Sel

Le Grain de Sel
Ranked #13 of 206 Restaurants in Perigueux
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Chosen for Quality”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

It was tricky finding this super place. But it is on a side street in the older part of town and near the Cathedral. The meal was elegant as well as outstanding. Our first taste of what the French can do with a fish! Outstanding.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Newfolkways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    52
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure serving delicious food.”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This restaurant is a great experience. Friendly professional staff, well compiled menu & tasty food. Excellent value for money. The only downside in this restaurant is that it does not have any outside space.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Food, staff and ambience - 10 out of 10. We had fish, which was fresh and innocent of heavy sauces. Madame was lovely and so was the waiting staff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
389 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A must when in Perigueux”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This restaurant is certainly worth a visit. Situated in the centre of Pergiueux on a not that exciting back street the ambiance, service and food certainly make up for it. We chose from the €29 three course menu. Every dish was presented with care and attention and tasted wonderful! In addition (no extra charge) they provided two "amuse bouches" plus petits-fours at the end of the meal. You may however need to book. We were lucky but on a Tuesday night at the end of November the place was full to capacity. The wine list was varied and not too expensive. We would certinaly have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant and look forward to returning again soon.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you can't parley vous Francais it's a bit of a challenge but still awesome.”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I chose the restaurant based on trip advisor reviews, I wanted something up market and French that would be a memorable experience for our last night. A perfect choice.
The menu is in French, well we are in France, so I needed a translator.
I had a selection of Fois Gras and the pigeon, it was awesome. There is nothing "ordinary" on the menu, it's all fine dining and not a frite in sight. If that's your thing you will not be disappointed, service and food worthy of a Michelin star.
Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andylord1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Grain de Sel also viewed

 
Perigueux, Dordogne
Perigueux, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Grain de Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing